Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Due West Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

71 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, August 18, 2014

Great school--teachers, principal and all staff except one. My son was so excited to get into Target last year and now is miserable due to the teacher. I figured that they would pick excited, thoughtful and creative teachers for these positions, but she's negative and frankly just bitter. Could have made a better choice for sure. Otherwise, absolutely love Due West.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2013

We love Due West and have been there many, many years. The teachers are great and the activities fun for the kids and families. My only concern is that since the district now allows teachers' kids to attend any Cobb County school even if it isn't a feeder school where they work, our school is becoming increasingly overcrowded. Our principal needs to consider the kids actually districted for Due West and stop stuffing our school. Say no! There are over 75 Cobb County employee students in our school that can only hold so many. I am all for Due West teachers sending their kids to Due West...it only makes sense. All the others need to move into the district or choose the school or feeder school where they work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

Excellent School! Wonderful Teachers and Staff! Exceptional PTA Volunteers! My child loves DWE - Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

I love this school. The teachers are awesome. The kids support each other, and administration is truly concerned about each child's progress. I have one negative thing to say... Watch out for the PTA. They waste money on frivolous projects (see walking track) and took away the funding from the traditional field to get their project done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

While the community surrounding Due West is growing the teachers and staff at Due West keep that tight knit community feeling within its walls. The teachers care about every one of the students at Due West and this is evident by walking the halls with my child, teachers that don't have a direct "role" in my child's day know them and acknowledge them. As a Due West Alumni I have and will bend over backwards to keep my children in THIS district. My daughter came to Due West in 2nd grade after completing 1st in another county. The teacher there never informed me she was behind or lacking in reading. Not only did her teacher pick up on it immediately but the whole team went into action to work WITH my daughter and brought her to grade level. I feel like every effort was made by every staff member involved and delivered with love as if it were their own child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2013

This school was TERRIBLE!!!!!! We moved into the district for 4th and 5th grade. Her 5th grade class did two book reports and one "major" project. None of these items were ever graded and when the teacher was consulted she said "she didn't have time to grade them!" What kind of a pathetic excuse is that!!! The students are not required to keep up with their reading and are not actually assessed until the end of the school year. I would never recommend this school! If you want a good elementary school, go to Still Elementary!!! It is about five minutes from Due West...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2013

Due West Elementary is a AWESOME school!! They really take GREAT care of the kids!!! My son is a student there and he LOVES it!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2011

As a Black America parent I am not happy with the level of attention giving to my daughter success. My daughter enter Due West reading 2 levels ahead of her class only to be told after a full school year that she was not comprehending Her test scores that I received did not reflect a issue. The teacher did not give any indication that my daughter was having any issues until the end of the school year. To late to address.


Posted May 17, 2010

Teachers are genuinely concerned with the success of the students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2010

Because the teachers care deeply for the students and their sucess
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

The teachers at Due West Elementary are outstanding. I know they care about my child and are quick to respond to me when I have a question or concern. This school has many opportunities for parents to participate in the education process! My family is very secure with the education my children are getting at Due West!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

It is a small school where all the staff know the children by name and care about them and how they are doing. Such a a warm, welcoming and postive place to be as a child and as a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

We love DWE because of the teachers! They always expect the most from our children and give them the support they need!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

The teachers are professional and collegial, and the curriculum, from kindergarten to 5th grade is well thought out, organized, systematic, and continuous. As a parent and an educator in another school, I am profoundly impressed with what is taught and how it is taught at Due West. I know from experience that my children are receiving an excellent education and will be well prepared for future studies after moving to middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

I love Due West Elementary School for the genuine love for the students the staff has and the way they portray this by making every child feel they are special and loved. The education a child gets at Due West is hard to compare to any other school in the system. When 'alumni' continue to return with their children, that is a sure sign that DWE must be doing the right things.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 2, 2010

This our first year at Due West and we are really impressed and happy. The teachers are wonderful, loving, professional and caring. They are the tops!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

Due West is a great school because of the people that are employed there. I feel very confident that the leaders of Due West are empowering their staff to teach our children everything they need to know to succeed in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Due West is a small, warm community of actively involved parents that support their children AND their school. The children, parents, and teachers are an awesome bunch! As a teacher, I feel love and support from the parents and children every day. They know how much we love them, and want to see the children be their BEST!!! We LOVE our Due West Pioneers!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 26, 2010

We are so IN LOVE with this school!! Starting from the principal all the way down, these folks make my child feel so loved and, as a parent, that is all you can ask for!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Everyone at Due West works together as a family. It's a perfect size school with a lot of heart. We truly have the best teachers, support staff and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

97 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

98 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

97 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

97 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

97 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

97 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 44%
Black 8% 37%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3900 Due West Rd NW
Marietta, GA 30064
Phone: (678) 594-8071

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Still Elementary School
Powder Springs, GA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT