Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thurgood Marshall Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2014

As a parent this school is not the one to best to put your child in.The staff doesn't care about the children they only care about covering up on how well they do on test scores.The teachers and principal are letting the kids get away from not wearing their uniforms also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2014

I removed my child from this school. He has special needs and was not getting what was rewuired based on his IEP. It appeared that if the students didn't make the "school numbers" they were not a priority. Also, it was like the school tried to hide those students from the general population didn't want them to be seen. Very thankful for mom's intuition and be proactive in removing my son. Parents know your rights you do have options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

I am the parent of a 2nd grader. The principal and staff are wonderful. I love Thurgood Marshall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2012

The teachers in this school haven t been communicating, informing or honest with the parents how students are being taught in their child's classroom with the new Common Core Curriculum. It's not until we advocate for our child's progress that we receive a response and they evade the Common Core Curriculum. Are the Thurgodd Marshall Elementary teachers conducting their own independent Common Core Curriculum in their classroom? What evidence do we have that they are teaching is state standards in our child's classroom? We have been requesting communication either through e-mails, parent teacher conferences either through the principal and teacher and all we receive is pass the buck from principal to teacher. We are working parents and we don t have the opportunity to observe our teachers in the classrooms. The perception is either the student either gets it or they don't with the new curriculum in this school. If the student doesn't grasp the concept of the RIGOR curriculum the student will be impacted once again at the end of the year assessment test!


Posted August 27, 2012

Teaching is great ! The school itself is so unorganized and does not like to give parents notice of special events (Example: Children's award ceremonies, Programs your children are suppose to be a part of. They earn awards but for some reason they are out of them when it is time for the children to receive them so they don't get awards certificates.) When picking up car riders it's the worst I've ever seen at any school 75% of the time they leave it up to one person to make sure it goes smoothly parents are coming in through the exit lanes and always getting out of the cars to pick up their children and block up the doors to me it is a hazard. You shouldn't have to wait in a line for 30 mins or longer just to get your child when you are close to the front of the line! The dismissal is so very unorganized and hopefully soon they will fix that problem! Parent involvement would probably be more if they were giving enough notice of events occurring at the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2011

The head principle at this school needs to be retrained on communication skills. My kids have been at this school for 4yrs and out of those 4 years when walking the hallways with my child she has never opened her mouth to even speak one time. I went to see her one day and had to write my reason on paper for the visit, so they could submit it to her.Until this day she never contacted me about my child. If I could sell my house tomorow just to get my kids out of this millitary school I would it is not proffessional at all.Some of the teachers are focused more on discipline rather teaching. They talk to the kids any type of way until a parent walks up on them. My children used to be excited about going to school but have changed drastically as if they are no longer intrested. It's as if some of the teachers have taken on the attitude of their leader.The good teachers have all run away. This schools needs a new leader is more about the children rather than someone who is more concenred with themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2011

Ms. Brown is a seasoned (in knowledge) teacher who loves the arts and makes sure your child learn. She's firm, but fair. Ms Brown is a sweet heart. Her assistant Mrs. Huff is good, but a lot times I felt her stress made her frown ALOT. I pray for the teachers b/c they endure not only our children but parents and administrative staff. Ms. Brown is very knowledgeable and I appreciate her nuturing spirit and my child has truly developed K' skills and more. Ms. Brown is a cool teacher to have.... Thank u Ms. Brown!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2010

Parents raised concerns with the respect of wanting absolute truth. Instead we were treated like mushrooms left in the dark and fed manueaur. The Parent Teacher Organization lacks leadership and communication. The parents do not have a voice. The principal has made all decisions how funds are allocated and spent. I say rename the organization to the Principal Teacher Organization. At the first and last P.T.O meeting there was a discussion about a playground at the tune of $60,000. Why not invest the money back into our teachers and students. Parents questioned the student school supply list. The BOE kindergarten curriculum states all materials and supplies are provided. Marshall parents were given a list. The principal stated the supply list at Wal-Mart is just for reference. She had no idea teachers where also passing out a list. Parents don t need a reference as to keep tissue paper, copy paper, Lysol and hand-sanitizer in the home. So arrogantly she stated that there s over $119,000 in her Title IV account she didn t need parents to purchase school supplies. Obviously funds were not available prior to the beginning of the school year. That s usury.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2010

I visited Thurgood Marshall Elem. this week and was shocked that instead of the first week of school being a positive experience that teachers had already resorted to using humiliation, demeaning language, and ridicule toward students. It is just awful to see that some of the teachers are down right insensitive and should work as prison guards instead of molding the minds and futures of our precious commodities: children. I suggest that the principal hold workshops on professionalism, proper teacher-student communication as a strategy to address these inappropriate behaviors that can be damaging to our children. In fact, the principal needs to model acceptable behaviors so these educated state employees can imitate. When in doubt, ask yourself these questions: "Was my comment necessary?" "Was it professional?"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Good staff, nice environment, due care of students, etc makes us feel safe about our students and their skills to get promoted in proper way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

This was my child first year there. I was very expressed with Ms. Odom ( a new kindergarten teacher). For this to be Ms. Odom first year, I think that she did an excellent job with my child. She was very informative and organized. Let me not forget to give her Assistant Ms. Favors her props too. Wonderful Job! The overall school did a wonderful job with recognizing their students for their acccomplishments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2008

I thought when I enrolled my child at Marshall Elementary that it was an excellent school. I spoke to several parents and they had nothing but good things to say about Marshall. I hate to think what schools they were using in comparison! A many Marshall faculty members yell at the kids in class, in the cafeteria and hallways, and they don't seem to really like children at all. A teacher with a nasty attitude attempted to speak tersely as she approached me from behind and quickly apologized because she thought I was one of the students! Also, I believe that good teachers should do all they can to enrich young students' lives, not just throw homework/classwork at them and say, 'good luck figuring it out.' There are decent teachers there but they need to create a mentoring program for new instructors and hold these professionals accountable for underperformance of bright students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2007

Marshall has the ability to be a great school but lacks leadership that involves teacher support program that welcomes their expertise. Very closed minded thinking and micro-management has caused school to lose its best teachers. While they offer great extracurricular activites, this means nothing if academics are not tight. Gifted program needs more expansion. Six hours of advanced class a week for child isn't enough. There is very little parent involvement unless free food is offered or a talent show. I have talked to excellent staff members that voiced their issues and I saw they were never addressed by principal. Parents volunteers are almost not there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2007

I have been a Marshall parent for the past two years.My kids have excelled as the development of the whole child is targeted at Marshall.The teachers at Marshall go the extra mile for each student. Success and discipline are high priorities for the staff of Marshall Elementary.The principal and administrators are very supportive of the parents and students.Parental support and involvement are encouraged and I have seen many parents step up to the plate.The school has a balanced specials program which involves PE, Art, music, computers and other extracurricular activities like basketball and cheerleading.The use of technology is integrated at the school with the use of laptops and smartboards.The power and value of education is continuously advocated to the students and their parents and most students/parents have accepted their responsibility as being part of the Marshall family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2006

The quality of the academic program is average. I believe it should be a little more rigorous to hold the students attention and continue to challenge them. (my opinion only) A lot of children enter school with a lot of knowledge and that knowledge is not challenged enough in the 1st and 2nd grades. As a result children loose interest and grades begin to fall. This school needs to add band atleast by the 4th grade. PE should be everyday and not just 2 or 3 days a week. I think that the parental involvement is up to par. Most functions are packed. Overall the staff is very professional,friendly, and knowledgeable. I have had a pleasant experience thus far.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

162 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

162 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

162 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

120 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

120 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

120 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

142 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 71% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 3%
Hispanic 12% 12%
White 3% 44%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Velma Mobley
Fax number
  • (404) 675-8019

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5885 Maddox Rd
Morrow, GA 30260
Phone: (404) 675-8019

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT