Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

ABC Montessori

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in McDonough

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $111,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2010

My daughter has attended the school for a year and I cannot say enough how great it is! The teachers are so caring and loving, the director is absolutely wonderful! The level of education is incredible! Public school cannot even compare to the level and quality of education your child gets at this school. I love ABC Montessori!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

Excellent program. Quality with a personal touch.This is not the rigid classroom that you might find in state schools. By the time my son was five he was competent in adding long digits, writing stories in cursive an can tell me all about the parts of every plant and animal I think ever existed. The whole child is at heart, it is not about test scores. You have to learn about Montessori and then watch the process unfold.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2010

My child joined the ABC Montessori Family in the middle of his first grade. ABC welcomed us with open arms. I am very greatful for ABC Montessori. They have helped my child excel in every area of academics. Not only has the school helped my son but they are always ready to assist me with any issues I experience. I recommend ABC Montessori to any parent. I am very proud to ABC Montessori our second home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

I went to observe in the classrooms for both of my children, and WOW! It is amazing what the children are accomplishing, and more importantly, how they are learning. The atmosphere is very calming and the children work with a sense of purpose. The children teach each other, and the teachers and assistants know the cognitive level of the children. Not only were the children developing academic skills, they were working together and caring for each other. I am grateful that my children are not sitting in desks all day, completing worksheets that ask very little of them, and becoming factory drones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

I love the school my daughter is definitely benefiting from the Montessori method of teaching!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2009

What a wonderful school. My daughter is excited about attending school, she enjoys learning and engaging in activities at her own pace. The classrooms are delightful, with student work around the rooms and an openness which I find inviting. It is nice to pull up to a school and not be greeted by signs stating Passing the CRCT equals AYP . The tuition is comparable to other private schools in the area; however the family atmosphere at ABC cannot be matched by other schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

My son has attended this school for 2 years now and I can tell you he has grown so much academically. The nurturing environment and teachers who are truly dedicated to the development of the whole child are the reasons that my son will continue at ABC Montessori. Every child should have the opportunity to have an education like this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

My daughter is blossoming here. She is excited about learning and has become inquisitive and enjoys sharing what she is learning. I love how her attitude about school has changed. She is a 3rd grader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2009

My daughter has been attending ABC for 3 years (since 2 1/2), and we absolutely love it! She has grown in self confidence so much. She is reading well to be only 5 yrs old. It's a top notch school with a top notch facility! Where else could you go at this price of tuition and get this one on one attention? I strongly recommend ABC. Regarding the Director, she is actually there every day teaching in the Upper Elementary classes now so she is right there in case anyone needs her. She is very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2008

I have 2 children who attend this school. The teachers are wonderful. The Director/Owner are never there and there is no organization. The parent's and the teacher's do most of the work. I think the school needs more experienced owners but on the other hand my children are happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2008

In just two weeks I saw a difference. He was now able to focus and really learn. The new facility is beautiful and they have equipment from all over the world for the children to work with. This is an amazing place for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2008

My two children are entering their second full year at ABC Montessori (Toddler and Early Elementary Programs). The teachers are truly dedicated to the growth and development of the individual child. The school has a true partnership with the parents. Unlike my experience with public school, the teachers often provide unsolicited feedback on my childrens progress with details about their development. Initially I was skeptical about Montessori, but you just have to come and see how well it works for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

I believe this school needs more organization. The teachers and the parents are wonderful. The owners and the director needs to be there more often, to oversee what goes on. The parents and teachers do most of the work there.


Posted March 14, 2008

I took my child out of this school because of the school's financial troubles as well as the lack of management and teacher experience. Enroll your child in this school at your own risk.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

Upper grades have major behavior and teaching problems. School is so finacially in trouble, that they accept students who have been expelled from other schools and that have major behavior issues and then do little to address these issues in the class. Teachers appear unhappy with management and have little experience teaching. Student and teacher turnover is high. This school is based on a great philosophy however the implementation of this is very poor. Several of the teachers in the lower grades have children who could be in the upper elementary and middle school program at greatly reduced or free tuition choose to send their kids to public school. The sales pitch is great and it looks great but the daily practice and professionalism is not there. Most of the really good reviews are written by employees. If you send your kids here do so at your own risk.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

I have two children at ABC Montessori and could not be happier with the school and the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2007

I feel this school is appropriate for K-4 and younger. Once a child gets into 1st grade and up they need more than just the montessori way of teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

I have three kids at this school. This is their second year at ABC. My oldest is seven. She started in Montessori at age 3 at an international Montessori school in Europe. We were concerned about moving to the area and not finding a well-rounded Montessori school with leadership passionate about Montessori as well as exposing chidren to other cultures/worldviews. We are happy with ABC in both regards. Their leadership has fought very hard to educate parents about the Montessori method and elevate the school to what it is today. Sure there have been kinks and will be in the future, but the leadership is deeply committed to improving the school as it moves forward.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2007

There is plenty of love in this school but the montessori vision is lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2007

I withdrew my child from this school. I felt that the public school system was far more educated and qualified to teach my child once he entered elementary school age.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 44%
Black 39% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Henry County Schools
Clayton County Schools
Butts County Schools
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Kimberly Morey
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
  • Year-round
Associations
  • IMC
Fax number
  • (770) 957-5764

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Montessori
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Our parents are significantly involved and are encouraged to participate and support their children in any and as many ways as they possibly can. some provide classroom materials support or guest lectures, others provide office and administration support and even more work on fundraisers, playground development and special events.
More from this school
  • The most important thing about ABC Montessori is that we are a community of families with the best interest of the children at it's heart. For the kids it is like being a part of a very large extended family. We look forward to meeting you and welcoming you with open arms.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

483 Walker Drive
McDonough, GA 30253
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 957-9998

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Luella Elementary School
Locust Grove, GA


Luella Middle School
Locust Grove, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT