Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


William M. Mcgarrah Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2012
- a community member
i'm a student of mcgarrah elemtary.And it is a s place.Thiis school is helpful and fun

William M. Mcgarrah Elementary School 4

Posted August 22, 2012
- a parent
My son just started here and I feel that they are doing an excellent job thus far. I look forward to being and involved parent throughout this school year and more.

William M. Mcgarrah Elementary School 4

Posted August 05, 2009
- a parent
My step-son moved in with us in April of Last year and he had some issues at his other school. This school seems to care what his best interests are. They compliment him and give him praise where his other school just shot him down all the time which lowered his self-esteem. This school has been really corporating with us to get his motivation and self-esteem back up. I am very impressed.

William M. Mcgarrah Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2009
- a parent
My daughters goes to this school. They made honor roll A and B and one of top readers in the whole kindegarden class.

William M. Mcgarrah Elementary School 4

Posted November 23, 2007
- a teacher
I am a teacher at McGarrah and this is a pretty good school. We have great administrators and an excellent staff. The problems that we have come from the curriculum that we are forced to teach. Teachers are not allowed to be as creative as we were in the past and we have to follow scripts to get the kids to 'learn.' They are just learning to spit back answers on cue. We have a good overall school environment and good people, just give us a chance to prove it to you.

William M. Mcgarrah Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2007
- a parent
My daughter, and I think Mcgarrah is a great school! By far the best in Clayton County.The leadership, and staff have been great. Mrs. Burroughs, Mrs.Griffin,Mr.Iddins,Ms.Yarbrough,Ms.Penczek,and Mrs.Lamb have all been wonderful to myself, and my child. Mcgarrah is a great school!

William M. Mcgarrah Elementary School 4

Posted October 03, 2007
- a parent
I have three children attending and I believe the teachers are hard working and care very much. There is very little parent involvement it is the same ones every year putting in time and money. Sadly many students do not measure up on standardized tests and this takes a lot of time to bring them to speed. Parents do not take responsibility for their children's behavior problems. McGarrah is by far the best in the county, the county as a whole is a problem. There are too many fund raisers for other causes besides the kids. Mrs. Burroughs is fair, many teachers go above and beyond.

William M. Mcgarrah Elementary School 4

Posted January 31, 2006
- a parent
I am a very proud parent of 2 students at McGarrah Elementary. I have great confidence in the staff. As far as these comments are concerned....You can't please everyone. It's usally the parents who are not involved that think everything the school does is wrong! Stay involved!

William M. Mcgarrah Elementary School 1

Posted August 04, 2005
- a parent
This school is the worst. Nice principle, but she defends the teachers when you try to show her there is a big problem.

William M. Mcgarrah Elementary School 4

Posted April 27, 2005
- a teacher
I feel that the parents aren't as involved as they should be. The P.T.A. nights an open conferences are a joke because hardly any parents show up. I am a teacher there and I'm offended by these comments. I would follow the principal to any school. The school is trying to turn around some previous bad situations and's aiming for higher academic standards. However, this is hard when the students and parents don't care and don't want to listen to what the teachers and administration have to suggest for their children. I truly feel sorry for the small percentage of students who's parents care. These good students get over shadowed by those who consistently get in trouble in school.

Nearby schools

William M. Mcgarrah Elementary School
2201 Lake Harbin Rd, Morrow, GA  30260
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (770) 968-2910
Last modified William M. Mcgarrah Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top