Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Creekside Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 17, 2009

I love creekside. I believe my child is getting the best possible education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

I love Creekside! The teachers are very helpful and understanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

We are very disappointed in this school. There seems to be only a few teachers at Creekside that are genuinely there to help the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

The school does have some good teachers. The leadership, however, is very poor. It is my experience that the principal sets the tone for the school and the tone at Creekside is negative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

I am unsure if the division is caused by the teachers or the administration. However, some of the good teachers are staying. I highly recommend Mrs. Austin, Ms. Brookins, Ms. Warner, Mrs. Dunn, Mrs. Giddens, Mr. Maraziti, Mrs. Bentley, and Mrs. Thorne. They all want what is best for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

Creekside has become a disappointment to me. There seems to be division among the teachers. The good teachers have left or are leaving and the not so good are staying just for the ride. Needless to say, I am looking for another alternative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2005

My son is currently in his second grade year at Creekside. I love the atmosphere that Creekside provides. The staff as a whole are very concerned with the students and their learning. If I had to recommend a school in Milledgeville, GA, Creekside would be #1 on the list.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2005

I have 3 daughters. My oldest now is in high school who graduated from Creekside, my middle daughter will graduate from Creekside this year and my youngest is in the 2nd grade. I have been very pleased with the envolment of the teachers, parents and principal. The way the staff encourages the children to learn is wonderful. I've been very happy with this school for many years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2005

I was not happy with this school. My child was in 2nd grade and was treated with such disdain that she was pulled out of this school and put in an emotional/bad behaviors school for no reason. She never had any other problems at any other school and was very disappointed in the treatment of my child in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2004

My son goes to Creekside Elementary and he's in kindergarten and I can say that he is doing great with his teachers and classwork. The teachers there are excellent to work with and are very helpful when the parent has questions and concerns. This is my first experience with a child starting their learning process and it has been a very good experience!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2003

Hello there I can tell you this creekside school is the best. My child taneshia been going since she were in the k- grade and we going to miss creekside this is her last year. Taneshia ask me could she come back and visit all the teachers and staff there I told her yes. I been knowing just about all the teacher and staff there. My son and I went to the same school old school west end I wish they could have kept that name but we all enjoy creekside. Contiue on doing that great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

156 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

156 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

156 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

117 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

118 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

117 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

134 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
55%

2009

 
 
53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 52% 37%
White 38% 44%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Hispanic 3% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dianne Becker
Fax number
  • (478) 457-3340

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

372 Blandy Rd NW
Milledgeville, GA 31061
Phone: (478) 457-3301

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ebla Academy
Milledgeville, GA


John Milledge Academy
Milledgeville, GA



Midway Elementary School
Milledgeville, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT