Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Liberty Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 1, 2014

My son is in the third grade. I think the teachers are doing a great job since he has been there from Kindergarten. I expect a lot from my son and a the teachers that teach him. Communication is the key from the start. Teachers are there to teach, but so are the parents. It is a team effort. If there are subjects that are difficult, the teachers are there to support my son (and classmates) in understanding the work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2013

My family has had nothing but positive experiences while interacting with the administration and staff. The school is always well kept and the relationship with the community is ecouraging and innotative. As with most efforts to make things better, there will be critics. There are many positive things to say about the school. It is a great ( and safe) place for learning.


Posted July 9, 2013

Liberty Elementary School has been a positive experience for my child. The Gifted Program is creative and child centered with hands-on projects and a caring teacher. I will miss it next year as we move to Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2013

It sounds like you have had some unfortunate experiences at this school, but my suggestion to you is to go to the BOE & get approval to transfer your children to another elementary school. If you continue to have the same problems-then First Presb. needs students every year. If you hate the school that much-the people in it-then go to another, especially since your children are special needs-that's an automatic pass to the front of the line! Quit complaining about the school on this Mickey Mouse website that no one looks at except you & I-and move on with your life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2013

This is the worst school we have dealt with as a military Family. From the date of registering our children for LES this school has screwed up time and time again at the cost of our children's education. Our kids used to love school and now we have to drag them from bed everyday crying, they hate it so much. Even after a year they still hate it. We didn't get a registration packet and were told the wrong open house date. When we went to the school on the day we were told the V Principal very rudely kicked us out of the building without even apologizing or accepting blame for her staff. We have 2 special needs kids and it took weeks of calling the school everyday with no response only to have to complain to the County that we still hadn't confirmed that their teachers were aware of their disabilities. It was almost 2 months into the school year before they called us in for a 504 meeting then rudely disregarded all of our concerns. Teachers did not follow 504 plan despite complaints. Communication from staff is terrible and last minute!! Administration is HORRIBLE, both Principal an Vice Principal are SNOBS and are RUDE! They talk down to everyone, especially the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

Beware Parents! The only good reviews are submitted by teachers and staff; the ones that work for the Principal and Vice Principal. One out of hundreds of examples: The school has "uniforms" and you have to "donate" money for dress downs. Which means you pay for a dress down. Way to highlight social inequality! And: Parents are not welcome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2012

Good facility & teachers. TERRIBLE Administration. We know that GA public schools have a reputation for being sub-standard & based on that, we hesitant to send our son to LES for kindergarten. After looking into various private schools, we decided that the cost ($6000+/yr) was prohibitive & reluctantly decided to try LES. The school itself is relatively new & clean. My son's classroom teacher & most of the special activities teachers (music, AP, etc.) have been great. HOWEVER, the administration (Principal & Vice Principal) are rude & condescending. Both seem to have some kind of deep insecurity that causes them to act out in the form of ridiculous attempts at power-plays towards students, parents & staff. In any other business, their conduct would be reprimanded but, as they work primarily with children, it's disturbing. We are working very hard to minimize the amount of time my child(ren) will be attending school there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2012

Horrible administration. They like to talk down to the parents and try to make them feel as if they don't know what they are talking about. Especially the assistant principal seems to think that she is better than everybody else. She is rude and disrespectful. Since I speak up when there is a problem now my child has to pay for it by being mistreated. Plenty of teachers have their own kids there and they can do whatever they want and never get in trouble. While the other children are made out to look like bullies. They claim they want parents involved, yet when you email the teacher more than once in a day (because you forgot to write something in the first email) they tell you that you are starting to harass the teacher. Most of the teachers are good. Of course there are always some that aren't. I can't wait for us to move and my kids will finally go to a school that cares.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2012

I think that the teachers and the principal Mr. Anderson are wonderful individuals, but it is sad to see the way that the Assistant Principal treats parents and students. She is extremely rude, defensive, and ignorant to say the least. She thinks that she is above the parents at this school. Both my husband and I are educated individuals and do not expect getting disregarded in the manner that she treats parents. She does not listen to what parents are trying to explain to her, she receives second hand information from her staff and does not listen to the parents. Mr Anderson, if you read these reviews, please find another assistant principal before your school fails and you have to be embassed to be the principal there. She is your employee it is time you take a stand and teach her how to respect others before the parents decide to take her attitude to the school board and then you are really embarassed. Please take note that many families feel the same way about her as my comments here today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

I would have to say my children have been in this school for 5 years and this is the first year I Can say I am proud of the school my special needs son FINALLYgot a teacher that expects him to learn and progress and my daughter has a fifth grade teacher who got her reading on grade level in three months when the year started she was on a third grade level! Way to LES its finally becoming a school to be apart of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

My son went to this school in 2007. It was the worst school I have ever seen, and I've seen alot being in the military. The children did not have any kind of recess, they were not allowed to speak even during lunch. My son never got into trouble at school, as he's a shy,quiet boy, but everyday he came home he told me he had to put his head down on his desk for long periods of time as a punishment because some of the kids in class misbehaved. My son never gave me a hard time about going to school until he started at this school. I went to the school and tried to talk to the principal, but she was never available. We moved to get out of the district. Do not send your kids to this awful school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

This school's ONLY concern is the CRCT. My daughter has no idea what she will be studying the next day because it's always some random CRCT practice sheet. My son use to LOVE going to scholl, and now he just cries every morning. THIS SCHOOL IS TERRIBLE!!! Nexy year; private school......thank God.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2009

The environment is design to encourage students to aim for the highest in everything they do at this school. The teachers at this school communicated with me on a daily basis. I was given home phone numbers, emails addresses and was allowed to walk in on any given day to have an impromptu parents teachers conference. The school supports military families when they need it most, during deployments. The teachers and staff work hard to make sure they create a challenging and motivating atmosphere for all students. The school encourages parents to be involved in sports meets, talents shows, history bowls, performing arts, field trips, choir etc. I count myself lucky because of the learning experiences my sons received at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

I know this school very well and the Special education class at this school is the worst. The special education children are not given the least restrictive environment and it is apparent that the teacher(s) are not highly qualified. The special ed children are ignored at this school by all teachers and administrators. It is true, there is a horrible teacher/principal relationship here and it is hard to find qualified teachers. Yes I agree that the now former principal really destroyed this school. However, I also fault the Liberty BOE and the Exceptional Child Division for letting things get this far and ignoring the situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

Nope, didn't like it and don't reccommend it. Atmosphere is too tense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

This school is great. All the teachers that my child had were great. I believe that the students are pushed into doing their best. The use of technology in the classrooms makes learning fun. My child loves going to all four resource areas at this school. I feel this will make my child well rounded. I feel that as a parent I am welcomed to come in and see how my child is doing. I really enjoy families in school day. Parents are given opportunities to be involved in what their child is learning by going to several workshops that are offered throughout the year. Unlike the other parents, I feel that Dr. Riles is doing a good job at this school. Keep it up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2007

I am a former teacher at this school and the parent comment is right on. The tension so so thick and teachers are not respected. Parents need to stand up and take it to the board for the childrens sake. The teacher turnover rate is very high.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 8, 2006

I advise parents to stay away from this school. Dr. Riles is a nightmare! She does not encourage parent involvement. She doesn't seem to want parents at the school at all. That tells me there is a problem! When I asked why my child has to sit in a chair all day long, I was told that centers and recess were a waste of time. I do not believe that worksheets are constructive learning. During the time that my child was at this school, all she did was sit in her chair with a worksheet. Another problem, was the environment. It is not friendly or inviting. You can feel the tension between the principal and the teachers. If I picked up on the tension, I am sure the kids feel it to. There are several problems at this school and I believe Mrs. Riles is at the 'root' of the problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

116 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

116 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

116 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

82 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

99 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

99 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

114 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 44%
Black 41% 37%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Hispanic 4% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Chris Anderson
Fax number
  • (912) 884-3631

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 Edgewater Dr
Midway, GA 31320
Phone: (912) 884-3326

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Grace Baptist Academy
Hinesville, GA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT