Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Praise Academy

Private | PK-12 | 350 students

A Christ centered education that inspires Love, Life, and Learning

 

Living in Powder Springs

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $115,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 27 ratings
2013:
Based on 19 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

54 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 11, 2013

Praise has been a blessing to our family! My children have attended for 3 years. During this time our children have grown academically, but more importantly spiritually in a closer relationship with Christ. We have seen them flourish in ways that would not have been possible in a public school, or other private school. It is transparent that the administration and staff truly care about my children and their growth. Parents that volunteer to help with extracurricular activities and sports are also friendly and dedicated in the giving of their time and resources. I could not be more happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2013

I love Praise...they really care about the students! I have one child that is going on his 6th year there and another child about to start. I am so excited about having both of my children there!! The staff is great!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2013

This will be our 4th year and everyone and everything has been excellent. Would highly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2013

I am so pleased that my granddaughter has the opportunity to attend Praise. The teachers and staff work extremely hard to help her. She is progressing, and we are so thankful for the time and effort everyone there gives her. They encourage, uplift, praise, and urge her to work to her potential. The school provides exracurricular activities for her that she just loves. She is encouraged to try many different things, I love the teachers, staff, and especially the administrators who always take the time to seek what might be best for each student and encourage each student to work to his/her potential. I am SO grateful that my granddaughter is able to attend Praise. The school is such a blessing to our family in so many ways. The best part is that she is in a Christian environment and she is always shown the Christ-centered way to approach her life. We are very happy with Praise Academy.


Posted July 9, 2013

If you're looking for an "elite" private school education with a perfect faculty/staff then don't come to Praise Academy. If you are looking for a Christ-centered, Biblical worldview education and want to partner with the faculty/staff to educate your child(ren) then Praise is exactly where you should be. This will be our 7th year and we couldn't be happier. My oldest graduated with high honors and continues to excel in a state university. My youngest who is in high school is excelling & thriving at Praise as well. Although academics are important, the main reason we were drawn to and remain at Praise is that they make every effort to abide by their philosophy "Christ first, Self-Worth, Academics". It is a blessing to have a faculty/staff that care about my children's spiritual growth above academics & athletics. We couldn't ask for a better, more well-rounded education for our children! Grateful to God for Praise!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2013

I had a very bad experience at this school. I never felt like I fit in. Every other public & private school I went to I had a better experience with.


Posted December 4, 2012

Best school in the area, hands down. My children attended two other Christian schools before we found Praise Academy. It feels like home. Family-like atmosphere, God-centered, Caring teachers, strong curriculum, well-run with no debt, and my two children LOVE it! A well-deserved 5 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2012

This is my daughters seventh year at Praise and we could not be happier with any other school. She has grown, learned and been taught the word of God with love every day and we are so thankful for that. The administration and teachers are so wonderful they are all full of joy, happiness, love and are always so cheerful. That is the first thing my daughter sees every morning when she is dropped off is smiles, good mornings and I m so glad you could be with use today it going to be a wonderful day . I don't worry about my daughter because I know in my heart she is being very well taken care of even if she just needed that hug in the middle of the day to made it to the end of the day. I know she'll come home with a smile on her beautiful face and the love of Jesus in her heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

Great school and staff. This is our 1st year there after attending other Christian School. My children love it... unless they have secretly swapped my kids with droids. It is obvious that this school has remained and outreach that is in the business of educating. Others may be a little too much business that happens to educate. I haven't met a staff member that it doesn't show that their heart is in it. Oh yeah...P.E. EVERY DAY. My children are able to stay more focused and get excercise. Keep doing what you are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

We love Praise Academy. It is such a family atmosphere where the Whites are like the loving parents and they really get to know all the kids. Our daughter loves the school. It was and is the perfect fit for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

A great school. The teachers are well qualified and caring individuals. My daughter is learning at a fast pace in an atmosphere where god comes first and Christian values are taught along with the curriculum. Leadership is involved in the process and they keep the parents informed and involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2010

I have 3 boys who attend what used to be TLC and is now called Praise Academy. They have been there since they were 3 years old. The principal Mrs. White is the most wonderful loving, strong, smart and dedicated persons I have ever encountered in my experience as a student growing up and through college. This school is a wonderful Christian school where the teachers know your child, love your child and teach your child not only an above average education but to learn about God and the Bible builds values, morals and respect my children will have as a foundation for their character for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

The best. They love children and want them to succeed in a Christ-centered environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

Great school, all 3 children attended from k-3 thru 12th grade. Fully acsi and sacs accreditation, new administrator coupled with energetic principal give children a special self worth with academic excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 44%
Black 26% 37%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Home School
Public School
Other Christian Schools
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 98% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of West Georgia
Kennesaw State University
Georgia Highlands
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • many other online languages offered
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Joe White (Administrator)
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACE
  • ACSI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • many other online languages offered
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • tackle football MH & HS
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Chess Club
  • Drama club
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
350
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
375
Students typically come from these schools
Home School
Public School
Other Christian Schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of West Georgia
Kennesaw State University
Georgia Highlands
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 98%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4052 Hiram Lithia Springs Rd
P.O. Box 13
Powder Springs, GA 30127
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 943-2484

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Youth Christian School
Powder Springs, GA




Compton Elementary School
Powder Springs, GA


J. A. Dobbins Middle School
Powder Springs, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT