Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Praise Academy

Private | PK-12 | 350 students

A Christ centered education that inspires Love, Life, and Learning

 

Living in Powder Springs

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $115,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 27 ratings
2013:
Based on 19 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

54 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

I love the God centered atmosphere at the school. They treat the kids with dignity and respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

My 5yr old son looks forward to going to Praise Academy each day! The teachers and staff are so full of the spirit of God that lets me know that he is being given a foundation full of love! Love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Awesome school! This is my children's second year at Praise. Leadership is amazing! They truly have the students best interest at heart! They have a good balance in developing academically, while maintaining a Christ-Centered environment. Great family atmosphere ... Even with the significant growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

This is my family first year here at Praise and we are very highly satisfied. We will be returning next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Praise is a great school. My daughter loves going to school there and is learning so much this year. She has made some good friends. They are working on improving the school and have many fundraisers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2014

My son has attended Praise for years. It has been wonderful to have confirmed in his senior year that he has truly received the education that I thought he was getting. He applied to three schools, Emory University, Georgia State University, and Kennesaw State University. He has gotten into all three schools. I am thankful. He has been blessed with an awesome education from Praise Academy and a godly foundation to take with him to college and into life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2014

Real review. Be very skeptical of perfect reviews of any kind, nothing is perfect, definitely not PA. Overall the school was ok. Leadership from the principal and assistant principal was good, but that didn't always show with the teachers. What was disheartening was that the students (in my child's class) were very mean and unfriendly. A prevalent theme at small private schools. Kids tend to be in the same class with each other for years and are not welcoming of new students. Teachers did little or nothing to address the issue. The curriculum is good, but that goes out the window if you have a child that feels isolated by peers. Overall a school should have a good curriculum and good social structure. The latter was missing. There is a lot of nepotism, and a lot of teachers are not college educated/certified. Parent participation is encouraged, but not really welcomed. I always felt tolerated. If you are the type of parent that wants to drop your kids off at school, and be hands off, and your child is low maintenance-middle of the road (ADD medicated), then you may like the school. But if you want to be an active parent and you have an active child, PA may not be for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2013

Absolutely LOVE Praise Academy!! Fantastic , school, teachers, staff and administration!! The BEST around! We look forward to many more years with this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2013

Our family found the school through word of mouth. It really is a Christ centered school but is academically challenging. It is clear the teachers love the children. Small class sizes help the teachers to monitor each child and communicate with parents. Extremely happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2013

Praise Academy is the best kept secret in Cobb County! The atmosphere is unbelievably friendly and halls are filled with the love of Christ. Every teacher and staff person LOVE our children as they invest in this generation for the kingdom. I strongly recommend Praise Academy and your greatest days are ahead of you! Oh and btw, the cafeteria is AMAZING!


Posted November 3, 2013

Praise Academy is a great combination of family like atmosphere and high academic learning. They truly work with every child individually, placing them exactly where they need to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2013

Not the best of schools for a christian school. They are very 'groupy' as in there are cliques maybe because most family members work here and their kids and grand-kids attend this school so the rest of the kids are treated like outsiders. My son attended for 2 years and for a christian school, they sure don't have a christian attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

This school has been a blessing to not just our children but to our entire family. Although the academics were rock solid when we enrolled our children, Praise continues to raise the bar each and every year. For a dual accredited school the tuition cannot be neat, The teachers and staff, from administration down to maintenance, are committed to the principles of this school... "Christ First, Self Worth, Academics" ... and nothing speaks higher than the fantastic examples that they all set for the students. I have a real peace knowing that my children are in a school where Christ is the foundation, and knowing that when they receive their diplomas, they will be positioned to enroll and be accepted in any college that they desire. I would (and do) recommend this school to any parent looking for a great Christian school with unrivaled academic opportunies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

It is refreshing to work in a place in which I work alongside other staff members with the unified purpose of teaching children to walk in His ways. We are not perfect and every day brings its own challenges. I know, however, that my fellow teachers are truly my brothers and sisters in Christ that I can call on when I need encouragement. What an honor it is to serve with them each day. We acknowledge that God is our CEO and that He is in charge of everything we are doing.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2013

We decided to pull our child out of the GA lottery Pre-K program and enroll him here. The differences were obvious right off the bat. At Praise we receive daily progress reports, plus he has a weekly reading log and a small amount of homework. This school has already made huge strives with our son in a little over a month. We feel truly blessed to have found Praise Academy. From the moment we walked on campus you could feel the love and dedication the entire faculty and staff has for the children. I look forward to a long relationship with this school. Plus I LOVE the new cafeteria, they really hit it out of the park!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

This school has grown so much and they are doing everything they can to provide the facilities needed. Great teachers, athletics, ministry opportunities, extra-curricular activities, after-school program... The list goes on. I am thankful for them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

Praise focuses on Christ, Self-Worth and Academics. It is a small school with a kind, family environment. My son was successful in a previous school environment with strong academics, but he was miserable and it took a toll on his self esteem. Here at Praise, he has found a school family and is growing more confident everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

Praise Academy has been the best decision we have made for our children. All 3 of our children have been at Praise. It is the most loving, caring, educational environment. It has been an extension of our home for our children. It continues to grow and expand in it's opportunities. Atheletics has grown to an amazing height! We couldn't be more pleased with Praise, it's faculty and it's administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

Praise Academy is a close-knit family with values that mirror our own. We chose Praise because of the Christian principles and great education for our boys. The classroom size (average 15) is a plus compared to the large sizes in the public school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2013

My school is Praise Academy in Powder Springs, GA. My son has attended Praise since 6th grade and this is his 3rd year there. He absolutely loves this school and is excited to go there everyday! This school is a blessing to our family both academically and spirtually. Praise Academy provides quality education to students and are accredited by SACS and ASCI. The teachers are very dedicated to their students and demonstrate a commitment to excellence in education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 44%
Black 26% 37%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Home School
Public School
Other Christian Schools
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 98% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of West Georgia
Kennesaw State University
Georgia Highlands
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • many other online languages offered
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Joe White (Administrator)
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACE
  • ACSI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • many other online languages offered
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • tackle football MH & HS
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Chess Club
  • Drama club
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
350
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
375
Students typically come from these schools
Home School
Public School
Other Christian Schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of West Georgia
Kennesaw State University
Georgia Highlands
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 98%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4052 Hiram Lithia Springs Rd
P.O. Box 13
Powder Springs, GA 30127
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 943-2484

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Youth Christian School
Powder Springs, GA




Compton Elementary School
Powder Springs, GA


J. A. Dobbins Middle School
Powder Springs, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT