Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Midland Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2014

Midland Middle is one of the best middle schools anyone could ever go to! The entire staff is great! Things have been changing a lot around thee lately though! If you are registrating for this school, I recommend your student have Miss Wilson, Mrs Miller, Coach Register, Mr. Register, Miss Tanner, Mr Letson, or Miss Estes! All of those teachers are amazing and the best teachers you will come close to. They all have a fun learning classroom that engages everyone...


Posted October 15, 2012

Horrible experiance for my children they were bullied the whole time they were there by other students tried to involve the staff of the school in the situation it didnt seem to matter to them seems like everything else in Columbus GA all they are there for is a pay check your childs well being is not important to them horrible school one of the worst in muscogee county
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2011

This has been our 2nd year at Midland Middle School, my son has enjoyed his 2 years of middle school. The teachers are very hard working and open to me as a parent. When I had concerns about my son, they were all open to talking and helping out. The only negative that I see is that some of the "extra" classes are only given for 1 nine weeks per year. I wish my son could have Art for the entire year, because he loves to draw.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2011

After 6th grade at Midland Middle big discrepency between class scores and ITBS scores. Go figure
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2010

I have two boys in this school. My oldest struggled his first year, mostly due to miscommunication with counseling; however, after "fixing" that problem, I have been so impressed with their attentiveness and dedication to my children. I would not want my children in any other school in this county and I have lived here all my life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

This school has been a big disappointment. It is probably fine for most kids, but I need accelerated learning opportunities which have not been available. Its outstanding news program dramatically deteriorated while we were here, so that it is at best sadly prepared. The teaches are okay but the way they teach is often slow and monotonous.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 28, 2007

Midland Middle School is by far the best middle school in the city. I have been so pleased with my son's performance since he has been at Midland. He will start high school in the fall and I have no doubt that he will be totally prepared for whatever awaits him because of his Midland experience. Great, caring teachers await your children here at this school. Most all of them go way over and above what a teacher would be expected to do. Midland is a great choice for students of any ability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2007

I think that Midland is a great school. My three children have gone there and have improved there grades a lot it is so wonderful. I think al the teachers there are great. Mr. Wilson is a nice man who is very down to earth. Dr. Jordan and Coach Greene are very strict but in a good way. All the counselors, nurses, and coaches, and all teachers including exploratory teacher's are nice. If you ever decide to move to Columbus and your child is in middle school I think you should send them to midland. It's a great environment with nutritional food. I would recommend all my friends and family members to go to Midland. Midland should be named 'School of the Year!' I give Midland as a 5 star school. The lunch ladies are even very friendly. You should transfer your child to Midland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2007

midland middle school is one of the best schools in this area. The teachers are the greatest and the staff are always there to help. The quality of the academic programs are number one in this area. Thanks to the staff and the guidance department my child has had a great educational experience since he has been at Midland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2005

MMS is a wonderful school with caring teachers who make learning fun. The students treat each other with respect. My son is in 8th grade this year and attended a private school from K-5 and we have found MMS to offer more and to be hands down a much better environment than the private school. MMS has their own TV station and have their annoncements televised each morning during a JAGTalk show. Their technology lab is one of the best in the nation, if not the best. Kudos to MMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

233 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

233 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

218 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

218 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

246 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 45% 37%
White 40% 44%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Richard Green
Fax number
  • (706) 569-3678

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6990 Warm Springs Rd
Midland, GA 31820
Phone: (706) 569-3673

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Fort Middle School
Columbus, GA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT