Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shallowford Falls Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 658 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 14, 2014

AMAZING SCHOOL! Principal, teachers and staff are very attentive. The quality of education is second to none. Children feel safe and are encouraged to participate in all activities. My daughter excelled in this environment. This school is as good, if not better than, any private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2014

This is a great school. The teachers always pay attention on every little things in class. The school located in a great community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2014

I love this school! The teachers and everyone in the office have been very helpful and friendly. My husband and I always feel like there care about our son. Our teachers the past two years have just amazed us at how well they keep us informed and involved. We are so happy we moved to East Cobb and Shallowford Falls!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2014

This is our first year at Shallowford Falls. My two sons are excelling in every aspect of their education. Both teachers are caring and empathetic and clearly love what they do. The school is beautiful and the faculty and staff have all been extremely pleasant and helpful in all my interactions with them. Teachers and staff members who I don't recall meeting all know who the boys are and the school has a close knit community feel. The activities are so abundant that we couldn't begin to attend even half of them and the parents involvement is something I have never witnessed prior to coming here. I can't say enough - wonderful experience thus far. I would highly recommend this school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

We do not teachers who spend all their time on blogs.We want them to pay attention to the children in the classroom and notice what is going on and be engaged with these wonderful children who are all individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2013

Shallowford is a great school. I am very please with the various after school activities, learning opportunities, professionalism among teachers and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

Excellent!!! I couldn't be happier with the education that my kids are receiving at Shallowford Falls Elementary!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2012

I was bummed when we started here in K. My son is very gifted which we have known about since he was 3. It was recommended to us by professionals to send him to the Walker School. We did not want to pay those prices and I had heard great things about Shallowford Falls so we decided to try it. I expected to find it lacking but we have had a great experience here. He has had great teachers that have given him the extra attention and work he needs. He is in the Target program which seems to be good so far. Parental involvement is very high. I love that it is a small school. I am impressed that other teachers who have not had my son in class know him by name and there are days when he tells me the principal had conversations with him at recess about what he was working on. The front desk staff is always friendly and parents are always welcome in this school. The only cons would be that Spanish is not part of the regular class time, only as an after school option, and that science is only every other week for the lower grades (but science teacher is paid for by the foundation.) Overall a wonderful school. The small size makes it truly a gem in the East Cobb School system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2012

Shallowford Falls does not impress me. The teachers seem tired and lack the smiles that should be pervasive in an elementary school. The focus on AR reading is too much, taking authenticity and intrinsic love of reading away from students. Where I think a school should be humming with kid sounds, this one is quiet. Newsletters are inconsistent from the teacher, school and PTA. I have no opportunities to volunteer in the classroom, only at big events such as the book fair. My son has learned, yes. But he is uninspired by this test-score focused learning. My daughter became a well behaved wall flower, timid and forgotten I have seen kid-centered, vibrant, healthy schools. This one has not impressed me on that level. Their test scores are great, but that is about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2011

I love Shallowford Falls Elementary School. It was a great fit for everyone and the teachers there are wonderful and very nice. One thing that I didn't like about it was that the only way to go to the nurse if you have thrown up or need medical attention right then. Kids who went and who have high tempatures but not running a fever would be sent back with no question at all. I love this school but I feel that they could improve on that.


Posted August 16, 2010

Shallowford Falls is a fantastic school. All-Around Excellence describes a school that goes above and beyond to ensure high achievement from it's students, in addition to offering ample before and afterschool opportunities for enrichment. There is something for everyone at Shallowford Falls. Parental involvement is encouraged whether you have 20 minutes a week or 20 hours a month to contribute. Not only do children succeed at this school, but their efforts are recognized and celebrated with awards, honors and verbal praise. The administration and support staff at this school is tops... we're proud to be part of this amazing school community after relocating from the midwest!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2008

One of the best public Elementary Schools in the Country
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

This school is the tops! From the front office to the great teaches, students, and parents. I was a skeptical parent, planning to head to private school at first sign of less than excellent, but I have only good things to say. I have 2 children currently at SF and I can't say enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2006

Shallowford Falls is a dynamic school of excellence that provides a high quality education in a nurturing environment. The awesome teachers at Shallowford Falls encourage critical thinking as they prepare our students to be life long learners. We have had three children at Shallowford Falls over the past eight years and could not ask for a better school! The parent involvement is wonderful, the administration is responsive and innovative, and the teaching staff is competent and caring. The arts are highlighted through music, art, and an incredible extracurricular drama program. Students are encouraged to be compassionate to one another as well as to care for natural resources. You will not find a better education, private or public, than that provided at Shallowford Falls Elementary School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

The quality of this school is of the highest level. Great target program, smaller class size and a large parental involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2005

This school is amazing. We transferred in from a private school this year and have been floored by the aggressive curriculum and quality teaching staff. I had heard that it was run like a private school and after one year I would agree. The only difference is the unbelievable level of parental and community involvement. It is the ideal community for a young student - safe, caring, and academically excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2003

Parents are extremely involved and this is the school that prepares students and teachs students how to succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

118 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

118 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

118 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

107 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

108 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

107 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

120 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Black 7% 37%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3529 Lassiter Rd
Marietta, GA 30062
Phone: (770) 642-5610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT