Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Stevens Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

86 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 6, 2010

I think that it's an exemplary school in every way all the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

Great teachers, great academics, great environment, great all round!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

My 3 grandchildren attend Stevens Creek and they love their school. Their parents are very impressed with the quality of the teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

Great teachers, private education at a public school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

The teachers and staff at Stevens Creek Elementary truly love their students. STCE is more than a building/school it is a home away from home, a family. When students walk in the door they are welcomed by name. Teachers treat their students as their own children. They provide structure with a safe and loving classroom and school environment. The students are encouraged to be individuals, set their goals high and are challenged to always do their best. Parents are always welcome as classroom and lunchroom helpers, invited to join their child for breakfast or lunch and there are multiple opportunities to volunteer. Stevens Creek Elementary is a wonderful place to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

I love the teachers! They are so dedicated to their students! I love the Spanish program too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

We love Stevens Creek Elementary. The staff is fabulous-the teachers, paraprofessionals and the administration. They truly care about my son and his education experience. And, you couldn't find a school where the community is more involved and supportive. We have so many friends who send their children to private schools because they are concerned that public school will not provide an adequate education. We don't worry about that at all. In fact, our school has the same resources of some of the most expensive private schools in town. We couldn't ask for a better elementary school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

Stevens Creek is such a warm family oriented school. Everyone has a positive outlook. Academically, it outstanding. The teachers encourage the students to reach beyond their potential. The spanish program is wonderful. The children are above and beyond prepared for middle.school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

I am a member of the staff as well as a parent of a child who went through Stevens Creek. We are fortunate to have a wonderful group of people who work together to facilitate learning for students, in a safe and productive environment. There is no such thing as an 8 hr. work day here. We do all that it takes, as long as it takes, to meet the needs of our students. We are blessed to have supportive parents who enable us to work as a team to be the wonderful school that we are!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 6, 2010

My son's teacher is wonderful, great communication with email, notes home, etc and keeps me informed. My son gets to do projects that he loves, there is a good balance between school/home work, and his grades are flourishing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

My two kids go there and the teachers are absolutely wonderful. Things are always well organized and coordinated. My kids have learned tremendously. They are definitely the best in my book.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

The parent communication is phenomenal. I always know what is going on in this school. It is clean, beautiful, and parents always feel welcomed and valued when they come to eat with their students or volunteer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

New to the area, we are so happy we selected Stevens Creek Elementary. The teaching team has done a terrific job in preparing my child for the next grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

Stevens Creek is an excellent school. The teachers are amazing and you can tell they really love working with their students to achieve success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

Wonderful school. Awesome teachers! Great programs and parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

Teachers and support staff loved and respected by all the students Parents appreciate their dedication to education ofthe children..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

I love this school because of it's great teachers, academics and tremendous focus they give to the children - Thank you STCE...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

The parents, students, faculty, and staff make our school the BEST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

I love Stevens Creek because I have worked her for 16 years and the staff is great the parents are envolvend and woderful but most of all is because I love the students here, they are the once I get up and come to work everymorning with a smile on my face praing each day that I might make a differance in one of their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

I love my school because it has a warm and welcoming environment! Everyone, including administrators, teachers, parents, and students, give their best everyday and make learning fun and exciting!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

136 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

139 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

136 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

144 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

147 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

144 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

165 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 3%
Black 9% 37%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Hispanic 3% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Michelle Paschal
Fax number
  • (706) 868-2188

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cycling
  • Football
  • Kickball
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cycling
  • Kickball
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3780 Evans To Locks Rd
Martinez, GA 30907
Phone: (706) 868-3705

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Academics Plus
Evans, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT