Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

A Step Ahead Learning Center

Private | PK-1

We are best known for academic program.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Rex

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $63,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,090.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 23, 2014

Our daughter has been attending A Step Ahead for about two years now. She started when she was about 18 months. We immediately noticed a dramatic improvement in her ability cognitive abilities. During her time there, she's developed a very good grasp on counting, colors, shapes, animals and all the other skills that you'd hope for in your child. All of that is understandable once we interacted with her teachers and the staff. They've been friendly, professional and genuinely caring about the welfare of all the children. I believe their motto is "It Takes A Village." The staff seems to really take that to heart. But all of that starts at the top with the owners, the Killins'. They're both very visible and involved in ensuring that the high standards are met. I've found them to be very friendly in that they can often be seen greeting the parents when they come in and then spending a few minutes chatting with them. It's seemingly a minor thing but it I feel that it says a lot. Simply put, we've had nothing but positive experiences working with the staff and owners at A Step Ahead and would readily recommend them to other parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

This school is truly the paradigm of the community and Schools as a whole as it pertains to early learning which is the foundation of child's education. They excell in excellence of education having a global vision that will prepare children to be leaders. My son attends this wonderful establishment and my other son went there for 2 years. The nurturing, professional teachers make it conducive for any child to be eager to learn. The staff is very parent friendly allowing an interactive, comforting, hands on approach. If you are serious about making sure your early learner receives a solid foundation in education...Look no further A Step Ahead Learning Center is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2014

Do not attempt to even go to this school. Owners ae very money hungry and do not care about the children. Teachers are unhappy well. I put my concerns in writing to them and in return I was treated very rudely and unfairly. I also was told that my child cannot attend their school anymore due to my concerns. If you are not a part of their clique, they will treat you like dirt. Kids are always cramped into rooms and not enough teachers to watch them. The owners never speak and they act like they are so high class when they are not. They should not be allowed to operate a school the way they carry on. Please shop around before going to this school. It is a ripoff and they are not the most popular in that area. There are excellent schools out there but this one is definitely not one of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2013

I love what I hear my daughter recite. At 4 years old, she is very proficient with her sight words, sings songs about Jesus, and tells me good things about her teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2013

My daughter attends this learning center and I am happy with her experience thus far. The teachers love the kids and my daughter knows it and she shares it at age 2. My daughter is engaged here and exposed to different things and at this age it's so important that she is able to use every sense of her being to learn through exploration. ASA allows this to occur. The facility is clean, the employees are courteous and helpful. I feel good knowing that my child is in very capable hands. The owners are hands on and visual and have employed a knowledgeable, loving staff and possess a clean, secure, well kept building and each of these things is why my daughter is enrolled. I hope that nothing changes drastically as she moves up into the older classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

My son attends this school, and he's in good hands. His teachers take care of him very well. They are exposing him to academics. The school is run by two passionate owners. I would recommend A Step Ahead to any prospective parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2012

I am a parent with a child who attended for a short time in the fall of 2011. I experienced a misunderstanding upon withdrawal and realized that this isolated incident should not have been my overall rating of the school. I am very fortunate that the Killeens were understanding and accepted my daughter this summer into their preschool. I am so please with the learning and growth that she has gained while only attending for a short period of time. I hope to relocate to the GA area next year and we will definitely have our daughter attedning Kindergarten 2013.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2012

My daughter attended this school for 1 year (from 1 1/2-2 1/2) and in that time she definitely progressed far beyond my imagination. I found the educational programs for their toddlers to be well developed and the teachers to be attentive and progressive. They were always trying new things and my child really enjoyed the engagement. I loved seeing what they were working on each week (through all the projects sent home), and especially enjoyed the other elements the school provided (like a Christmas program, etc.). It was important to identify those qualities in their teachers, because I don't know that they had graduate degrees (at least not in the toddler classes, the first grade teacher seemed like she may, but I didn't have a child in her class), but I never felt like that affected the quality of what my child was learning. Quite the opposite, I felt the toddler (1 & 2 y.o.) teachers went above and beyond in their lesson plans. On the administrative end, there were some things I think could have been handled differently, but I will say that when I brought my concerns to the owners, both were attentive and seemed willing to address them in a way that was satisfactory for me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

I am a former employee of A Step Ahead learning center, this is not only a wonderful place for children to learn but the community of staff and owners was wonderful! I watch many children grow and excel with the programs they have in place. I have recommended several families to ASA and if I lived close enough there's no doubt that my children would be in attendance.


Posted September 27, 2010

My daughter is now 4 and a half years old and has been attending the preschool since age 23 months. I absolutely love the teachers and the curriculum used. They create a wonderful learning environment for my child. I think the best thing about the school is how quickly they helped potty train my daughter and never even charged me extra for her not being potty trained by age 2. I believe my daughter has a strong foundation in education which will help prepare her for the public school system next year. The environment is very clean and the staff is very professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

I have a 4 year old that attends the Pre-K program at A Step Ahead along with a 20 month old who attends their daycare program. We have attended this school for around 3 years now and I would never put my children in the hands of anyone else. Their programs are outsanding and my kids come home with new things to talk about everyday. Potty training assistance is provided along with daily singing and crafting. My kids stay engaged all day long and are excited to share when we get home in the afternoon. I especially love that all ages are provided with quarterly progress reports that are extremely extensive and precise. They're reports help me as a parent work with my children on some of the concerns that the teachers notice on a daily basis. I strongly recommend this school to anyone looking for daytime care and early education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

My 3 year old has been attending A Step Ahead learning center for just about two years. He is excelling for his age and enjoys going to school and learning new things. The teachers observe his special gifts and encourage him to do better each day. I also have a 3 month old attending the center and his caregivers are very kind, and treat the babies as if they were their own. The school is kept clean and the whole atmosphere is very family oriented. As the parent, I enjoy the activities they provide outside of the school curriculum and volunteer for field trips with the children when time permits. My only wish - A Step Ahead Learning Center would expand into an elementary school so that my kids would not have to transfer to other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2010

My 3-year-old daughter has been attending A Step Ahead Learning Center since she was 6 weeks old. I knew on my first visit that this was the place for her. I was greeted warmly and during my tour of the facilities the vision and mission of the Preschool was thoroughly explained. My daughter has excelled, she is much more advanced than most 3 year old. They provide age appropriate activities, and they actively engage the children. My daughter is familiar with the teachers and staff because the turnover rate is low. The Center provides activities that the entire family can participate in such as family picnics, exercise sessions, and other activities. The Center and playground areas are clean and well kept. I would recommend this Center to anyone and I do quite often.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

My daughter has been at A Step Ahead Learning Center since she was 2 years old. She is currently in the private Pre-K class and she has truly excelled in her learning. The homework that has been in her Pre-K class is the same homework that was given to my daughter in Kindergarten. I am amazed everyday that I pick my daughter up from school and she tells me what she has learned for the day. What I really love about the school is that the teacher turnover rate is low and that the owner is an educator as well. My daughter is graduating from Pre-K and next week and will be moving into the Kindergarten program at A Step Ahead in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

I whole-hearted agree that A Step Ahead is an excellent learning center!! My daughter is in Pre-K and she has learned so much that I am shocked everyday at how her vocabulary and knowledge has grown. She wants to go to school everyday and is always excited about upcoming events. The school also takes the children on educational field trips, as well as others. I highly recommend this school to all parents it is a great learning environment I am grateful I finally found a school that my daughter is happy in and actually being educated! Mrs. Pressley is the best!! (Pre-K teacher).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

This preschool is wonderful! This is actually an under-statement, but my child is excelling and she is just 2 years old. The teachers are well-educated and the curriculum from which they teach challenges the kids and provides them with activities to stimulate their thinking. My daughter has learned spanish since she has been there, almost a year now, and is learning concepts that are usually not taught until pre-k. I recommend this preschool to any parent! There is a huge difference between daycare and preschool and this school is a true learning environment. My daughter will remain here until she begins kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Nina Killins
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Fax number
  • (678) 565-1132

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

340 Wilkerson Road
Rex, GA 30273
Website: Click here
Phone: (678) 565-1910

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT