Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Compton Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, August 25, 2014

My children have been going to Compton for the last 12 years and during this time I have had great experiences. Liz Murphy does a great job with the parents and the teachers my children have had have been great. Haskins, Ballenger, Luttrell, Hamilton, Carey, Brown...great teachers. The only reason for not giving a 5 star rating is that some of these great teachers are no longer there. The have a great drama team that heads of great performances with the students. How the rating is that low is beyond me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2014

I was weary about sending my kids here. With such bad reviews. At the end of the day any school is as good as your parental involvement. If parents are not involved in your kids schools then the rating is always going to be low. This school tries very hard to go above and beyond. From Movie nights, school dances, end of year field trips, Target (the gifted program for Cobb county) the school rocks. Sure there are things they could improve upon like that rude lady at the front desk, but the school as a whole is great. I've had three kids attend this school. One of them went years ago when it had a much higher rating but the experience has been the same. Will still had a kid there this school year 2014-2015.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2014

Do your kid a favor and send them somewhere else! There are only a few good teachers here. About 1 per grade level. Pretty unfortunate odds that your child will get one that doesn't care much about your family. There's an extreme lack of parental involvement at this school, but you can't blame the parents too much..the principle and secretary go to great lengths to discourage any kind of parental involvement. The PTA is run solely by staff, which is not how it should be! It should be 50/50 staff and parents. For the sake of this school, I certainly hope they get a new principle soon. The current one has no idea what she's doing and needs to step away from her post.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2012

Possibly THE worst school ever! My daughter attend Compton K back in 2010-2011 school year coming from a wonderful school which had her as a star student. In one school year Compton managed to not only slow down her progress, but also managed to put her in the EIP program which followed her to the next schools she is attending now. With the No child left behind law and Compton's failing to meet CRCT scores for four years straight. The Board of Education allowed her to transfer to a wonderful school of our choice and she is doing so wonderful there, even getting out of that EIP program. Sadly to say under the same B.O.E rules along with transportation, busing will not be available for her this 2012-2013 school year, so it's either take her to and from her wonderful school or send her back to Compton where busing would be available so, we definitely chose to commute back and forth everyday for the next year rather than send her back to Compton. If you don't have a choice, find one and if there is no choice...make one and please, do not send your child to a school that doesn't care! "A CONCERNED PARENT!!!!!!!!"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

Totally hate this school.....they treat the kids by the color of their skin. If you ever in Compton zone...MOVE! Education is not first, they are not fair and the Principal doesnt get involved in anything! This school is the the WORSE! There are some good teachers, but the Admin is horrible...


Posted October 23, 2011

This school was a total nightmare. I had my special needs son at this school, and it was obvious from the start that the principal and administrator did not want to be bothered with my son. My son has Autism, and they never had a routine in place for my son from the first day of school. Because of this my son would have very, very mild outburst, which they labeled as "disrupting the class". It also didnt help that this school is on the needs improvemnent list for special needs education. The principal went so far as to try to prove that we didnt live in the district, but never got proof. The principal even sent a sheriff and a social worker to our address to see if we lived there, while telling us that this is "normal" practice. I had to put my son in a new school to get him away from this. I would not recommend this school to anyone, especially to a family with a special needs child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

I love this school. The teachers and administration are very approachable. They have a very good and involved PTSA. The coaches are very committed in every sport. Also a good mix of kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2011

Review Compton's overall "scores" via this website: The proof is in the pudding. Compton E.S. is Powder Springs's low-income elementary school. A large % of it comprised by transient student body. By ethnic makeup, students are mostly African-American & Hispanic. The administration, specifically its principal, have demonstrated poor leadership at the helm. A few teachers seem competent and passionate but "challenging academic programming" is not something you'll discover at Compton. Prioritization at Compton is a serious problem in terms of resources and tax payer dollars being utilized effectively and responsibly.


Posted December 15, 2010

Residents become aware of the potential depreciation in your surrounding property from the proposed T-Mobile Cell Tower on Compton Elementary School's playground. There are already two T-Mobile cell towers at nearby schools to meet the demands of T-Mobile's clients. Another cell tower is unnecessary!


Posted July 28, 2010

I have had children in this school for 6 years now and I have always liked my children' teachers but what I don't like is the office staff service, some people don't know to talk to people, we (the parents) are adults and not children to be addressed in a such manner. I avoid going to the office for any reason unless it is absolutely necessary ( I also pay taxes)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

To all compton teachers excellent job, classes could be smaller if possible, other than that I commend them for what they do everyday. parents get involved more and help these teachers. To start with the Principal,I appreciate what you do everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

Both of my children attend Compton. They have always addressed my concerns about my children and make them feel special. However classrooms cloud be a little smaller and more time with each student but I know they are doing everything they can to make sure my children are given the best! Thanks Compton! Your doing a great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

I would not recommend this school at all. Point blank period. Its not a comfertable enviroment to be around at all. I walk in to take my daughter to class, all you can hear is screaming, cursing, and a dirty place. I like what some of the teachers are doing, and creating for my daughters education, but the school itself is horrible. I prefer Dowell, or Varner Elementary, which is now where my daughter, now in 3rd grade attends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2007

We have 3 children that have been in Compton. The past 3 years have been nothing but a nightmare. We saw our son's self-esteem hit rock bottom this past school year 06/07. We were even seriously thinkin about moving before school started. We had meeting and meeting with his teachers and administration and they just didn't listen to us. Our daughter is going in the 6th grade and our son will never go back. I would not recommend this school to anyone. If I could I would not give any stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

For the entire year, I observed: Not enough / no homework given, lack of feedback from teachers on how my daughter was doing, and refusal of teacher to call me back for my requested meetings. The lack of communication from the teacher is unacceptable. I do not recommend this school. My daughter got all 3's on the CRCT until coming to this school. This last testing period, she got 2's. If the teachers don't give the feedback to the parents, the parents can't not insure success on tests like the CRCT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

I am very pleased with the Speech Teacher, Mrs. Camese. She has a true understanding of what it takes to make my child feel success. She is the epitome of what a Great teacher should be. Thanks for your kindness, professionalism and overall generosity. No wonder you are the Teacher of the Year. Job Well Done!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

I am pleased with what my daughter is learning Mrs. Cearns is her teacher and she is WONDERFUL! However, there is a serious discipline problem at Compton. The administration really needs to get a handle on the behavior of the students and support teachers more. I am a very involved parent and I make sure that my daughter stays on task with her academics. I also work very hard with her teacher to address ANY discipline problems. I am not sure that other parents are doing the same. The overall environment is not good. My child will not be returning to Compton. More focus needs to be put on learning. I would not recommend this school to anyone moving to the Powder Springs area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2007

Compton lacks parent involvement in all areas which has a huge effect on the school. 95% of the teacher really try with the limited supply of money, parental support, etc. I would not recomend this school for any reason except it English as Second language and speach teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2005

I agree with Mrs. Sweet. My son is in Mrs.Graff's 3rd grade class and she is one of the best. Her career spans over 2 decades and nothing slips past her. I can only hope that his next teacher has half the qualities that Mrs.Graff has. As far as parental involvement and community support I'm surprised. At the FAMILY Valentines dance the parking lot was full and the cafateria/dance floor was packed. My wife and Mrs. Sweet are just a small part of the great parental involvement. Would like to see more families at Skate nite on the 3rd monday of each month.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2005

I rate Compton a 10!! I have two children at this school(PK & 1st). The demographics may not be the best, but the teachers ARE!! They are the most caring, loving and giving group of people I know. I felt like a family the first time I ever stepped foot into the school. So you ask me to rate and comment on Compton Elementary. IT IS AWESOME!! The parental involvement..we have 100% room parent coverage...thank you very much. As far as specials? WOW!! Music(A+)...P.E.(A+)...Art(A+)...Nature, yes I said nature(the only one in cobb county I might add)(A+)! I am a very involved parent(a chairperson on the PTA) and there is NOTHING that can change my opinion of this school. Thank You for your time. Melanie Sweet (sweet@ptamail.net)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

70 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

70 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

70 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

82 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

83 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

82 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
55%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
32%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
54%

2009

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 59% 37%
Hispanic 26% 12%
White 11% 44%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Liz Murphy
Fax number
  • (770) 222-3702

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3450 New MacLand Rd
Powder Springs, GA 30127
Phone: (770) 222-3700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Varner Elementary School
Powder Springs, GA




Trinity Chapel Academy
Powder Springs, GA


Praise Academy
Powder Springs, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT