Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Powder Springs, GA
Students enrolled: 1,223

4 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


35 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lovinggood Middle School 3

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
My child entire 6th grade was a waste. She learned absolutely nothing. The principal is distant and seemingly more concern about her image than her students education.

Lovinggood Middle School 4

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
Lovinggood is a great school.the teachers have advanced classes which not many other middle schools have. my daughters science teacher was on maternity leave and the school should have found a permanent replacement instead of a different teacher every week. they have wonder full drama and beta clubs. my daughter loved how they DO NOT wear uniforms. But don't worry there is a dress code regulation. I assure your child will not be wearing daisy dukes in this school, they have a high integrity. Just make sure you check the dress code before buying back to school clothes. Although the overall school was great there are some things that they could improve on, bullying for one the principal has imposed a no tolerance rule, anonymous reports but as I am sure you know this a very difficult time especially if you are a teenage girl. Also there is a bit of a racial issue that the principal either does not know about which I doubt or just dose not care. for instance when my daughter was in the seventh grade a white girl said something about an African American girl and she was 'jumped". In conclusion I would recommend this school as long as you tell your child what to do and what not to do.


Lovinggood Middle School 1

Posted June 26, 2014
- a parent
I think this school has a bullying problem that if not taken care of, will send it into a downspiral. Not impressed as of yet.

Lovinggood Middle School 5

Posted March 24, 2014
- a parent
My son is in 6th grade at Lovinggood and it has been a great experience for both him and us as parents. I think the administration is good there, but very strict; maybe not to some people's liking, but it works for us. There are a lot of programs and activities available to the students. It is a safe and competitive academically challenging school for kids to go. They have a very active PTSA. The teachers really care about the students, and most have tutoring time available before or after school which is offered FREE for the students. We love LMS!!

Lovinggood Middle School 3

Posted January 31, 2014
- a community member
At this school, there is very little interaction between kids not in your class. You must have a hall pass to go anywhere, and the administrators have to know where you are at all times. They are so busy attempting to keep the bad kids in line (which they fail at) and maintaining their image, that the rest of us who follow the rules suffer. Also, if your previous school doesn't have an advanced program, expect a fight getting placed correctly.


Lovinggood Middle School 1

Posted May 15, 2013
- a teacher
This School is horrible teachers do not teach at all! My son failed his first year and he is excelent at aschool I asked him what he learned today and he siad he dont know he usually made all A's in Elementary School!

Lovinggood Middle School 5

Posted October 15, 2012
- a parent
In our daughter's three years at Lovinggood, she's enjoyed a solid learning experience. The great faculty does a fine job in both prepping students for the next level and keeping teens and tweens focused. And I have to say the music program is outstanding.

Lovinggood Middle School 5

Posted August 21, 2012
- a parent
Great School!! Glad to have a student there again. My 6th grader is adjusting well.


Lovinggood Middle School 4

Posted July 12, 2012
- a community member
Great staff & teachers. Many sports & clubs, good music programs. Takes learning seriously. The rules are quite strict, though. You have to get your water bottle "nurse approved" or else you can't have it, and you can't open the bottle before you take it to the nurse. If your phone/electronic device is seen in your pocket or it falls on the floor, you get a referral, whether you were using it or not.

Lovinggood Middle School 3

Posted July 03, 2012
- a community member
Lovinggood is a great school. The teachers are very nice and they are willing to give you any extra tutoring when needed. The students are also very kind. For the most part Lovinggood is a great school, but like other schools it has problems. One problem is that it has too many rules. For example they only allow you to bring water to school even if you bring your own lunch. At one point they would not even let you bring water to school. Another bad thing about Lovinggood was that the lunches were bad and sometimes they would have hair in it. Last but not least if your phone falls out of your pocket you get an automatic referral. The administrators say they just don't want to see your phone. It does not matter if you are using it or not. I find it extremely unfair. Besides those problems everything else is good.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lovinggood Middle School
3825 Luther Ward Rd, Powder Springs, GA  30127
(678) 331-3015
Last modified Lovinggood Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lovinggood Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top