Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rocky Mount Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2016
- a community member
The teachers take time and effort to educate our children. I like very much her school. Rocky Mount Elementary in Marietta, GA. Good education, strong learning program in fun environment.

Rocky Mount Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 12, 2016
- a community member
My granddaughter has 2 wonderful teachers, Ms. Long and Ms. Childress that worry about her education and future. I graceful for that. Thank you all the teachers that take time and effort to educate our future generation.

Rocky Mount Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
Teachers care about the students. Academics are strong and teachers make learning fun. The school also has a very active PTA, strong volunteerism and many extracurricular activities. I feel very welcome when I am on campus, and very appreciated for volunteering.

Rocky Mount Elementary School 5

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
We have 2 kids at Rocky Mount and have been there for 4 years now. We love the school. The teachers have been awesome and the quality of the academics is great. The school is big enough that there are multiple teachers for each grade, but small enough that you can get to know a lot of people. The school is very accessible for parents and volunteering in the classroom. We couldn't be happier with the school and our experience.

Rocky Mount Elementary School 3

Posted November 12, 2013
- a parent
My child has attended Rocky Mount from Kindergarten to Fifth grade and I still feel like a stranger when I walk in the door. The school has a cold atmosphere and most of the front office staff is extremely unfriendly. It is a safe school and for that I am grateful. Most of the teachers there are outstanding although we did struggle with one, which come to find out many others had the same problem. I would say the overall experience there was disappointing and if I had to do it all over again I would have moved to a different district. Academics are important but so are the cherished memories of elementary school and Rocky Mount definitely fell short of those! Why they are so miserable I cannot understand for they are in a fabulous area and have a lovely school.

Rocky Mount Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
This school pleasantly surprised me with the focus in instilling down-to-earth values and discipline in children.

Rocky Mount Elementary School 5

Posted February 12, 2013
- a parent
We are in the unique position of having children in different elementary schools. My hearing impaired child goes to Rocky Mount. If I were to make a choice between Rocky Mount and the other top rated school, I would choose Rocky Mount. The staff are fantastic, the social workers are pro-active and engaging (before there are any problems!). I am going Rocky Mount and that close community feel which I know we don't have at the other school.

Rocky Mount Elementary School 4

Posted September 17, 2012
- a parent
Gone are the days are "warm and fuzzy"! When the former principal left, unfortunately, that left too. It feels like my child is a student i.d. capable only of being drilled for standardized testing. When will the administration remember that in order to have successful children turn into successful adults, you have to remember social/emotional aspects of the child and not just academia? It doesn't feel like "public" school anymore. More like "government" school. Big difference.

Rocky Mount Elementary School 4

Posted September 16, 2012
- a parent
Rocky Mount is a wonderful school with fabulous teachers. I've felt very fortunate to send my children there. I'm very sad to say that my satisfaction has been shaken this school year by the institution of a new "silent lunch" policy. It goes completely against what I've always known the school to be: a place where children are encouraged to be responsible, respectful, well-mannered human beings. This year, instead of looking happy and social in the cafeteria, as they have in years past, the students appear scared and belittled. It has been stunning and quite horrifying. I never thought this would happen in our school. I hope for a quick end to this new policy, so that I can once again feel good about, and speak highly of Rocky Mount.

Rocky Mount Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2012
- a parent
I am shocked to read the criticism of Gail May. My experience as a parent has been very good with the entire administration, including Ms. May. One of my kids had a minor learning problem -- it was quickly addressed in a caring manner by no less than six administration members. My son is now making high grades and doing great. My daughter was hit once by a child. One call to Ms. May took care of that problem instantly. The bully has been moved to another class away from my daughter, and Ms. May was very kind in addressing my concerns. It is good to see zero tolerance for bullying at Rocky Mt. after what we've read about other schools in the news. It's good to see the attention given to the well behaved kids who are working hard, vs. the coddling given to the troublemakers at other schools. We love Rocky Mount!

Nearby schools

Rocky Mount Elementary School
2400 Rocky Mountain Rd Ne, Marietta, GA  30066
(770) 591-5050
Last modified Rocky Mount Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top