Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Walnut Creek Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted October 30, 2015
- a parent
I am so happy that one of the parents came to me and warned me about this school and their administration. Had she not, I would be more frustrated than I am now. There were several parents that I asked about the school and they all said the same thing. My child would be lost in the system and that is exactly what I refuse to let happen.

Walnut Creek Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted October 30, 2015
- a parent
These are younger generation teachers that are fresh out of school and have no clue how to handle children. They are more like big sisters as opposed to teachers. They need more quality training.


Walnut Creek Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted October 30, 2015
- a parent
The homework that the school sends home is often irrelevant to what the children have learned in class.

Walnut Creek Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 30, 2015
- a parent
Definitely! They are very determined and very persistent to ensure that your child is labeled. Do not let them do this.

Walnut Creek Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 30, 2015
- a parent
The school only develops respect in its students if you demand it, otherwise they are there for a paycheck.


Walnut Creek Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 30, 2015
- a parent
If your child is not a robot and perfect, they will be labeled as troublesome and they will find ways to suspend them instead of consulting with the parent first.

Walnut Creek Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 30, 2015
- a parent
Some of the office staff will like to make the principal look good so that they can maintain Title 1 status.

Walnut Creek Elementary School 1

Posted October 30, 2015
- a parent
Stay involved in every activity for your child. If a problem arises, address it immediately because if you do not, the school teachers and the principal will try to label your child and tarnish their records. As a working parent, this can be difficult but if you do not, you will regret it. Be careful of the principal as well. Not to be trusted.


Walnut Creek Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
Walnut Creek is an "ok" school! They do have some great teachers and they also have some ineffective teachers but the good does outweigh the bad at times. I do know first hand that the children are labeled, whether they're teachers pets or "disruptive." The children that have been in trouble do not stand a chance on getting a clean slate! The principal only acknowledge you when she feel like it. Again, there a some good points but overall it's just an "ok" school. If I could, I would definitely go somewhere else. Walnut Creek is not a "high caliber" school (AYP testing scores, etc) so they shouldn't treat people the way they do. And to the previous reviewer, you're absolutely right about not judging or blaming the entire school for others and with that being said....you can't say that the entire school is good because of your experience! You obviously haven't had a bad experience but that's your story, not others.

Walnut Creek Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2014
- a parent
I been with this school 3 years I am greatly appreciative of the staff here at W.C.E.S. they treat people with respect and they give u any help u need with your child I am very involved in the school i recommend this school to everyone. i love the way they communicate with the parents when your child did something he or she was not supposed to do. i get to walk my kids to there class and even have breakfast or lunch with them. u can sit in the class for a minimum time only as long as u get an approval this is county policy not the staff. people always judge too quick with out really knowing. REMEMBER IF YOU ARE UNHAPPY WITH YOUR SELF OR WITH A SITUATION U HAD WITH A STAFF MEMBER THAT DONT MEAN EVERYONE OR THE ENTIRE SCHOOL IS BAD OR CLICKISH. I LOVE THE EDUCATION MY KIDS HAVE RECEIVED HERE AND WILL KEEP RECEIVING TILL THEY GO TO MIDDLE SCHOOL. THIS SCHOOL REALLY CARES OF OUR CHILDRENS AND PROTECT THEM ALOT. I GIVE W.C.E.S. A BIG 100+ IN EVERYTHING THEY THE BEST SCHOOL AND THERE PTO IS THE BEST TOO. GOD BLESS W.C.E.S.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Walnut Creek Elementary School
3535 Mcdonough Parkway, Mcdonough, GA  30253
(770) 288-8561
Last modified Walnut Creek Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Walnut Creek Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top