Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Greater Atlanta Christian School 5

Posted June 30, 2015
- a community member
We moved our children to Greater Atlanta Christian School from another Atlanta area Christian school. It was the best gift we've ever given to our children! Other schools may call themselves Christian but when you look beneath their surface, you struggle to see any real substance. At GACS, Christ is at the core of all they do whether that be academics, sports, mission trips or any other activities. Religion is not just a class they offer but a way of life following Christ. Our children are taught to be accountable for their actions and to be engaged in the greater community around us. The faculty are highly educated and never become complacent in their own education. The school is constantly changing and evolving to adopt innovative methods for teaching our children. You won't find antiquated classroom models here! You will see classrooms full of engaged children collaborating and integrating state of the art technology. We have a child in junior high and high school. One of the things we love about this school is that both our children thrive here despite their different interests and abilities. But both our children will graduate from Greater Atlanta Christian School with the same mission to follow and serve Christ.

Greater Atlanta Christian School 1

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
We have two kids currently attending GACS and they've been there for years - great elementary school, average middle school, horrible high school experience. Definitely not worth the almost $20K we spend per year for each to attend. They love to build buildings so the campus looks impressive, but they are hollow walls. Inside you'll find faculty who were only hired because they could coach, they were related to another staff member, or they graduated from a Christian college. They definitely do not focus on recruiting and retaining top talent. We've made the difficult to decision to pull our youngest child out this year (difficult only because she has lots of friends there), but sadly it's too late for our oldest child. Teachers and administrators have done more to shatter her self confidence than any bully ever could. There are definitely better private, and even public, school options out there. You shouldn't have to apologize to your children because you decided to send them to a school that ended up being detrimental to their education.

Greater Atlanta Christian School 1

Posted April 30, 2015
- a parent
My kids have been at GAC for 10 years and has been a huge disappointment.The jr high is a disaster.the teachers campus wide are all related to each other or they graduated from the school.The teachers are not just hired on merit but who you know and are related to.The teachers are demeaning to students and are caught up in gossiping and labeling students.They are often overheard talking about parents and classmates throughout the day by other students.Theclassrooms are filthy dirty, small and outdated.however all new construction is for the football, baseball teams.If you have a child that excels academically and athletically you will be fine here.however if you have any learning differences you will pay extra to get them any assistance at that school.we pay over $50,000 for tuition and academic support.plus private therapist that comes to school and private tutoring.The math classes are behind and the language classes are also a complete joke.If you just want A's on a report card then this is the place.Bullying is commonplace as well.The jr high counsellors are never available and will not assist with getting accommodations the school says they will give.It is all a facade.

Greater Atlanta Christian School 5

Posted March 13, 2015
- a parent
Both my children graduated from GACS. One just graduated in the top ten percent of the Naval Academy in Annapolis. The other is in the Honors College at UGA and found a passion of missions and service at GAC. Our experience was worth every penny. Not only were they both prepared for rigorous colleges but JUST as importantly they are prepared for a life of service beyond themselves. The missions program at GAC is beyond compare. When comparing schools, don't just ask about missions/service trips but ask how many students get to go on one. My children went every year in high school. Not to mention the fine arts program at GAC is amazing with an awesome High School Band and Orchestra. And of course GAC has always had great athletics.
1 person found this helpful

Greater Atlanta Christian School 5

Posted October 24, 2014
- a parent
With one child graduated and the other getting ready to graduate, we reflected on the decision of putting our children at GACS. When posing the question to our children, they emphatically declared that there was no other place they would rather have been than at GACS! Academically, their standardized test scores prove that they can compete with any student in the nation, but more importantly, we are grateful for the self-confident, capable young people that they have become. That development has been enhanced by the teachers who have invested in them and partnered with us as parents over the years. There is the AP teacher who went to dinner with the class to celebrate a successful semester. There is the high school teacher who regularly meets a group of students before school for a Bible study. There is the college counselor who gives up her Saturday to write a recommendation for a last-minute scholarship opportunity for our child. The examples are endless, and our children have benefitted tremendously from the willingness of these adults to become involved in their lives.
2 people found this helpful

Greater Atlanta Christian School 5

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
As parents, we are tasked with choosing a place for our children to learn. What a task! In fact, kids spent more waking time during the week at school than they do with us. We chose GAC many years ago for our girls and have never been disappointed. It is a rigorous academic environment, all the while focusing on building a strong-character. Yes, they provide state-of-the-art technology and top facilities, but they teach kids how to be independent learners and thinkers. It's a diverse school that builds kids up to be leaders, thinkers, changers, people who will make an impact. They also have a lot of fun. Between class trips, spiritual retreats, incredible athletics,and the ability to "just be kids sometimes," they look forward to each day at GAC. The relationship between child and teacher is unlike any other I've seen. The teachers truly know the kids. Cheer on the sidelines of rec soccer games, go on charity walks to support "their kids," pray for them diligently, and are always in contact with the parents. I am confident my children will be better off because of our choice to enroll them at GAC.
2 people found this helpful

Greater Atlanta Christian School 5

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
This is our 17th year at GACS. My daughter is a senior at UGA, going on to law school, and my son is a senior at GACS, most likely going to play a sport in college. Looking back over the years, We can honestly say it has been one of the best investments we have made for our children. They both are spiritually and academically prepared for the next step in their lives. It is not only a school it is a community of people who really care about one another. This being our last year we will miss this community more than words can express. GACS has molded our children into highly respected young adults, ready to make a difference and leave a mark in this world today. Thank-You GACS
3 people found this helpful

Greater Atlanta Christian School 4

Posted October 13, 2014
- a parent
Overall a very good school - math and science is not strong (top students inflate the numbers). We've had students at the school for 11 years now - very good learning environment - opportunity to get a quality education - no school is good/bad for everyone - it's still up to the parents and the family overall to make the educational process the best it can be for students - GACS provides that opportunity overall. K4-5 program probably one of the best, 6-12 better than most. Standardize tests are outstanding and there is no prep really done, so I think that speaks volumes (no teaching of shortcuts, etc). 100% of the graduating continue to post-secondary every year we've been there and at least 5-7 before we got there - very impressive. Be aware that a lot of the founders (25+ years) are retiring - expect a change of some sort (more times than not changes are not good when original leaders retire, but the next generation could possibly "correct" some of the short comings). I would recommend strong consideration; however, if you do not have a student who is strong in math and science, ask a lot of questions if that is important.
1 person found this helpful

Greater Atlanta Christian School 1

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
Robbed and Sad! We fell for the fa ade of a beautiful campus and top rated education standards. The truth is the academic curriculum is actually behind in most core courses and don t even come close to offering the level of rigor, critical thinking, or challenge other public schools are offering. I was very embarrassed and outraged to be told by my child s new PUBLIC (Charter System) school administration in North Fulton county that even though she has maintained a 98% grade point avg. all throughout school and scored very high on ITBS and CogAT that she still wasn t equipped enough to take advanced courses or to receive gifted services . So, instead she has to prove herself all over again because her time at GAC counts for nothing! Hard earned money and sacrifices were created to send our child to GAC only to come up SHORT!!! Thankfully, our daughter is very strong academically, so we re blessed that she will be able to close the gap within a year s time or less. What about others like us who thought because their child attended this very prestigious school, that they would be overly prepared for life outside the BUBBLE - just to find out other wise.
6 people found this helpful

Greater Atlanta Christian School 5

Posted August 06, 2014
- a parent
Greater Atlanta Christian School is a unique nurturing environment for a student to work toward academic excellence. We had two students graduate from GAC. Our daughter became a UGA Honors program student while our son became a student athlete on scholarship. Students can learn in a variety of ways. The families become well acquainted and we formed friendships that will last a lifetime. GAC strives to improve any weaknesses. Teachers are VERY encouraging!
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Greater Atlanta Christian School
1575 Indian Trail Lilburn Road, Norcross, GA  30093
(770) 243-2000
Last modified Greater Atlanta Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Greater Atlanta Christian School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 68 reviews. Top