Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Still Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2016
- a parent
My daughter has made a great deal of progress in One year in Still's DHH program.

Still Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2015
- a community member
Fantastic school!! We have been very happy at Still Elementary School. Wonderful staff & administration!

Still Elementary School 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
Just completed our first year at Still and it has been a great year! Very organized staff, parent communication, attentiveness to the children's needs is high, parent-involvement and presence is huge. I love that any time I am at the school there are "watch dogs" (parents) volunteering. I feel that my child is in a safe environment and that he is learning socially and academically. A+!!

Still Elementary School 4

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
This is our second year at Still. Overall, we are quite pleased. Administration is very involved and communicative, and for the most part the teachers are fantastic - very involved and wanting to work towards making the kids be the best they can be. If I had to find an area to fault, it would be the music program. My children *hate* their music class, and they are music lovers to the core! I asked them why and they said that the teacher is mean and that most of the time class involves marching around the classroom the entire period. The music teacher seems to be very easily irritated by children and sets up arbitrary "rules" for her class that make no sense (the latest on is that kids apparently are not allowed to wear knee socks to class. Very strange). In all, great school, but the music program needs work.

Still Elementary School 5

Posted March 25, 2014
- a parent
The Assistant Principal at Still has been wonderful to our kids and very accommodating to us parents! Job well done!

Still Elementary School 3

Posted March 24, 2014
- a parent
Still is a good school overall. One of my children was bullied for 2 years - actually being hit. The principle never called me. The assistant principle only called after I called multiple times. I was told the other parents were contacted to find out that it never happened. I saw the parent at an event, they had no idea what had occurred. I don't have much trust since then. I saw one little boy one day that was telling a friend he got hit in the head with a rock at recess. Teachers need to watch the kids more closely at recess - period! They need to get more proactive about bullying, with seminars or guests to come in and talk to the kids...they can do more. Kids will be kids, but kids should be safe.

Still Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2014
- a parent
We have two boys at Still and a third starting next year. The teachers have been fantastic, very caring, close to the students and they have passion to see my kids grow and learn. The parents are involved and willing to give their time and resources. We are very happy at Still!

Still Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
Still has been amazing! Both of my kiddos have learning disabilities and they have made great strides there. They truly care about the needs of my kids.

Still Elementary School 5

Posted September 25, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school with a lot of parent involvement. My daughter came in at 1st grade and now is in 5th. What is great is how her 4th school teacher, who she loved, is her 5th. That is by design. The school has automated phone messages for special events, a newsletter, a message system, etc. to keep parents in the loop. If there is any concern its security as this is an older campus and not designed like new schools are (like a prison) to help ensure safety.

Still Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
We moved to Still this year, and up until now, my daughter has been at one of Cobb County's top schools (rated 10) from K-4th grade. So I was very nervous to switch her since we LOVED her old school. I have been very pleased with the administration, they are very involved, friendly and helpful. Her teacher is amazing, we both just love her. They do an excellent job of leading and empowering the kids to do well on their own. My ONLY disappointment so far has been that she has been looking forward to her 5th grade trip since she was in 1st grade, when her big sister went out of town for her 5th grade trip and had the time of her life. This school does not do an overnight 5th grade trip. :( It surprised and disappointed me. But luckily everything else about the school has been fantastic.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Still Elementary School
870 Casteel Rd, Powder Springs, GA  30127
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (678) 594-8287
Last modified Still Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top