Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lovinggood Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, July 28, 2014

Lovinggood is a great school.the teachers have advanced classes which not many other middle schools have. my daughters science teacher was on maternity leave and the school should have found a permanent replacement instead of a different teacher every week. they have wonder full drama and beta clubs. my daughter loved how they DO NOT wear uniforms. But don't worry there is a dress code regulation. I assure your child will not be wearing daisy dukes in this school, they have a high integrity. Just make sure you check the dress code before buying back to school clothes. Although the overall school was great there are some things that they could improve on, bullying for one the principal has imposed a no tolerance rule, anonymous reports but as I am sure you know this a very difficult time especially if you are a teenage girl. Also there is a bit of a racial issue that the principal either does not know about which I doubt or just dose not care. for instance when my daughter was in the seventh grade a white girl said something about an African American girl and she was 'jumped". In conclusion I would recommend this school as long as you tell your child what to do and what not to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2014

I think this school has a bullying problem that if not taken care of, will send it into a downspiral. Not impressed as of yet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2014

My son is in 6th grade at Lovinggood and it has been a great experience for both him and us as parents. I think the administration is good there, but very strict; maybe not to some people's liking, but it works for us. There are a lot of programs and activities available to the students. It is a safe and competitive academically challenging school for kids to go. They have a very active PTSA. The teachers really care about the students, and most have tutoring time available before or after school which is offered FREE for the students. We love LMS!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2014

At this school, there is very little interaction between kids not in your class. You must have a hall pass to go anywhere, and the administrators have to know where you are at all times. They are so busy attempting to keep the bad kids in line (which they fail at) and maintaining their image, that the rest of us who follow the rules suffer. Also, if your previous school doesn't have an advanced program, expect a fight getting placed correctly.


Posted May 15, 2013

This School is horrible teachers do not teach at all! My son failed his first year and he is excelent at aschool I asked him what he learned today and he siad he dont know he usually made all A's in Elementary School!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 15, 2012

In our daughter's three years at Lovinggood, she's enjoyed a solid learning experience. The great faculty does a fine job in both prepping students for the next level and keeping teens and tweens focused. And I have to say the music program is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2012

Great School!! Glad to have a student there again. My 6th grader is adjusting well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2012

Great staff & teachers. Many sports & clubs, good music programs. Takes learning seriously. The rules are quite strict, though. You have to get your water bottle "nurse approved" or else you can't have it, and you can't open the bottle before you take it to the nurse. If your phone/electronic device is seen in your pocket or it falls on the floor, you get a referral, whether you were using it or not.


Posted July 3, 2012

Lovinggood is a great school. The teachers are very nice and they are willing to give you any extra tutoring when needed. The students are also very kind. For the most part Lovinggood is a great school, but like other schools it has problems. One problem is that it has too many rules. For example they only allow you to bring water to school even if you bring your own lunch. At one point they would not even let you bring water to school. Another bad thing about Lovinggood was that the lunches were bad and sometimes they would have hair in it. Last but not least if your phone falls out of your pocket you get an automatic referral. The administrators say they just don't want to see your phone. It does not matter if you are using it or not. I find it extremely unfair. Besides those problems everything else is good.


Posted September 26, 2011

Lovinggood has been a great middle school for my kids. We benefit from teachers who push for excellence, are open to parent involvement, and implement stringent policies to help establish a good learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2010

Lovinggood is amazing!! The teachers are strict but fair, and can be very lively when they want. The rules are also fair, even though many people complain. I really love this school and will miss everyone next year!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 1, 2010

First of al, let me say that the Band teacher rocks!! He is excellent!! Lovinggood is a great school, but they tend to kick someone out if they don't have enough room, like me. but the teachers have great goals and I get good grades because of them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2009

The only thing stopping this from getting a 5 is how often they give progress reports, which is like, 4 a quarter, not including the report card.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2009

This is our first year and we love it. The teachers are engaging and Mr. Boland the principal is warm, friendly and attentive to the needs of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

As the previous parent stated, Excellence, Honor, and Service are more than just words. The level of involvement from the parents is exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

Excellens, Honner, And Servise is more than just words.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

I go to this school! It rocks! The school is only 3 years old!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 5, 2008

My grandson has attended Lovinggood since it opened, and we have both been pleased with the comminunication between us and teachers, and committment of administration to maintain order, as well as work with us parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

I love going to it and my teachers are great no matter what anyone says i think it's GREAT! We always have fun learning and it's not uptight so it's a nice enviorment being surrounded by your friends.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2008

LMS is a great middle school with a strong focus on learning! My daughter just completed the 6th grade and had wonderful and well communicating teachers! The principal is not a warm fuzzy at all! I think she intimidates many parents, including me! The staff of the school are very friendly and helpful and the majority of the students are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

462 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

454 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

464 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

468 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

468 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

439 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

432 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

434 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

445 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

443 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

410 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

409 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

411 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

414 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

394 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 44%
Black 32% 37%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Elizabeth Wilson

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3825 Luther Ward Rd
Powder Springs, GA 30127
Phone: (678) 331-3015

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Trinity Chapel Academy
Powder Springs, GA



HoneyFern School
Marietta, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT