Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

ABC Montessori

Private | PK-12 | 102 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in McDonough

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $111,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 2, 2007

I like this school a lot. It is Very Fun and they help me to see things better. It is better then Public school. And I am a student. I am currently in my 2nd year of school. Now that we have moved into a new class room everything has improved even more then last year. This school has made a big difference to me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2007

We have brought our children from 11 years of public school to ABC this year. The difference was staggering. In less than 2 months our daughter went from having little self confidence and little focus to having friends and teachers alike let her know what a great person she is. Her ability to set goals and be motivated has been like night and day. Our son wanted to be told what to do but now he decides for himself and has even said that he loves school and his teacher. The staff is very aware of all that goes on. They work so hard to accommodate each individual s needs (even the parent s).We have watched our children go from the goose stepping mentality of public school to being creative and confident. I don t know why anybody would speak ill but I would take it with a grain of salt.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

My child has attended ABC Montessori the past three years. Her passion for learning is delightful. She wants to attend school daily. The teachers are trained in the Montessori concept and understand the beliefs and values of Marie Montessori. The teachers and school staff are always accessible and willing to meet. The diversity of students along with bringing in cultural studies provides each child with a sense of compassion and understanding of others. This is not a school for parents who expect high stakes testing, competition, hours of homework, and desks in neat rows with a teacher in the front lecturing. It is a true Montessori school where children are learning in a community and from each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

The school needs work as well as the director.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

I took my children out and put them in Christian school. The director of this school was never there and the school was very unorganized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

It seems the director is big on the art part of the school verses education. Art is not education. Education should come first. My child is currently a student and this concerns me. Also the website needs to be updated. It also seems the director and some of the staff at the school have other interest and they are not focused on the children. Once these issues are corrected then the school will thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

I have 3 children enrolled in the ABC Montessori program and they all love school and enjoy the nurturing learning environment that this Montessori school provides. I have one child in the toddler program, one in the 3-6 year program and one in the lower elementary program and I have been very impressed with the teachers and quality of learning geared toward the child's individual needs. The principal is excellent with a passion and focus for keeping to a very strict Montessori philosophy in the classroom. We also love the diversity of the students and the focus on a world view that this school promotes. Each month a different culture/country is studied and families participate in a 'culture day' celebrating the differences learned that month and creating a sense of family/community within the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2007

ABC Montessori is a growing school with wonderful, students, parents, teachers, and directors. The environment is loving and caring. The teachers always speak to the students with respect and require them to be responsible for their actions. Music and Dance Programs are growing. Children are challenged to create plays, compose music, learn spelling, and to ask why. Parents are considered the essential element to their child's success. Teachers have regular conferences with parents where they discuss not only the academic process of the child, but also that child's social, emotional, and physical progress. Next year the school will have a brand new building to fully organize and give the students the freedom to learn and grow in all areas. Go to a public school and your child might know the answers for the test, go to ABC Montessori, see your child soar in all areas of life!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 25, 2007

My child has been at ABC for 4 years now and we as a family have had an excellent experience. My daughter has been ablr to grow and progress based on what she is capable of and not limited. The diversity of the school and a focus on world culture are invaluable to us. This is a young school and not without it's growing pains - but the journey and the quality of the education are remarkable. We have gotten nothing but support from the teachers, staff, PTO and PAC. We feel as if we are part of a large, diverse and committed extended family and wouldn't trade it for anything. Our goal as a family is to do what is necessary so that our daughter (and now our son)can graduate from ABC!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2006

My child has been attending this school for 2 years. I am amazed at the tremendous growth of my child both academically and socially. The teachers and director are committed to the education of the whole child and not to teaching to a standardized test. It is through the hands-on activities and play at the child's own pace that the child begins to develop the foundation on which other skills are mastered. There is an active PTO that creates a real sense of family and activities are available for enrichment in the arts. A Montessori education is not for every child. It is not your traditional school with the teacher as the focus. The children truly guide their own education through their own interests and passions with the teacher as a guide through the process of self-discovery.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2006

My children attended this school for two years and we were very disappointed. Although at the time the school was still very new and under unexperienced leadership. It is hard to track progress with Montessori unless the teachers diligently keep daily records of your child's accomplishments. This is a definitely hands on school lacking any curriculum but based on a philosophy. The children do have lots of time for art and music and hands on play. The owner/director is a visionary but lacks the organization and education to follow through.The school relies on parents greatly to accomplish its goals. Change over for teachers and students is great. There is potential but lots of problems. Until this school comes under new management I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 44%
Black 39% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Henry County Schools
Clayton County Schools
Butts County Schools
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Kimberly Morey
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
  • Year-round
Associations
  • IMC
Fax number
  • (770) 957-5764

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Montessori
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Our parents are significantly involved and are encouraged to participate and support their children in any and as many ways as they possibly can. some provide classroom materials support or guest lectures, others provide office and administration support and even more work on fundraisers, playground development and special events.
More from this school
  • The most important thing about ABC Montessori is that we are a community of families with the best interest of the children at it's heart. For the kids it is like being a part of a very large extended family. We look forward to meeting you and welcoming you with open arms.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

483 Walker Drive
McDonough, GA 30253
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 957-9998

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Luella Elementary School
Locust Grove, GA


Luella Middle School
Locust Grove, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT