Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sequoyah Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 885 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

This school is terrible. The staff at Sequoyah treats these children like they are in jail. That is not what school should be about. I walked into the school this morning at the lady at front desk was screaming at me and I asked why was she mad and she said my child was lying on her and my child had said nothing about her. You will never know your child's grades until you have requested the information 100 times. Every teacher that I have had to deal with at this school never knows anything and blames someone else until you realize that you have been sent in a circle of people who know nothing. It's unfortunate that our children have to attend school everyday like this. There is no structure and everyone is all over the place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

All schools are what you make of them. Sequoyah Middle is one of the best schools in the area. I must say it's helping my son prepare for the next level. I am a parent (and dad too) that involved. Yes, I make my presents known. Having a young man in this day in time, that's very important. I will not lose my son to peer pressure, gangs and drugs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2011

I am a student entering the 8th grade and in the 2 years that I've been there I haven't seen the so called "bad side of the school'. Sequoyah is one of the greatest schools in the county if not the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2008

Contrary to popular belief, Sequoyah is a good school. Yes we do have some students with severe discipline problems, but we also have some really good students too. If parental involvement would increase, a lot of the issues at Sequoyah wouldn't happen. We rarely see parents. The parents we do see are of the good students. All parents need to take an active role in their child's education. I love my job, and I love my students. I just hate when a few 'bad apples' affect the reputation of the school. Come see for yourself!!! SMS rocks!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 31, 2007

This school has completely turned around under the leadership of Mrs. Johnson. She is proactive, available, and a great leader. The halls are quiet, learning is going on in classrooms, discipline is no longer an issue. Parents are welcome to talk to her anytime. The students love her, and they respect her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

that school is one of the best schools Ive been in
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2007

This is the first year that my child has attended 6th grade and he seems to be pretty satisfied with the ways of the teacher's and this school. I have not come across a teacher who was not helpful to my student nor myself for that matter. A Parent in Full Support of Uniforms
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2006

My experience with this school has been horrible. The children at this school are out of control and the staff needs to be a little more on top of their job. Some of the teachers are very rude to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2006

Sequoyah is a new middle school in Clayton county and this should give them an edge at setting the standards. The school requires the students to wear uniforms which I approve of and their goals of excellence sounds good. But, like most schools in the county, the boys wear their pants down to their knees and unruly kids dominate the classrooms at times. Discipline needs to be priority one in order to make this the best middle school that it can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

285 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

289 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
40%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
24%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

270 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
51%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

265 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 71% 37%
Hispanic 24% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
White 1% 44%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lonnie White
Fax number
  • (770) 515-7541

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

95 Valley Hill Rd SW
Riverdale, GA 30274
Phone: (770) 515-7524

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Solid Rock Academy
Fayetteville, GA


Babb Middle School
Forest Park, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT