Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kedron Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 551 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2014

I like the parental involvement and have really liked my childrens teachers. With that being said, there seems to have been a change in overall attitude (not for the good) when the change of principals occurred. I am not very impressed by the current administration and their abilities. A title before your name (Dr.) does not make you good at your job. I am glad that my child has finished her last day there today. It is sad to see such a great school with such a positive culture be ruined by the current administration.Many, many other parents agree,just ask them. PTO is absolutely wonderful at Kedron!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2014

Kedron is a great school if you only consider test scores. That's the mistake that I made when moving to this school district for that reason alone. I have since learned that there is so much more to an educational institution than their ability to score high on standardized tests. If your child is not a straight A student, they will get lost here. The teachers show no compassion at all (my child (has been there 4 years). No such plan to improve my child's performance. No positive communication to the parents regarding your child's progress. The choice card system is a joke. My child received a choice card mark for yawning, forgetting to bring scissors and not having a pencil...really??? I will be leaving this school after this year because the teachers show no real concern for my child as a whole, in my opinion. I get so much support from the after school program director and the tutor that we have...but NONE from the teachers at Kedron. I am very involved in my child's education and am not one of those parents to expect the teacher to do it all, but I DO expect to be met halfway by the teachers. Not going to happen at Kedron.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

I would have to agree with the previous post. While there are some wonderful teachers and the PTO is very active, the administration is completely inept. They really do not have the children's best interest at heart. The music teacher is a joke, the kids watch cartoons frequently in the class. The vice-principal is uncaring and spiteful...I honestly think she doesn't even like children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

Some of the teachers are not very caring especially for children that don't perform for their expectations! We were not impressed with last year principal. There is new proncipal this year so we will see how will be this year. My oldest son graduated from Peachtree city Elementary and we were much pleased with that school.The music teacher needs to go as my kids are also scaired to go to music class as apparently she screams at them too much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2012

Not a great school at all. Very unethical. I agree with the previous parent the Principal and Vice Principal are not friendly at all. You have to be extremely involved in the decsion making process regarding your child or anything goes with this school. All children are not treated fairly. This school decided to test my child although I firmly asked them not to and then cover it up. I have had to hire outside help to prove my findings of the school not implementing what is needed to ensure that my child is successful in the regular classroom setting. I am extremely dissapointed in this school system. A great deal of parents here have to put there children in Kumon just to get the basics that should be taught in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

Kedron does not have a kind, homey feel at all. The test scores are high and it feels like the teachers that we have are just "doing their job". The enrichment teacher is amazing but I doubt that the regular classroom teachers have a clue as to what my kids are interested in personally. My kids love music but dread the day that they go to music class. This teacher needs to be replaced. Kedron does not have a nurturing environment and the assistant principal is just plain mean. Not my favorite place to send my kids to school each day. Quite disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2012

There is great parent invovement at Kedron and that is key to your child's success there. However Kedron administration does not like to be questioned. Teachers do not seem to perform well with students who need a little extra help. The SST process is horrible and if you are not an involved parent your child could be put into a box. Unfortunately schools along with Kedron are not teaching children basic skills that are needed to succeed in math and reading anymore; therefore you have to resort to outside help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2011

Both our daughters had a fantastic experience at Kedron, the teachers were high quality and very caring, the school leadership very good. The curriculum probably is focused on the standardized tests but nonetheless has appropriately high standards. Our kids were learned a great deal and thrived at Kedron. Our only minor complaint was the constant fund raising partnerships with businesses, but I guess that is a reality of budget crunched school districts today. Overall highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2010

I am a former teacher (from another state), but writing this review as a parent. My child had a difficult transition when we moved to the district mid-year. This was primarily due to the fact that our last (very highly rated) school was actually far behind Kedron! The administration and staff went far out of their way to accommodate my child. The communication was great, and the staff values parental input. We are very pleased with the education our child has received thus far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2010

Kedron is an excellent school, with caring teachers and super involved parents. The atmosphere fosters parent involvement on a daily basis, not just for class parties. My son attends Kedron via the Georgia Choice Law, so we aren't part of the demographics which seemed to bother one of the parents commenting here. Many of the families in the district may be financially comfortable, but many are like us and doing the best we can with the economy. The difference is that at Kedron teachers and administration work to have entire families involved in the education process. Ms. Healy, our son's first grade teacher, took him from below average on every subject to excelling across the board. We could not be happier with the school. It's rated superior for a reason -- Kedron deserves it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

Kedron, like many public schools, teaches to the CRCT test. The school scores very highly on these tests because that is the teachers' sole focus from first day of school. In fact, field trips are scheduled for late spring - just before the school year ends - so as not to take away from the CRCT focus. The school can be a very stressful and demanding place - especially for elementary school age children. Scoring highly on the CRCT does not ensure that our children are getting a solid, well rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2010

I have found Kedron to be an amazing educational opportunity for my children. In addition, they have blossomed socially thanks to the climate of respect and friendship encouraged throughout the school. They have become more socially aware and work together with their classmates to provide for those less fortunate. They are encouraged to attain excellence in their studies, as well as their school and at home responsibilities. Their teachers have attended their extra-curricular events whether affiliated with the school or not. I find that the staff as a whole has taken the time to know my children not only by name, but as individuals. The librarians, Mrs. Ausborn and Mrs. Boren, know my son's reading preferences so well that they set aside reading material for him. I am continually impresed with the PE program and the way that the standards are taught through fun and unique games. What a special place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

Kedron is the best elementary school in PTC. Ms Bivings provides a loving environment and supports her teachers. Everyone is happy from the top down to the kids. A warm and loving academic environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2009

Kedron Elementary is a good school, but overrated. The teachers think so highly of themselves that they have convinced the community that they are the best. The fact is, students test high because of the area's demographics - the parents are mostly educated with highly paid jobs which we know is correlated to students' test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

Kedron's after school program is exceptionally well organized and fun. The teachers at Kedron are creative and caring and encourage student success. As with many schools, parents are encouraged to participate in all levels... event planning, fundraising, and in the classroom. Kedron's demographic pool creates a great student body resulting in top test scores. However, if you are seeking a school that deals well with children with learning difficulties, this is not the school for your child. The SST process is cumbersome, even with clinically diagnosed disorders, and the administration discourages classroom accommodations. Your child must actually fail to be eligible for an IEP. SST accommodations are not carried over from one year to the next. To complicate creating a parent/teacher team for these children, communication with teachers is restricted to handwritten note and phone calls. The administration seriously discourages parents to communicate via email making relating concerns difficult.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2008

I currently have 3 children that attend Kedron Elementary. Parental involvement is the key to your childs success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2007

Kedron is an awesome school. We relocated here 6 months ago and the transition was so easy for my daughter. Her teacher Mrs. Daniels is passionate about her success. She genuinely loves the children. The staff is extraordinary. I have paid private school in FL and Kedron supersedes them all. I highly recommend this school--it's the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Kedron Elem. The principal is extraordinary, the teachers are truly gifted, and the parents are dedicated to making this one of the best schools in Peachtree City.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

Kedron is a great school! Mrs. Hendrix was my little girls teacher and she absolutely adored her! We have been very pleased with the education our children have recieved in PTC. Also in response to the comment about the principal. . . I have found Ms. Bullock to be a very fair and honest listener.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

I have nine years of experience with Kedron with my two children. My daughter just finished. I have found it to be an excellent school. I never experienced problems with administration, although I never had an issue. The administration allows parent input into class placement, which is somewhat unusual. Parent involvement is exceptional. In my experience, my own involvement was very helpful in building
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

97 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

98 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

97 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

93 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

93 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

93 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 44%
Black 14% 37%
Hispanic 12% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 Kedron Dr
Peachtree City, GA 30269
Phone: (770) 486-2700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Paul Lutheran School
Peachtree City, GA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT