Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Colquitt County High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 13, 2010

The school is crowded, the students are obnoxious, and the faculty and staff are completely blind to all of it. The principle spends all his money on football, so don't expect anything good from him. Not to mention that the sidewalks are covered in gum and bathrooms are awful. Definitely not for any northerner who just moved to the South. I've had experience with schools in and out of state, so please be cautious!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2010

Dude, I'm in the 10th grade and man, this school rocks. Your success is as high as you want it to be... I have A's and B's and I'm in college prep, so I completly recommend this school to students that just moved to the south or to those who just relocated for a period in time. You get the lessons and the excitement everyday...
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2009

I am a graduate if this school. It is in a small community where every student is considered an amazing part of their success. I loved it each day.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2008

CCHS is a great skool!!! We have a great principal and teacher but it's just on thing sum of us students can't learn b/c one of the students are playin joking or just plain rite rude and then the teacher has to stop teaching and get on to the person i hate that!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2007

I love Colquitt County high School. I am a Senior and the Teachers are great and the Principal does his job to the best of his ability! i love it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2006

Well, CCHS is a 'Great' High School, but that adjective is so overrated. CCHS is an amazing nurturing environment where every student has a chance and so many opportunities to succeed. I attend CCHS presently and can truly say that the administration and faculty really cares about every individual student. There are so many clubs that cater to very diverse interests and every student is encouraged to join a club or athletic group. Mr. Jones is a wonderful principal, he wants to get to know the students and listen to our opinions. All in all, CCHS is #1! Go Pack!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2005

As a recent graduate of CCHS I want to say it is a amazing school! The best principal in the state of Georgia leads this school with an excellant staff of teachers!The only issue facing the school is overpopulation. Their are to many students being crowded into the buildings. Other than that CCHS is the best! Go Pack!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 16, 2005

I believe that CCHS is a good school, but there is a lot of room for improvement. The staff are very tough on these kids. There aren't any bad kids at CCHS, but when the others label you that way, I guess you feel that you need to live up to your name,huh. I think that the rules are way too strick, but then they have to be strick because of the way some of the students act. I think that all of the students should be treated equally. I have also asked many times why there is no law enforcement on site in the mornings to direct traffic. I still haven't got an answer. I believe that the Board of Education needs to go ahead and start building a new High School for 'OUR' children. The CCHS is way too crowded and everyone knows that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2005

I think that Colquitt County High School has some wonderful teachers and administration. Allthough, not all of them are. This school needs a major makeover. I should know, I attend it. The students get in trouble for the most outrageous reasons. The tests they give us uses completely different words than the teacher used in the lesson. Many students are going to summer school this summer. This is not a good sign. Many students have also dropped out. Something needs to be done before the worst is to come. I have many more complants but I think that is enough for now.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2004

I am a sophomore at CCHS. I would like to stress what a GREAT school this is! The best thing about it is the GREAT principal. Mr. Jones works his hardest and respects all of the teachers and staff. I appreciate all of the teachers that work there along witht he administration and staff.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

525 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

521 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

521 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

523 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

540 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
46%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

551 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
41%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
47%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
0%

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

508 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
48%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

472 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

567 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 44%
Black 28% 37%
Hispanic 19% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Robert E Jones
Fax number
  • (229) 890-6166

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1800 Park Ave SE
Moultrie, GA 31768
Phone: (229) 890-6141

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT