Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Still Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 25, 2014

The Assistant Principal at Still has been wonderful to our kids and very accommodating to us parents! Job well done!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2014

Still is a good school overall. One of my children was bullied for 2 years - actually being hit. The principle never called me. The assistant principle only called after I called multiple times. I was told the other parents were contacted to find out that it never happened. I saw the parent at an event, they had no idea what had occurred. I don't have much trust since then. I saw one little boy one day that was telling a friend he got hit in the head with a rock at recess. Teachers need to watch the kids more closely at recess - period! They need to get more proactive about bullying, with seminars or guests to come in and talk to the kids...they can do more. Kids will be kids, but kids should be safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2014

We have two boys at Still and a third starting next year. The teachers have been fantastic, very caring, close to the students and they have passion to see my kids grow and learn. The parents are involved and willing to give their time and resources. We are very happy at Still!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

PTA President does not believe in ADHD. He believes a child's behavior is a choice; that "it's all in their head." He also believes if a child that exhibits ADHD behavior, that it's the parent's poor parenting skills that got them that way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

Still has been amazing! Both of my kiddos have learning disabilities and they have made great strides there. They truly care about the needs of my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

Excellent school with a lot of parent involvement. My daughter came in at 1st grade and now is in 5th. What is great is how her 4th school teacher, who she loved, is her 5th. That is by design. The school has automated phone messages for special events, a newsletter, a message system, etc. to keep parents in the loop. If there is any concern its security as this is an older campus and not designed like new schools are (like a prison) to help ensure safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

We moved to Still this year, and up until now, my daughter has been at one of Cobb County's top schools (rated 10) from K-4th grade. So I was very nervous to switch her since we LOVED her old school. I have been very pleased with the administration, they are very involved, friendly and helpful. Her teacher is amazing, we both just love her. They do an excellent job of leading and empowering the kids to do well on their own. My ONLY disappointment so far has been that she has been looking forward to her 5th grade trip since she was in 1st grade, when her big sister went out of town for her 5th grade trip and had the time of her life. This school does not do an overnight 5th grade trip. :( It surprised and disappointed me. But luckily everything else about the school has been fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2013

Yesterday's negative post could not be any further from the truth! Sounds like a parent who is not getting his or her way! The staff, from administration, to teachers, to support all give 110% for the students of Still. Many teachers put in 12 hour days and meet on the weekends to make sure that their lessons are the best they can be. The Principal is truly an advocate for the kids and keeps the spirit and atmosphere of the building positive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

Fantastic teachers, very well run. Teachers are advocates for the students. Great scores and I see students very involved in their studies. Seems to be a shinning school among others in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

Not a fan. Lackluster teachers and incapable administration. Glad we're finished with Still. Look at surrounding schools before enrolling here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

The school is great. We have a second grader who has been at Still since Kindergarten. We've had our ups and downs; I've notice the only time we have difficulties is when I don't provide enough time communicating with the teacher and homework time with my daughter. It's important to have parent envolvement and a supportive relationship with the teachers. It's an excellent community to raise a family. The school is one of the reasons we picked our home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2010

I am a substitute teacher for Cobb county Schools. I have subbed numerous times at Still, and I think that this school has a lot to offer. Most of the teachers I have interacted with seem caring and the kids are well behaved. I don't know about the administration, but the PTA seems to be very hands on. Overall, I would be happy to send my own child here!


Posted May 7, 2010

Check the dates, any glowing reviews on here are about the prior administration. The new administration struggle to handle everyday school activities. No real vision. Kids just prep for the CRCT test. Teacher morale is low. A couple of great teachers, the rest should retirel All I can say is a school is judged by the principal. Hint-hint. You've been warned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2009

I think Still is a great school. There is plenty of parent involvement which is great and the new principal makes sure she is seen and not just in her office. The school has a family feel about it, not the normal sterile feel that you get in many schools. My daughter came from a very small school and I was worried about the transition, but she has done great and really loves it here. The teacher she had this past year was wonderful and I'm looking forward to more years here at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

My son has been at still for 2 years now. It has been a bad experience both years and can't wait for the end of the school year to transfer him to private school. The teachers do nothing but complain about his behavior, but when asked about his academics, he's a straight A student. How does a straight A student cause so much rucus in a classroom without falling behind somewhere. Not a pleasant environment for all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

This is our second year at Still.. we have been so impressed with the staff and love the parent involvement... we will be here for several more years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2008

my son has been here going on 4 years great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

My daughter and son attended Still this year coming from being in private school all their lives. I was really worried about the transition, but I must say that I know that my husband and I made the right move. My daughter had loving teachers ( Ms Gabrielle and Ms Jones) who helped my daughter through some learning challenges. I love Still>
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2007

My daughter has been at Still for 5 years now. We have had nothing but a positive experience the whole time. We have always had excellent teachers, and there is a strong family atmosphere at the school. Class sizes are good (we've had as few as 11 kids in a class, up to 24). The administration is fabulous! I wouldn't be anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2007

My child attended Still Elementary for 5 years. Overall the Principal's leadership was good. Teacher quality varied pretty widely - we were lucky enough to have excellent teachers. Zero extracurricular activities other than Scouts. Parent involvement was high while we were there. Safety and discipline were excellent. No bullying policy was strictly enforced. Overall grade = B.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

113 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

113 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

113 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

110 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

110 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

110 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

155 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 44%
Black 23% 37%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

870 Casteel Rd
Powder Springs, GA 30127
Phone: (678) 594-8287

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Kemp Elementary School
Powder Springs, GA



Trinity Chapel Academy
Powder Springs, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT