Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 69 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


78 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wheeler High School 5

Posted April 05, 2014
- a parent
This school is on the rise to be the BEST all around school in Cobb County. The challenge of a diverse financial population has been the challenge that administrators and faculty have taken on squarely and they are winning. Raising the bar in every area has begun to pay off with a local perception that Wheeler is a great school, with terrific students. The brand new building has helped create the atmosphere for excellence. This is a place for well rounded, real life, opportunities and challenges. High school is what you make it where ever you are. Wheeler has given my children every academic opportunity as well as quality sports and student life programs.

Wheeler High School 4

Posted August 09, 2013
- a parent
I am so happy to read the latest evaluation of Wheeler. We have just relocated here from a large school on the West coast. We are very happy with the rich diverse population of Wheeler and the offerings that Wheeler has. However, my husband and I have been disappointed at the scheduling mechanism that the school utilizes. Our sons last school used a system that was similar to a university scheduling system. It did not eliminate issues, but it certainly made the ability to drop and change classes a much easier process. I have given Wheeler 4-5 stars, but this issue should be evaluated and other schools should be used as an outside resource/example.


Wheeler High School 3

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
Beautiful school, top teachers. However, unsure if it is a County or specific school issue, but the scheduling of classes and the delineation of the actual schedule is questionable. The leadership from top down is missing out on how they could take what has historically been a struggling school and make it GREAT by starting the year off with balanced schedules that provide appropriate academic challenges balanced with each students passion. I would encourage the Board of Education to make an inquiry. Wheelers opportunity to attract the best and the brightest back to a beautiful school that has depth in student diversity and talent is now. This is an opportunity for Sweeney. The BOE should look at how the uneven class distribution is impacting the students. They need to provide appropriate software than can accommodate for block scheduling or evaluate the potential lack of leadership in curriculum adherence.. Chiprany is an amazing leader, but he may be missing the boat on scheduling. Wheeler's time is now. However, first impressions are crucial if you want to be a top notch school in Cobb. It must be top priority to place Students in classes that provide an academic balance.

Wheeler High School 5

Posted June 27, 2013
- a parent
As my son entered his last year in middle school I told him he should consider the opportunities offered at the magnet schools in Cobb County. He said he wasn't interested and wanted to go to his zoned school with his friends. I told him that was fine because he probably wouldn't be accepted anyways. He showed me by getting accepted at Wheeler Magnet and has never taken his foot off the pedal since. He will be starting his junior year and his classes are the equivalent of what I took in my sophomore year of college (I have a BSME). The teachers are incredible and being surrounded by other high achieving, focused students does wonders for a young teen's attitude and effort. I never thought I'd hear my son regularly ask me if he could stay after school to work with his classmates on a project or for a study group. He also is a varsity athelete and the sports teams work with the magnet students because they know for them academics are their priority. He loves the school and is proud to be a magnet student there.

Wheeler High School 5

Posted June 24, 2013
- a parent
The Wheeler magnet program is first rate. The school is consistently ranked as one of the finest public schools in Georgia and is recognized nationally as well.


Wheeler High School 5

Posted June 23, 2013
- a parent
Moving to a different state when your son is 16 is difficult. Fortunately, my son attended Wheeler High School. I applaud the teachers for helping to make his transition easier.

Wheeler High School 4

Posted June 23, 2013
- a community member
Wheeler has a great magnet program. the new building will also help in generating pride in he schools

Wheeler High School 5

Posted June 22, 2013
- a community member
Consistently improving the quality of education provided for all students. Also, Wheeler High School values and celebrates the unique diversity within the student population.


Wheeler High School 5

Posted June 22, 2013
- a community member
One of the first three Schools in Georgia to receive STEM Certification. Excellent academics and sports programs.

Wheeler High School 5

Posted June 20, 2013
- a parent
Wheeler High School, brand new school, wonderful robotics and math program not to mention to notch Magnet program

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wheeler High School
375 Holt Rd NE, Marietta, GA  30068
(770) 578-3266
Last modified Wheeler High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wheeler High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 78 reviews. Top