Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Susan Stripling Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2016
- a parent
My 7th grader and my current 5th grader have attended Stripling, and I have to say they have had some outstanding teachers, that cared about them in and outside of the classroom. Dr. Bryson is an exception to the rule as an educator. She had my 5th grader reading a 7th grade level book (Roll of Thunder Hear My Cry), and that's exactly what he did at the end of the story, not because it was sad, but because he didn't want the story to end. All of her students, colleagues and parents love her teaching style. I know, because my son tells me everyday (literally) how much he loves Dr. Bryson. She truly inspires those around her, and often times; teachers who invest in low-income schools get overlooked, but she is a rare diamond that will be missed next year as my son heads to 6th grade.

Susan Stripling Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 03, 2016
- a parent
Thanks Dr. Bryson for your amazing smile, and for inspiring your students in such a loving and encouraging way.

Susan Stripling Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 03, 2016
- a parent
Schools with low rankings don't get credit a lot of times for their hard working teachers, who put in a lot of time to ensure that their students progress in their learning.

Susan Stripling Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 03, 2016
- a parent
Homework is used to help students review what they have learned on a continuous basis.

Susan Stripling Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 03, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are very encouraging, and they have high expectations for the students, and they challenge them in the classroom.

Susan Stripling Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted May 03, 2016
- a parent
Students are trained using the Debug system to understand the importance of respect for others.

Susan Stripling Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted May 03, 2016
- a parent
Students are encourages to be bucket fillers through acts of kindness towards themselves and others.

Susan Stripling Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 03, 2016
- a parent
This school encourages students to be honest and caring through their collaborative efforts with not only in-house school personnel, but bus driver's and cafeteria staff are apart of the school wide reward system that fosters good choices.

Susan Stripling Elementary School 3

Posted March 10, 2015
- a parent
I have mixed reviews my 2nd grader has an iep and has improved greatly. My 4th grader delt with bulling the Assistant principal is bias. They never called the day of an incident but wait days afte the event.

Susan Stripling Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2013
- a parent
My son attended 4th and 5th grade at Stripling Elementary School. I was very pleased with the level of education he received there. His teachers and I kept in frequent contact to ensure that my son stayed on track academically. They were a constant source of encouragement and often praised my son for his school work and behavior. The faculty and staff were always friendly, warm, and helpful. I was especially impressed with the parent resource director, who provided me with a wealth of support and materials to use with my son at home. Principle McHamm implemented an ambitious agenda for the school, meeting regularly with parents to discuss issues such as school improvement, literacy, and community involvement. She was one of the most highly involved administrators I had ever seen. The PTA, parent resource center, and other auxiliaries within the school hosted many fun events for the students and their families. Stripling also has a very diverse student population. The children seemed to accept and even celebrate their differences. This was good for my son, who is African American and Japanese. Stripling Elementary is a fine school full of wonderful, caring, and dedicated people.

Nearby schools

Susan Stripling Elementary School
6155 Atlantic Blvd, Norcross, GA  30071
(770) 582-7577
Last modified Susan Stripling Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top