Advertisement
Advertisement

West Cobb Christian Academy

Private | PK-6 | 70 students

Our school is best known for our small class sizes, low tuition and close family

 

Living in Marietta

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $183,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 13, 2013

I love this school. My kids love this school. When parents have to send their kids elsewhere, WCCA gets letters and phone calls telling them how much their kids miss attending here. Some parents don't like multiage classrooms, but I haven't gotten that impression from any of the parents of the other kids here. My kids are given personal attention by the instructors and I see consistency and careful planning at work. The staff and the president of their board told me that they are looking for property to erect a permanent facility, but...my kids were attending public school in a mobile building with 25! kids to a class. Here, they cap the class at 16 per classroom. If they move, we will go with them, but, seriously, who cares. I want great instruction at a really reasonable rate and that's what we get here. I can't recommend WCCA enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

This is our second year at WCCA. We were so unhappy at our public school. We didn't think we could afford private school. Then,we found WCCA. It has been a blessing to our family. Our child struggles all during their 3rd grade year.Once here, he thrived. The teachers stayed in constant communication with us and together, he is doing great. They have lots of programs for everyone. Lots of field trips and in school experiences. Our child will not go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

This is an aweful school, I would not recommend it to anyone. They will come back and counter but I was a parent here and I know how they run the school. Facilities are aweful no bathrooms, the kiids have to walk by themselves from their trailer classes accross the small internal road to the church, 2 by 2 no adult. The lunch room was a former gun store and smells aweful. the teachers are very kind but the multiage thing needs them to have more structure and organization than they have =it is not working. They run this like a homeschoo with private school tuition. Its an opportunity for them to spend time with their kids and still get paid. I would not recommend it at all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

I love this school for my family. It is small and there are no bells and whistles. Just good teaching, strong Christian values and loving, involved staff. It feels like an extension of my family. Test scores are great. More importantly, my children can't wait to get up and go to school everyday. Wouldn't go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

Excellent school! Great teachers, great price and such a loving christian environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

My kids have been at this school since 2004. It is a wonder school with caring teacher and an outstanding director. You cannot go wrong sending you child here either for their MMO program, Pre-school are grade school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 44%
Black 21% 40%
Hispanic 21% 10%
Two or more races 7% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dodi Thomas
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Church of christ
Fax number
  • (770) 427-3626

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Multi-aged
  • STEM
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
More from this school
  • We have a strong family based school with rigorous standards, great teachers, low tuition, individualized attention and small class sizes.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
15
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
15

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$3000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
No.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2732 Macland Rd SW
Marietta, GA 30064
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 359-8754

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


HoneyFern School
Marietta, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT