Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Perry Primary School

Public | PK-1 | 517 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2014

Five of my kids went thru this school I had to pull them out to home School, the teachers spend they day gossiping about the Parents more than teaching they are not a good roll model The staff is racists and cruel with the kids worst school I ever seen And the school board doesn't do anything because the friend of the friend Is always pulling it out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

It is the best school I've ever been connected with and I've already had 4 kids of my own that went through school. One of the most important good parts of this school is the principal. He is always enthusiastic and gives his teachers so many "pats on the back" for their work. And they are great and truly deserve recognition. He is genuinely interested in each student and the children know this. It's quite easy for others to see. I wish my granddaughter could continue in this school for many, many more years.


Posted December 22, 2009

My son started at Perry Primary and had a miserable first grade experience. The staff was not concerned with my son's wellbeing or his education. Thankfully we moved overseas where he has excelled and surpassed our expectations in the areas of physics and mathematics.Hopefully, Perry Primary has changed since we left the community several years ago. Boards such as this did not exist then.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2009

I have a child here and the new principal is great he cares for the children as the assistance.The teachers are great .My child is getting help without my begging for them to test .They did it and are giving my child what he needs to be succesful.The previous principal wasn't intrested .It's so much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2006

Have had three children attend this school over the years....Older school that has been renovated & updated so it is now great. Are a lot of little ones under one roof, but class sizes are great. New principal coming '07-08 so that should improve things even more. Teachers we have had are FABULOUS and it's been a near perfect experience. LOTS of parental involvement. My children have always LOVED IT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

I have one child in Perry Primary and I have been extremely impressed with the staff and their ambition in teaching all children and their well being while in their hands. The Teachers are very attentive to their kids in all areas of activities and learning. Doors are always open for parent participation in the childs education and safety is a delight feeling for there is a staff member with in feet of every exit or area a child could go. I would recommend the school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2005

I have one child enrolled and another two scheduled to attend in the next few years. So far everything has been exceptional. My child has attended kindergarten and is now in 1st grade. Learned to read midway through kindergarten and is now reading at a 5th grade level. All the teachers i have encountered are friendly and helpful in all areas of a childs education. One criticism that i have would be to have some accelerated learning like 'focus' that is in the elementary system to allow for him to be stimulated more. I feel it is one of the best public schools in th region.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2004

This is not a good school. Leadership is poor and the teachers are not good examples for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2004

I have a little girl attending Pre K at Perry Primary. She loves attending school I'm glad because I don't have to worry about her much when I'm not there. I really appreciate that they let you come in and be involved in what's going on in your child's class. I participated in different things to help the teacher's out. I'm just really satisfied with Perry Primary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2004

I am not a parent, but I am currently enrolled in a teacher education program at an area college. I was placed at Perry Primary recently. I found the school to be exceptional. The teachers were highly qualified and knowledegable. If I were a parent I would be delighted to send my child to this school!


Posted September 1, 2003

i would never send my child to this school! too many students under one roof for such young children. building is very outdated and is in the middle of a dangerous area of town! i took my child out within the first hour of the first day of school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

190 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

190 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

190 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 44%
Black 45% 37%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Elgin Mayfield
Fax number
  • (478) 988-6166

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1500 Sunshine Ave
Perry, GA 31069
Phone: (478) 988-6160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT