Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
1,135 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 50 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wesleyan School 2

Posted June 15, 2016
- a community member
I attended Wesleyan from 6th to 12th grade and wish I had taken up my parents' offering to transfer schools. While I received a good education, the school plays "favorites" and turns a blind eye to bullying and other social issues. It's a homogeneous school with little effort placed on challenging students' worldviews or even exposing them to different cultures. Bible courses are strict and rigorous and teach flat and misguided theology. Some bible teachers, while steadfast in their views, will encourage discussion and debate, but most shut down opposing views immediately. I was recklessly teased because my Christian values weren't "good enough." As one other reviewer noted, most students aspire to attend UGA or other SEC schools. Little emphasis is placed on trying to get students to broaden their college options beyond the southeast. Wesleyan falls extremely short when compared to other Atlanta and metro-Atlanta schools.

Wesleyan School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted January 06, 2016
- a community member
Lots of entrenched faculty and staff members at the school. Who can blame them when they receive great benefits and free tuition for their children?

Wesleyan School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted January 06, 2016
- a community member
The headmaster has made it part of the school's branding to oppose homework. Students at Marist, St. Pius, and Lovett instead engage is a rigorous course of study that will propel them to post-secondary study at some of the leading institutions in the country.

Wesleyan School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 06, 2016
- a community member
How can you learn to work with those who are culturally different and have a different faith when all the faces on campus look like you (white)?

Wesleyan School 2

Posted January 06, 2016
- a community member
I know parents often have to make school decisions based upon geography and private school decisions depending upon the local school system. However, Weselyan is not worth the investment on a number of levels. The lower school enrollment has been in decline for sometime as parents opt for a good public school system in the area, and quite frankly opt-out of a education that will provide your children with a limited world view. Students may be drug tested and faculty and staff must sign a statement of faith to be employed by the school. If your are of Jewish, you need not apply. And while other Atlanta public schools send their graduates to colleges around the country, most Weselyan students aspire to the University of Georgia, a good school but academically no UVA or Duke.

Wesleyan School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted September 18, 2015
- a community member
We are increasingly sorry we chose this school and have invested what we have. Our children don't want to change schools, so we are leaving th at Wesleyan. But with a heavy heart. Decisions are made here that are arbitrary and senseless. There is tremendous nepotism which results in spouses of other employees having great job security, no matter unprofessional they are. Teachers kids who aren't particularly talented star in the plays and get the positions they want in sports. If you go to the school with complaints, they basically soft smile at you for as long as it takes for you to just give up and leave. The things that are great are really great, but there is so much that isn't great. And for 20 thousand a year, it should all be great.

Wesleyan School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 27, 2015
- a student
There are times when there is a lot of homework, but usually there's just enough for me to adequately learn the material

Wesleyan School 5

Posted May 27, 2015
- a student
This is a great school. The teachers & students all live out the Christian motto in everything they do. The academics are pretty rigorous but are fun at the same time, and the teachers are amazing. The sports program is pretty good for such a small school and even if I'm not best friends with everyone, everyone is nice to each other. It's a great place.

Wesleyan School 5

Posted January 04, 2015
- a parent
As the parent of two Wesleyan K-12 grads as well as a current student, I can say with conviction that this school offers an academically challenging path set in a landscape of amazing opportunities, relationships and life lessons. Our family is not "privileged"...we have sacrificed greatly to make these important years possible. Yet, our young adult children thank us regularly for giving them the experience of attending Wesleyan...and they both agree that of all the things they have learned in life, they "learned the best things there."

Wesleyan School 1

Posted August 21, 2014
- a parent
I agree with the parent who wrote that "Wesleyan puts its 'Christian' image and board members above their own students." No? Let's be honest. School leaders and board members don't care what parents have to say. The only thing they want to hear from parents is praises. There are many caring teachers, but few of them have academic credentials. The school has been heading in the wrong direction for a long time. For those parents who think Wesleyan is an amazing place, where do your children go to college?

Nearby schools

Wesleyan School
5405 Spalding Drive, Norcross, GA  30092
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. (770) 448-7640
Last modified Wesleyan School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top