Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Nicholson Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 507 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 10, 2009

I love this school. My son is in his 3rd year at Nicholson and is in the 2nd grade. He has learned a lot, and they offer fabulous after school enrichment programs as well. I have been impressed with all of his teachers as well as the administrative staff; they are always willing to help or answer any questions I have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

We could have chosen any neighborhood and school when we moved here a couple years ago. Nicholson is a big part of why we love our community. It's not over crowded, my kids have some diversity in their peer group and it's not overly competitive to help out in and around the school. My kids are doing fantastic and can't wait to get to school in the mornings. We're hoping to be here through Sprayberry High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2007

Excellent PTA. Another wonderschool. I have 2 children here, it's been our school for about 3 years, and I only see good things at Nicholson- Darin Gacuzana
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

We love this school. We moved from out of state mid-year last year and left another top=performing school. Nicholson teachers and staff have consistently gone above and beyond to make the student's learning experience first-rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2005

Nicholson has been in our family for 11 years and it just gets better every year. The staff excels with each passing year; my children ranged from assisted learning to accelerated classes and they all recieved what was necessary for thier personal levels and moved on at a proper paces. Regardless of background; caring and understanding for each child shows, volunteers are numerous and the overall environment is pleasant and upbeat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2004

I have a soon-to-be third grader at Nicholson. The Target program (accelerated learning) is phenomenal as are the arts and music programs! The Nicholson leadership have managed to garner fantastic community and parent support for all school efforts and activities. The result is that students and parents feel personally invested in the school's successes. My family is extremely happy with Nicholson and our daughter is thriving! We look forward to enrolling our son in two years!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

75 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

76 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

75 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

88 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

88 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

88 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 44%
Hispanic 16% 12%
Black 13% 37%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Asian 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1599 Shallowford Rd
Marietta, GA 30066
Phone: (770) 928-5573

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT