Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Powder Springs, GA
Students enrolled: 709

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Vaughan Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
We moved here three years ago and have had great experiences at Vaughan. The teachers and administration have high expectations for students. There are lots of opportunities for parents to be involved in the Vaughan community.

Vaughan Elementary School 5

Posted February 28, 2014
- a community member
My grandchild goes to Vaughan and our family couldn't be happier. All of our interactions with staff have been positive and welcoming. It is clear that the students get more than just an education there. Love the SOAR theme!


Vaughan Elementary School 1

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
The new principal the worst leadership ever. No connection with parents whatsoever, doesn t bother with listening to your concerns and if you are "lucky" to get an appointment with her you are wasting your time. You will never get to the point when school takes appropriate actions toward your concerns even if you have all evidences to present. We moved to the area because of great ratings of this school. Now we have to admit if was the biggest mistake we ever made. My child is completely discouraged by favoritism that practices at school. If you are not one of those parents who will send donations every months and be a always at school parents your child has very little chances to be treated properly. And if you are a different nationality you will be judged from the minute you enter the school. My husband and I decided to sell our property and move to another school district. And next time we will make sure to check the school not based on online ratings and we hope we won t make the same mistake ever again.

Vaughan Elementary School 5

Posted July 21, 2013
- a parent
Vaughan is an amazing school. The teachers are amazing, the administrators care for the students, staff and parents, and the PTSA is active and organized. Better than a private school!

Vaughan Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2013
- a parent
I have two children who attended Vaughan from Kindergarten through fifth grade and it has been a very positive experience. Parents are encouraged to become involved and the teachers and staff care deeply about the students. As another parent said, many of the staff members live in the area and have children that attend Vaughan so they have a vested interest in the school. The middle school and high school that Vaughan feeds into are also fantastic schools. I would highly recommend this community to anyone wanting to move to West Cobb.


Vaughan Elementary School 1

Posted May 06, 2013
- a parent
Vaughn Elementary The worst school experience possible. If you are new, your child does not stand a chance of breaking the code. The Teachers are not helpful. Administration even less helpful. My child is so discuraged, this school year cannot end soon enough!

Vaughan Elementary School 2

Posted April 18, 2013
- a parent
Transitioned here from another school and couldn't be more disappointed. Chose this school due to ratings and recommendation and it has been a terrible experience. Our child is social and easy going and has been repeatedly bullied for it and threatened to learn his place in a new territory. It was reported to administration and the children did not face any consequences. Prior to this, our child looked forward to school everyday and since we moved, it is just the opposite. Does not want to go and does not like school at all. Grades have dropped and I am struggling to get assistance with it. Would not recommend this school.

Vaughan Elementary School 5

Posted March 19, 2013
- a parent
Highly recommend this school. There is a new administrative team which has been a positive change. Excellent school, excellent staff.


Vaughan Elementary School 5

Posted March 12, 2013
- a parent
Now that they have a new principal (started in 2012-13 school year) this is the best administration Vaughan could have ever asked for. They have a wonderful nurse also.

Vaughan Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2013
- a parent
Vaughan has a very good faculty and staff. I've had children attend K-5 at this school over the last 14 years. Principals have come and gone but many of the same teachers are still there and I am glad for that. Leadership protects instruction time and all staff seem very dedicated to providing a great learning environment and finding the best learning path for each child. Much of the faculty lives in the same general area and their children attend the same schools as mine. There is a very active PTSA, a nurse on staff who is caring and knowledgeable, "specials" teachers who are full of energy, and a great cafe staff. There is a large, well organized media center and lots of books from which to choose. The office staff is friendly. The school is always clean and maintenance appears to be done on time and correctly. The surrounding community is one that generally believes in the importance of education and, as such, values the school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vaughan Elementary School
5950 Nichols Rd, Powder Springs, GA  30127
(678) 594-8298
Last modified Vaughan Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Vaughan Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top