Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sequoyah Middle School 1

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
This school is terrible. The staff at Sequoyah treats these children like they are in jail. That is not what school should be about. I walked into the school this morning at the lady at front desk was screaming at me and I asked why was she mad and she said my child was lying on her and my child had said nothing about her. You will never know your child's grades until you have requested the information 100 times. Every teacher that I have had to deal with at this school never knows anything and blames someone else until you realize that you have been sent in a circle of people who know nothing. It's unfortunate that our children have to attend school everyday like this. There is no structure and everyone is all over the place.

Sequoyah Middle School 4

Posted August 02, 2011
- a parent
All schools are what you make of them. Sequoyah Middle is one of the best schools in the area. I must say it's helping my son prepare for the next level. I am a parent (and dad too) that involved. Yes, I make my presents known. Having a young man in this day in time, that's very important. I will not lose my son to peer pressure, gangs and drugs.


Sequoyah Middle School 5

Posted July 30, 2011
- a student
I am a student entering the 8th grade and in the 2 years that I've been there I haven't seen the so called "bad side of the school'. Sequoyah is one of the greatest schools in the county if not the best.

Sequoyah Middle School 0
no rating

Posted March 28, 2008
- a teacher
Contrary to popular belief, Sequoyah is a good school. Yes we do have some students with severe discipline problems, but we also have some really good students too. If parental involvement would increase, a lot of the issues at Sequoyah wouldn't happen. We rarely see parents. The parents we do see are of the good students. All parents need to take an active role in their child's education. I love my job, and I love my students. I just hate when a few 'bad apples' affect the reputation of the school. Come see for yourself!!! SMS rocks!

Sequoyah Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 31, 2007
- a parent
This school has completely turned around under the leadership of Mrs. Johnson. She is proactive, available, and a great leader. The halls are quiet, learning is going on in classrooms, discipline is no longer an issue. Parents are welcome to talk to her anytime. The students love her, and they respect her.


Sequoyah Middle School 4

Posted October 24, 2007
- a student
that school is one of the best schools Ive been in

Sequoyah Middle School 3

Posted January 26, 2007
- a parent
This is the first year that my child has attended 6th grade and he seems to be pretty satisfied with the ways of the teacher's and this school. I have not come across a teacher who was not helpful to my student nor myself for that matter. A Parent in Full Support of Uniforms

Sequoyah Middle School 2

Posted November 15, 2006
- a parent
My experience with this school has been horrible. The children at this school are out of control and the staff needs to be a little more on top of their job. Some of the teachers are very rude to the students.


Sequoyah Middle School 3

Posted June 20, 2006
- a parent
Sequoyah is a new middle school in Clayton county and this should give them an edge at setting the standards. The school requires the students to wear uniforms which I approve of and their goals of excellence sounds good. But, like most schools in the county, the boys wear their pants down to their knees and unruly kids dominate the classrooms at times. Discipline needs to be priority one in order to make this the best middle school that it can be.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sequoyah Middle School
95 Valley Hill Rd SW, Riverdale, GA  30274
(770) 515-7524
Last modified Sequoyah Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sequoyah Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top