Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Susan Stripling Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1109 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 19, 2013

My son attended 4th and 5th grade at Stripling Elementary School. I was very pleased with the level of education he received there. His teachers and I kept in frequent contact to ensure that my son stayed on track academically. They were a constant source of encouragement and often praised my son for his school work and behavior. The faculty and staff were always friendly, warm, and helpful. I was especially impressed with the parent resource director, who provided me with a wealth of support and materials to use with my son at home. Principle McHamm implemented an ambitious agenda for the school, meeting regularly with parents to discuss issues such as school improvement, literacy, and community involvement. She was one of the most highly involved administrators I had ever seen. The PTA, parent resource center, and other auxiliaries within the school hosted many fun events for the students and their families. Stripling also has a very diverse student population. The children seemed to accept and even celebrate their differences. This was good for my son, who is African American and Japanese. Stripling Elementary is a fine school full of wonderful, caring, and dedicated people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2012

I attended the school's Open House recently and I was impressed to see the enrichment programs that Stripling provides . Mr. Hochbaum and Mr. Bushman are amazing Gifted teachers, who make me proud to be a parent at this school. I think the leadership at this school continues to be the best in Norcross.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2011

This is the worst school I have ever seen. My son and I moved here from out of state and the difference in curriculum compared to what he was taught at his previous school is out dated and non-challenging. The school continues to cut students off at the knees who are ahead of others, so as to teach them all at the same level which is wrong on so many levels. The school is not diverse at all, with the majority of the student body being of Hispanic origin and only handful being African American, Caucasian, etc. The bullying that my child has endured for the past few months is only continues to get worse and the staff is not friendly but instead quite hostel when you try to get them to acknowledge the problems with their "system". Everything that is done at this school is disorganized and not geared toward helping the children to grow. My son is so unhappy with this school and doesn't even want to go to school anymore. He will not be attending this school next year, and I encourage other parents to think twice before enrolling their children into this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2011

I completely disagree with your comment. My son loves this school and he has had wonderful teachers! He has attended this school since 2nd grade, now in 5th and our experience with the teachers & the administration has been wonderful. If I've had an issue, it was addressed immediately. Like anything, you get what you give. If you attend curriculum nights, Parent Center workshops and PTA meetings (which are offered in the evening & during school hours to accomodate most parent's schedules-the testing workshop was last night as a matter of fact) you will know that many resources are available after school, before school & weekends. If you communicate with your child's teacher they will make you aware of this. The Parent Center has great FREE resources & a wonderful, helpful staff (Ms. Sanchez). Ms. McHam is great, I've never had a problem with her. She has always been very accomodating and accessable. My only problem with Stripling is the lack of parent involement! If you are angry enough to write a bad review on a website regarding your displeasure with the school then you should also attend a PTA or Parent Center meeting where your imput can really make a difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2011

I must disagree that stripling provides enrichment and accelerated programs. Compared to Marietta city schools this school has nothing to offer, prior schools had before school, after school, during school and Saturday school help. This not he case at all and the principal Ms. Mcham is horrible and involved or intouch with the students at all. I had a meeting with her my son counselor and teacher, she cried to show concern and I saw her a week later and she asked, who's parent are you again. Now that was very insulting, which you meet with a week ago and cried and cant remember who your student was. So unreal just very fake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

Stripling provides enrichment and accelerated programs to challenge students from K-5. Strong leadership and caring staff make this a unique and warm school. Stripling brings pride to our Norcross community.


Posted September 24, 2006

I happen to know, from first-hand experience, that the teachers work above and beyond what they are compensated! I have never seen a more committed group of educators willing to do whatever it takes to facilitate the learning of the students as they do in their school. I am very proud to have my children attend Susan Stripling Elementary School! The level of disrespect that many parents display toward the professional educator is overwhelming! It is my belief that until more parents become educated and involved, themselves, only then will a true difference in the level of learning be made, and as a result, test scores increased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2005

My daughter went to kindergarten and is now in first grade at Stripling. I am very pleased with the teaching programs they use. The teachers are excellent as well as the staff. Everyone up there has always been willing to help, listen or whatever else was needed. As far as parent involvement it needs alot. However you can't fault the school for that. Parents have to get involved and help out when needed. After all it is not the teachers job to raise the child. The teacher teaches and when you have a parent get involved it makes all the difference in the world. I am just saying don't judge this school unless you have time to go get involved and make a difference yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2005

The standards of this school is low and the schools faculty is not welcoming at all. It is strongly recommended that the schools faculty be thouroughly evaluated on their procedures on communicating with parents. Something should be done concerning the challeging of 'Gifted' students, those that are excelling beyond the basic requirements on the schools curriculum, these students (1st - 3rd) are not allowed to test in order to evolve to higher grade level or classes that will keep the students attention. It is strongly believed that qualified Male teachers should be sought after in order to have masculine teachers/role-models presented before the boy students. In closing when the bar is raised and met than we will produce more children ready for the service to thier community and govenrment. They also need more outside time, not an Institutionalized feel of being in doors all the time, this causes behavoir concerns. Henry JW.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2005

I was very disapointed with this school, they were not able to accomadate my child from k-2nd grade. I was told on serval times that once he gets to the next grade than they will be able to do something. And here now in the second grade they still was not helpful. My son was the highest in his class but due to the outline they couldn't do anything. However they worked very hard on tring to correct his behavior but they missed the whole point that my child was bored and when a childed is bored they act out. So Stripling needs not to only notice the childrens behavior problem but also their potenials as well. Then will start to see there numbers in math, reading, and language arts increase. Unsatified
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

173 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

173 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

173 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

165 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

165 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

167 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

164 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 61% 12%
Black 27% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
White 4% 44%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Priscilla McHam
Fax number
  • (770) 582-7586

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6155 Atlantic Blvd
Norcross, GA 30071
Phone: (770) 582-7577

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Aurora School
Norcross, GA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT