Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Blackwell Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
Hands down, an amazing Principal in Missy Shackelford. The staff are so devoted to the students and always challenging the children but at the same time, fostering a love for learning. Love, love, love this school!

Blackwell Elementary School 5

Posted November 02, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and staff make this school far better than the ratings may appear. I have two children currently in Blackwell and would recommend it to anyone as one of the best around.

Blackwell Elementary School 5

Posted July 27, 2015
- a parent
Blackwell Elementary is a wonderful school very caring and excellent teachers. Each teacher we have had is concerned about my child's happiness, well-being as well as their progress/learning. The ASP Program is absolutely awesome with many activities for the children to choose from. The ASP staff is very attentive to my children's needs. The school does a fantastic job of teaching students acceptable behaviors from Day 1 of Kindergarten and I for one, am glad they have helped teach my children and reinforce how to become responsible school citizens.

Blackwell Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 27, 2015
- a parent
Blackwell Elementary is a wonderful school very caring and excellent teachers. Each teacher we have had is concerned about my child's happiness, well-being as well as their progress/learning. The ASP Program is absolutely awesome with many activities for the children to choose from. The ASP staff is very attentive to my children's needs. The school does a fantastic job of teaching students acceptable behaviors from Day 1 of Kindergarten and I for one, am glad they have helped teach my children and reinforce how to become responsible school citizens.

Blackwell Elementary School 1

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
Our experience with this school was so bad that we left and enrolled in a neighboring school the following year. Kindergarten teacher & ASP staff was horrible; deemed my child bad and a trouble maker from the very first day. From 1st- 5th grade year not a one negative experience at the other school. I believe they breed trouble so the principle never has to leave their office.

Blackwell Elementary School 2

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
I am very disappointed in this school. My son is in 1st grade and is diagnosed ADHD. The teacher has made no effort to adjust her style to meet his needs. In fact, she has damaged his view of teachers so much that he only thinks they are out to get him. Most recently, he was shouted down by her for something he didn't do. He was too scared to try and explain himself. It's a totally toxic environment, but we don't have any options outside homeschool or private.

Blackwell Elementary School 5

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
My child has been at Blackwell since kindergarten and has loved it. All the teachers address her by her name, not by the color of her shirt. If anyone says the school is anything else they must be crazy. The faculty and staff are always kind to new kids and the student are also kind. The counselors also encourage things like anti-bulling and good health. This school is wonderful and anyone who is thinking about sending their child there, I say you should!

Blackwell Elementary School 4

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
We have a 2nd grader who has been at Blackwell the last three years and we love it. We love the staff, everyone recognizes my child and my husband and I. Not sure I love ASP , I feel it is not well supervised but they have great ASP enrichment programs for a fee and some for nominal cost so I just try to keep her busy with those. Overall, we are very happy there. Not a bad word to say about the three teachers she has had. We have loved them all!

Blackwell Elementary School 2

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
This school was great Kindergarten (2008) through 1st Grade. It has been downhill ever since until this point (2013). I have withdrawn my child and started him at Georgia Cyber Academy. This school needs better teachers who actually LIKE their jobs and children.

Blackwell Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 11, 2009
- a parent
They really care about the students. It has a family atmosphere.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Blackwell Elementary School
3470 Canton Rd, Marietta, GA  30066
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (678) 494-7600
Last modified Blackwell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top