Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Simpson Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 1, 2012

My child's first year at Simpson was outstanding! I found the building to be welcoming at all times, despite the amount of security measures in place to keep the students safe. Academically, this school is to cream of the crop. I found my son's teacher to be an expert in her field, finding a balance between strong classroom management and a warm place to learn. The principal is accessible and responds to email in a timely manner. I am looking forward to another successful year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2011

My son has special needs and we were sent to this school to begin his pre-k year for 2011. My son went in barely making sense of his words and just communicating the basics, now he is communicating beautifully and surprising us more and more daily. They have great patience with him and understanding of his unique needs and the special qualities he possesses as an individual. I have seen him blossom just in the short time he has been with the Simpson team! Mrs. Le Blanc and Ms. Irene are awesome thank you so much from the bottom of my families heart you have made a difference in our lives forever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2011

today my son was at school and he got hurt very bad on his upper lip. i NEVER received a phone call from the school stating he got hurt. the only thing i did receive was a note from the teacher with out explaning what happen to him. he is also a special ed student. i am very upset with this school. all they gave him was a ice as it says on the note. when he got home, i had to take him to the hospital because it was very big lip! and he can not ear because it hurts him very bad! and he crys. i would not recommended this school regardless of what any other ratings say.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

As a former teacher myself, I am thoroughly impressed with Simpson Elementary. I've had 2 children finish there, and I feel that the student-focus and the professionalism of the faculty is stellar. Every classroom, including special needs and the gifted program, is strong. Simpson students are happy, well-behaved, and yes - they do extrememly well on test scores. Truly a 'great school'!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

I am very disappointed that the school still does not offer after school activities. Also, there is no way of giving end of the year feedback to the teachers. I was very unhappy with my child's teacher last year, as were most of the other parents. And, talking to the principal was not a good option either. There should be a way to give anonymous feedback to each teacher - all universities and colleges and other classes allow this, why not here? Other than that, overall, the school is pretty good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

There seems to be a greater concern with discipline and test scores than an overall commitment to educating the children. At Simpson teachers often lose sight of the important role that they play in the kids lives and get too caught up in the statistics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2008

I have 2 children go to Simpson a total of 6 years so far. One of mine is advanced student and the other one has his challenges. I have great respect for the leadership and the teachers of Simpson. They care, are professional, and my children are getting a fantastic education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

It's hard to believe that my children are nearing the end of their time at Simpson. I want to thank all of the teachers and the administration for making the last 5 years so wonderful! I am so happy that you took my children to your hearts and taught them skills that will always be with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2007

This is supposed to be one of the best elementary schools in Georgia? More concerned with discipline and teaching to the tests. Still haven't received CRCT scores after four months; had to ask the teacher for fall standardized test scores. After spring CRCT test there was no homework for rest of the year. Waste of the last month of school. No recess as behavioral punishment. Parents are too involved. Administration is laughable. We're left shaking our heads on a weekly basis about what's going on at Simpson. I attended school in one of the best public school systems in the country; maybe my expectations are waaaay too high. After two years we've decided to go the private route.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

This might be the best elementary school in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

We have spent five years in Simpson, and we have loved it every year. We feel so fortunate to have our children in such a great learning environment. The administration, teachers, and PTA make it obvious that they care about providing a wonderful education in a safe and nurturing environment. Living in this school district is a true blessing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

This school teaches students to score high on tests. Parents volunteers are readily availble. The latest principal does tend to look at dollar signs and take no consideration to what the parents want when it comes to fundraising.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2006

This is a privilege student school. Due to high volume of parental involvement, academic is expected to be at a high level, even though some of the teacher does not meet it. I am slightly disappointed at the leadership of the newest principal. It s all about what kind of money the school can get from the parents. The principal choose to ignore parents concern over a controversial issue and did not make choices that was best for the student and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2005

About three years ago my family and I moved to Toledo, Ohio. I was heart broken. I didn't relize how much was avaible at Simpson. I still remember my kindergarden,1st and 2nd grade teacher. One of them is still there. I remember they taught me so much. I still remember all of the songs we used to sing. I know my parents loved it there. There was so much parent involvment. Here at my school my parents can't even go and eat lunch with my younger sister! It is crazy and very unorganized. I just want to thak the Simpson Teachers and staff for all that you have taught me!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 2, 2004

This school truly maximizes every opportunity to enhance the student's educational experience. They recognize and respond to a child's needs immediately. The approach is nurturing and proactive. The administration consists of true leadership that is uncommon for a public school. I believe that the administration truly cares (there are so many ways this is behaviorally evidenced) and is not just 'bidding time for retirement'. There is expectation of responsibility in all areas (for students and staff). The teacher's have skill and are concerned for the children they care about. In fact, many of the teachers that teach there chose to educate their own children there-the school is that nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2004

I have 2 girls that started at Simpson in Kindergarten, the oldest is currently a 4th grader and the other a 1st grader. They were in Montessori before attending public school. Simpson provides the care and education of that of a private school. The PTA and parent volunteers are highly active in supporting the school. When you are at Simpson you feel you are at the center of Peachtree Corners, because the care and education of children is what Peachtree Corners is all about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2003

There does not seem to be any direction in this school - other than to get the kids through it. Individual teachers can be a bright spot, but overall was very dissappointed with this school in the one year we were there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

167 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

167 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

167 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

164 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

164 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

164 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

154 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 44%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Black 5% 37%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4525 E Jones Bridge Rd
Norcross, GA 30092
Phone: (770) 417-2400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Wesleyan School
Norcross, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT