Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Osborne High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2007

I attended Osborne High School in 2002-2005. I just want to send a warning to all parents who are considering allwoing their children to attend this school. I had about 2 teachers at this school who really wanted to make a difference in a child's life. The rest just wanted a paycheck. I graduated with a 3.8 GPA because I worked hard. No thanks to the teachers or staff. I spent the entire class periods trying to teach myself while the teachers were dealing with problem children. As a new parent, I felt the need to warn other parents about this school, the staff, and the most especially the fellow students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2007

Let me say that my daughter graduated in May, 07 with a GPA over 4.0. She was in AP/Honors classes and received the Career Tech and College Prep diplomas because I was an involved parent. Osborne has a great number of caring and dedicated teachers and staff that 'go beyond' the call of 'duty' to help those students that are 'serious' about their education. It is not the school's job to raise our children. It is our job to be 'good parents'and 'role models' to our children. I do agree with the comments on this site that 'unfavorable' things have occurred in the neighborhood and the school has been held responsible. More parents need to be involved and the students need to take advantage of all of the great opportunities at this school. It does take a 'village' to get the youth to their 'destiny' today and everyone's help is needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2007

Let me just start by saying that Osborne is a great school. The only thing that is wrong at Osborne is the surrounding community and the lack of parent discipline and control of their children. The only reason that Osoborne has a bad athletics program is because of parents that take there children out of the school because of the false things that they hear about the school. Yes, there are gangs and drug but every school has drugs and gangs, you just here about Ohs' more than any other one's in the area.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 3, 2007

I love this school it's definately the best in the area by far. Anyone who is in this area I strongly reccomend you send your kids here. Take this advantage before theres no more room here. All the good kids go here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2006

My son just started this school year. I must say that so far I am very impressed. The teachers are very helpful, the staff was helpful, the principal even too the time on the day we were enrolling our son to sit down to talk to us about all that the school had to offer. We just got his progress report and he has 'A's' and 'B's'. Parents must get involved with their kids education, it really help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2005

My child will be withdrawn from this place at the end of the semester. There have been way too many fights at this school on a daily basis and the administration that I have encountered is rude and unfriendly to parents. Why would the parents want to get involved when they are not welcomed nor treated as parents concerned about their children? Much work needs to be done with Public Relations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2005

Although there are problems with discipline at Osborne, this is often rooted in the homes of the families and the lack of parental involvement in their child's life. That's where it all starts. There are some great teachers here who really do care about the students (sometimes more than parents) and who deliver an excellent education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 29, 2005

Thank you Osborne staff and teachers for all your hard work. My son have been at Osborne for 3 years now and he has never in trouble, Every year he has made the Honor Roll, he enjoys being in the Extracurricular activity he chose. Teachers are strict, which is good. There are tones of extracurricular activities for your child, staff is wonderful, they go the extra mile. They are doing their job. But you know what, I am also doing mine. The school is not there to teach our children how to live, that is the parents job. The school is there for academics. Many parents, sorry to say, want to throw their parenting responsibilities to the school. Those are the ones you always hear complaining. Stop the complaining and get involved. Go to the meetings, volunteer 1 or 2 hours a month. Your child needs to see you are interested.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

We love the school.We have found the teachers care about their students and are willing to help whenever possible. There is tutoring available if needed. I think the staff is most helpful when needed and very concerned about each student.The after school activities are great.They have an active FCA program which helps students identify with the positives of life. My daughter loves her school and is proud to be a student there.We give Osborne a very big thankyou,keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

Osborne is not a terrible school. It has the same problems as any other high school except its problems are reported in the news and via mouth. A lot of the problems at osborne stem from non-parental involvement! stop contributing to the problem and helping with the solution!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2005

We have had two sons attend Osborne. Definately a below average learning environment. However, the teachers are making progress with improvements in academics and facilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2005

Parental involvement is not welcome. Regardless of new buildings on campus, the safety of this building and the inability of the teachers to teach due to constantly having to deal with discipline makes this a horrible high school. Take advantage of No Child Left Behind or move out of this district if you want a quality education and athletic program for your child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2005

The Quality of this school is great! I think all the after school activities have improved. The construction of new buildings and of new class rooms is great. All the teachers have a great vision, and your kid will be very proud to attend this school! There are rumors that it's a bad school, but it really isn't. To all the parents who say the school is bad, it's only because they do not realize that is their kids behavior that does not let them improve. They should become more involved with their kids and try to understand them, young people are not the same nowdays. The school is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2005

Osborne should be avoided if you care about the education of your child. The organization is substandard and unorganized. The school does not have concrete direction. If your child must attend Osborne, my suggestion is to contact your all of your child s teacher, stay very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2005

This is not a good school at all. The principal seems to not have any passion and it just keeps going down hill from here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

This school does not prepare you for the real world or college at all. The only redeeming quality is a handful of teachers who truly care and great afterschool activities.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 19, 2004

My Daughter is in the 9th grade at this school. Her band and basketball keeps her after school everyday. I met the new Principal last spring, he seems to have a great vision for Osborne and to be strong leader. My child has been 'A' student all her life and most of her classes are challenging enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2004

This is not a very good school. There is no discipline and no parental involvement
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

329 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

308 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

327 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

327 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
66%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

463 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
62%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
56%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
71%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

304 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
43%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

460 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
53%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
36%
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
48%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
40%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 12%
Black 39% 37%
White 7% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Joshua Morreale
Fax number
  • (770) 437-5902

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2451 Favor Rd SW
Marietta, GA 30060
Phone: (770) 437-5900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT