Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Blackwell Elementary School 1

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
Our experience with this school was so bad that we left and enrolled in a neighboring school the following year. Kindergarten teacher & ASP staff was horrible; deemed my child bad and a trouble maker from the very first day. From 1st- 5th grade year not a one negative experience at the other school. I believe they breed trouble so the principle never has to leave their office.

Blackwell Elementary School 2

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
I am very disappointed in this school. My son is in 1st grade and is diagnosed ADHD. The teacher has made no effort to adjust her style to meet his needs. In fact, she has damaged his view of teachers so much that he only thinks they are out to get him. Most recently, he was shouted down by her for something he didn't do. He was too scared to try and explain himself. It's a totally toxic environment, but we don't have any options outside homeschool or private.


Blackwell Elementary School 5

Posted April 15, 2014
- a parent
My child has been at Blackwell since kindergarten and has loved it. All the teachers address her by her name, not by the color of her shirt. If anyone says the school is anything else they must be crazy. The faculty and staff are always kind to new kids and the student are also kind. The counselors also encourage things like anti-bulling and good health. This school is wonderful and anyone who is thinking about sending their child there, I say you should!

Blackwell Elementary School 4

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
We have a 2nd grader who has been at Blackwell the last three years and we love it. We love the staff, everyone recognizes my child and my husband and I. Not sure I love ASP , I feel it is not well supervised but they have great ASP enrichment programs for a fee and some for nominal cost so I just try to keep her busy with those. Overall, we are very happy there. Not a bad word to say about the three teachers she has had. We have loved them all!

Blackwell Elementary School 2

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
This school was great Kindergarten (2008) through 1st Grade. It has been downhill ever since until this point (2013). I have withdrawn my child and started him at Georgia Cyber Academy. This school needs better teachers who actually LIKE their jobs and children.


Blackwell Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 11, 2009
- a parent
They really care about the students. It has a family atmosphere.

Blackwell Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2009
- a parent
We have been very pleased by the responsiveness of the school to our children's needs. They matched the teachers' skills to our children's learning styles perfectly this year.

Blackwell Elementary School 4

Posted June 23, 2009
- a parent
Blackwell has been an excellent school for my special needs child.. He was very disruptive at first and they were very supportive.. They gave him Psychological exam and found his learning disorder and ADHD. Since then he has not had office visits we found proper medication.. Thank you Blackwell.


Blackwell Elementary School 5

Posted May 09, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Blackwell Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2009
- a parent
My daughter attended Blackwell K-2. I was comparing it to the old school my daughter went to. Principal Dr. Kozol had a meeting with me and my husband. We told her our concerns, what we were expecting and she was really understanding and made sure that my daughter was with the teacher with our expectation. When it was time for her to start second grade Dr.Kozol again made sure our daughter was put with another amazing teacher 'Mrs. Rosenberg' Each teacher is amazing in their own ways, but each teacher has their own teaching technique. You just have to see if the teacher your child is put with matches your child's needs. This school has made sure my daughter is getting the challenge she needs!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Blackwell Elementary School
3470 Canton Rd, Marietta, GA  30066
(678) 494-7600
Last modified Blackwell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Blackwell Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top