Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 56 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


57 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Greater Atlanta Christian School 5

Posted October 24, 2014
- a parent
With one child graduated and the other getting ready to graduate, we reflected on the decision of putting our children at GACS. When posing the question to our children, they emphatically declared that there was no other place they would rather have been than at GACS! Academically, their standardized test scores prove that they can compete with any student in the nation, but more importantly, we are grateful for the self-confident, capable young people that they have become. That development has been enhanced by the teachers who have invested in them and partnered with us as parents over the years. There is the AP teacher who went to dinner with the class to celebrate a successful semester. There is the high school teacher who regularly meets a group of students before school for a Bible study. There is the college counselor who gives up her Saturday to write a recommendation for a last-minute scholarship opportunity for our child. The examples are endless, and our children have benefitted tremendously from the willingness of these adults to become involved in their lives.

Greater Atlanta Christian School 5

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
As parents, we are tasked with choosing a place for our children to learn. What a task! In fact, kids spent more waking time during the week at school than they do with us. We chose GAC many years ago for our girls and have never been disappointed. It is a rigorous academic environment, all the while focusing on building a strong-character. Yes, they provide state-of-the-art technology and top facilities, but they teach kids how to be independent learners and thinkers. It's a diverse school that builds kids up to be leaders, thinkers, changers, people who will make an impact. They also have a lot of fun. Between class trips, spiritual retreats, incredible athletics,and the ability to "just be kids sometimes," they look forward to each day at GAC. The relationship between child and teacher is unlike any other I've seen. The teachers truly know the kids. Cheer on the sidelines of rec soccer games, go on charity walks to support "their kids," pray for them diligently, and are always in contact with the parents. I am confident my children will be better off because of our choice to enroll them at GAC.


Greater Atlanta Christian School 5

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
This is our 17th year at GACS. My daughter is a senior at UGA, going on to law school, and my son is a senior at GACS, most likely going to play a sport in college. Looking back over the years, We can honestly say it has been one of the best investments we have made for our children. They both are spiritually and academically prepared for the next step in their lives. It is not only a school it is a community of people who really care about one another. This being our last year we will miss this community more than words can express. GACS has molded our children into highly respected young adults, ready to make a difference and leave a mark in this world today. Thank-You GACS

Greater Atlanta Christian School 4

Posted October 13, 2014
- a parent
Overall a very good school - math and science is not strong (top students inflate the numbers). We've had students at the school for 11 years now - very good learning environment - opportunity to get a quality education - no school is good/bad for everyone - it's still up to the parents and the family overall to make the educational process the best it can be for students - GACS provides that opportunity overall. K4-5 program probably one of the best, 6-12 better than most. Standardize tests are outstanding and there is no prep really done, so I think that speaks volumes (no teaching of shortcuts, etc). 100% of the graduating continue to post-secondary every year we've been there and at least 5-7 before we got there - very impressive. Be aware that a lot of the founders (25+ years) are retiring - expect a change of some sort (more times than not changes are not good when original leaders retire, but the next generation could possibly "correct" some of the short comings). I would recommend strong consideration; however, if you do not have a student who is strong in math and science, ask a lot of questions if that is important.
1 person found this helpful

Greater Atlanta Christian School 1

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
Robbed and Sad! We fell for the fa ade of a beautiful campus and top rated education standards. The truth is the academic curriculum is actually behind in most core courses and don t even come close to offering the level of rigor, critical thinking, or challenge other public schools are offering. I was very embarrassed and outraged to be told by my child s new PUBLIC (Charter System) school administration in North Fulton county that even though she has maintained a 98% grade point avg. all throughout school and scored very high on ITBS and CogAT that she still wasn t equipped enough to take advanced courses or to receive gifted services . So, instead she has to prove herself all over again because her time at GAC counts for nothing! Hard earned money and sacrifices were created to send our child to GAC only to come up SHORT!!! Thankfully, our daughter is very strong academically, so we re blessed that she will be able to close the gap within a year s time or less. What about others like us who thought because their child attended this very prestigious school, that they would be overly prepared for life outside the BUBBLE - just to find out other wise.


Greater Atlanta Christian School 5

Posted August 06, 2014
- a parent
Greater Atlanta Christian School is a unique nurturing environment for a student to work toward academic excellence. We had two students graduate from GAC. Our daughter became a UGA Honors program student while our son became a student athlete on scholarship. Students can learn in a variety of ways. The families become well acquainted and we formed friendships that will last a lifetime. GAC strives to improve any weaknesses. Teachers are VERY encouraging!

Greater Atlanta Christian School 5

Posted July 15, 2014
- a community member
GAC is GREAT, I love the teachers and the whole atmosphere, they are always willing to help you before, during, and after school. They do not mind staying after school, for how ever long you may need them for, and they are just always willing to help. They give a lot of work sometimes, but that is only to prepare you for what's ahead.(college) The school is definitely worth the money. There is absolutely no bullying and you do not get exposed to stuff like drinking and drugs, they teach you about that starting in elementary school, and they help you every step of the way and guide you on the right path. I love the fact that we have chapel every day and bible class every day! I love being able to worship Jesus every day, all throughout the day! The teachers and staff always push you, and that is why I love it there, and have never asked my parents to leave! The lunch there is extra ordinary, with a new different meal every day, and they always have something for you to eat. Even though its a private school, they always know how to have fun and make us enjoy going to school, and they always have fun stuff each week, and that is the why I love GAC and never want to leave.
1 person found this helpful

Greater Atlanta Christian School 5

Posted November 15, 2013
- a parent
Greater Atlanta Christian is more than just a great school it is an amazing school. What is so amazing about the school is that it has an environment that not only helps student achieve their full potential but also helps strengthen families. The school has a very strong scholastic program that incorporate cutting edge technology that students can be applied to real world scenarios. It also has a very strong sports department, drama, music, and arts program as well. But the most impressive thing about the school is that it will change your life. I encourage anyone to check out the school and see why the teachers, facility and parents are such big advocates of the school and feel very blessed to be involved with your kids.
1 person found this helpful


Greater Atlanta Christian School 5

Posted November 11, 2013
- a parent
GAC exceeded all our goals as a partner to educate/prepare our 3 sons to be competitive in a global world & more importantly becoming leaders - men of character/integrity, inspired to make a difference! 2 in college on academic scholarships (double majors, law & MBA candidates). 3rd in HS is thriving w/his talents, despite of his learning disorder, which he has learned to work around. Teaching strategies/technologies are forward thinking, engaging students & applied to the real world in terms of problem solving/collaboration. I'm thankful for GAC's vision to not just educate their mind but nurture/feed their soul, a balanced approach for the "whole" person - mind, body & soul - living by example on how you can be Christian in today's post-Christian world. Academic rigor is at any prep school to ensure college acceptances/careers, but we wanted more for our sons! GAC is not a guarantee (no school is) but it's the best opportunity you can give your child, an environment that excels in the academics, athletics, arts & spiritual foundation - regardless of your child's passion/gifts they can thrive. It's worth every $ - best decision we've ever made! GAC has blessed our entire family!

Greater Atlanta Christian School 5

Posted November 11, 2013
- a parent
I am the parent of 4 students that attend GACS. All four are very different and GACS does a fantastic job of meeting each of their needs. I currently have children in 3 of the 4 schools- the exception being the Village. Overall, GACS has met/exceeded my expectations of a Christian private school. We are currently in the process of applying to colleges/universities for our oldest and he is finding that his GPA, standardized test scores, rigor of schedule, etc all make him a competitive candidate for the more selective schools. The school offers many honors/AP classes at the HS level and mandates that the student sit for the National AP Exam upon completing the course. This is very different than many other schools that allow you to take the course, bump up your GPA but never really prove yourself by sitting for the exam. GACS has allowed/encouraged my children to participate in extracurricular activities by offering opportunities across the spectrum. While no place is perfect, I can testify that the faculty/staff/admin of GACS have always been open to suggestions and/or constructive criticism. For our family of 4 children, we could not have made a better decision!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Greater Atlanta Christian School
1575 Indian Trail Lilburn Road, Norcross, GA  30093
(770) 243-2000
Last modified Greater Atlanta Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Greater Atlanta Christian School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. Top