Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Vaughan Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 709 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 12, 2014

We moved here three years ago and have had great experiences at Vaughan. The teachers and administration have high expectations for students. There are lots of opportunities for parents to be involved in the Vaughan community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2014

My grandchild goes to Vaughan and our family couldn't be happier. All of our interactions with staff have been positive and welcoming. It is clear that the students get more than just an education there. Love the SOAR theme!


Posted February 4, 2014

The new principal the worst leadership ever. No connection with parents whatsoever, doesn t bother with listening to your concerns and if you are "lucky" to get an appointment with her you are wasting your time. You will never get to the point when school takes appropriate actions toward your concerns even if you have all evidences to present. We moved to the area because of great ratings of this school. Now we have to admit if was the biggest mistake we ever made. My child is completely discouraged by favoritism that practices at school. If you are not one of those parents who will send donations every months and be a always at school parents your child has very little chances to be treated properly. And if you are a different nationality you will be judged from the minute you enter the school. My husband and I decided to sell our property and move to another school district. And next time we will make sure to check the school not based on online ratings and we hope we won t make the same mistake ever again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2013

Vaughan is an amazing school. The teachers are amazing, the administrators care for the students, staff and parents, and the PTSA is active and organized. Better than a private school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

I have two children who attended Vaughan from Kindergarten through fifth grade and it has been a very positive experience. Parents are encouraged to become involved and the teachers and staff care deeply about the students. As another parent said, many of the staff members live in the area and have children that attend Vaughan so they have a vested interest in the school. The middle school and high school that Vaughan feeds into are also fantastic schools. I would highly recommend this community to anyone wanting to move to West Cobb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2013

Vaughn Elementary The worst school experience possible. If you are new, your child does not stand a chance of breaking the code. The Teachers are not helpful. Administration even less helpful. My child is so discuraged, this school year cannot end soon enough!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2013

Transitioned here from another school and couldn't be more disappointed. Chose this school due to ratings and recommendation and it has been a terrible experience. Our child is social and easy going and has been repeatedly bullied for it and threatened to learn his place in a new territory. It was reported to administration and the children did not face any consequences. Prior to this, our child looked forward to school everyday and since we moved, it is just the opposite. Does not want to go and does not like school at all. Grades have dropped and I am struggling to get assistance with it. Would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2013

Highly recommend this school. There is a new administrative team which has been a positive change. Excellent school, excellent staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

Now that they have a new principal (started in 2012-13 school year) this is the best administration Vaughan could have ever asked for. They have a wonderful nurse also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2013

Vaughan has a very good faculty and staff. I've had children attend K-5 at this school over the last 14 years. Principals have come and gone but many of the same teachers are still there and I am glad for that. Leadership protects instruction time and all staff seem very dedicated to providing a great learning environment and finding the best learning path for each child. Much of the faculty lives in the same general area and their children attend the same schools as mine. There is a very active PTSA, a nurse on staff who is caring and knowledgeable, "specials" teachers who are full of energy, and a great cafe staff. There is a large, well organized media center and lots of books from which to choose. The office staff is friendly. The school is always clean and maintenance appears to be done on time and correctly. The surrounding community is one that generally believes in the importance of education and, as such, values the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2012

This is our first year attending Vaughan Elementary. We feel blessed to be a part of this school. The teachers and staff truly care about the students and parents are very involved. The positive attitudes and ant-bullying culture is price-less. We have no complaints and all praises for this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2012

Our daughter has attended Vaughan for three years now and we have had a wonderful experience. Our daughter began to have some challenges this year which we were able to quickly address with the support of school administration. Couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2009

What a wonderful staff! Happy teachers, happy students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

It is such an awesome school! It really cares about the kids, the community is active within the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2008

My son & many of the neighborhood kids really enjoy learning at this school. Teachers are very responsive and cooperative with parents and the school offers many opportunities for parents and community to be involved with educating the children. The inside is painted with murals of country gardens, zoos and solar systems. It's probably the most inviting and beautiful public school I have ever seen. I feel comfortable, safe and close-knit with the school community. Thanks Vaughan Elem Staff, PTSA, students and parents for being such a good example of public education going in the right direction!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

The school is very committed to excellence and strives to make sure that each child is special.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

111 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

111 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

111 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

122 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

122 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

121 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

138 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 44%
Black 11% 37%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5950 Nichols Rd
Powder Springs, GA 30127
Phone: (678) 594-8298

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Kemp Elementary School
Powder Springs, GA





Still Elementary School
Powder Springs, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT