Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Riverdale High School

Public | 9-12 | 1367 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 26, 2014

All I have to say is, once we arrived at Riverdale High, and my daughter had her first class, her teacher told her that if she stayed in her class she would fail. The first day she had the class! We have never experienced this! The school is dirty. The restrooms are broken down and some not working at all. The staff is too soft on children misbehaving and cutting class. It was not a place where I wanted my child to stay and frankly she was a little nervous to be there. Riverdale needs work!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2011

I'm a mother of 5 kids and 3 are in College right now and one is in the 9th Grade there now. They have never had any problems at Riverdale High School. I'm sick of people blaming the school it might be your child that is the problem who don't want to listen to authority. My son comes home everyday talking about how some of the students are acting and it's not everybody.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

This high school is one of the best in the county. With dedicated teachers, many clubs, organizations, and talented students, this is a family school. With close to 300 kids recognized at the latest Honor's Breakfast, I know the students are accomplishing something. One of their full-ride athletes was a straight-A student. They have one of the best Technology Student Association (TSA) in the nation (see Steve Price Room's for more than 100 trophies). Their yearbook adviser and asst. webmaster, Shekema Holmes-Silveri, is one of the most caring, tech savvy instructors next to Price. Wireless access and 21st century technology in every classroom in the building (except trailers), students are engaged with learning. Sure there are flaws, like any school, but there are more positives than negatives. If you have complaints, become apart of the solution, not the problem. If the adults follow policy then the students will fall in line.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

Riverdale High School is a school that has come a long way since I attended it three years ago as a freshman. At RHS, academics at have improved greatly with much more diverse classes choices; extracurricular activities and student involvement have increase; test scores meet or exceeds AYP; and so many more. Although Riverdale High School may have some issues as all schools do, I know that the faculty, teachers, and students are working hard to improve it with Raider pride.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Riverdale High School in my opinion is the best school in clayton county. It has people from many different ethnic backgrounds. Everyone get to learn about differnt cultures and make friends from other countries. My favorite part about this school has to be the extra curricular activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

Compare to other schools, it is the best with supported teachers and many different school activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2008

Im currently a senior at RHS and it has gotton way worst then the last post that was posted. i have been here for all 4 years and it has gotton very difficult because of the whole accrediation thing and the good teaches have left us with nothing. But we do have clubs that and some counslers that do care so i guess they are trying.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2007

I attended riverdale my freshman year and they were so welcoming and so open. very intrested in helping me with whatever I needed help with. I highly reccomend riverdale.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2006

I am a sophmore at Riverdale High. So far in my two years of attending Riverdale I have found that it is a good school that is improving every year. Yes as other schools Riverdale does have flaws, but not as people make them seem. People complain about the problems, but not many if any has come foward to attempt to improve or get rid of them. I read from a parent a comment that said 'Riverdale lacks fundings'. Yes, I do agree, but I have heard of no one who has come foward to donate or fundraise for Riverdale High School. These fundings really are needed I say this because I attended a football game and literally watched one of the more expensive instruments in the band fall apart as the student played. Ending this review I say that the Riverdale community has too many complainers and not enough reactors.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 3, 2005

Having recently graduated from RHS, I can say that the disciplinary actions are now being taken, muchly due to the fact that we have an administration that knows how to be friendly, but more importantly knows when to be stern. At RHS, the teachers are down to earth with the students, but at times, depending on the teacher, makes sure to provide you with the information needed to excel in your future endeavors. The students are not as bad as the others my say, as do all schools, there are the sour apples but they are being dealt with accordingly. Parents, RHS is not as bad as they are portryed, but let your child be the judge of that, let him or her make that decision for theirselves.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 19, 2005

I graduated from Riverdale in 2002, and there are excellent and dedicated teachers. However, I feel that the school should incorporate a program that better prepares its students for college. Focusing on good study habits is key. So many, including myself, breeze though high school without having to ever really study, but when I got to Valdosta I realized that this just wasn't going to work. College is not a breeze and requires much studyiung with more than mediocracy .
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 3, 2005

I am a Freshman student that attended Riverdale.Even though Jonesboro is the best school in the county Riverdale is better in many ways.It prepares you for life and has more dedicated teachers than Jonesboro. I'm not putting Jonesboro down, but htey are all about academics not preparation for life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2005

Riverdale High lacks discipline. Teachers dress more fadish then the students. Gold teeth plates are seen in every other students mouth. If your child plays football or baseball at Riverdale the booster club with coaches participation charges $300.00 This is because the school can not provide our students with the necessary tools to play after school sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2005

I am a 2003 graduate of RHS, and I must say that despite the disciplinary problems many of the teachers at this school face, you will find some of the most dedicated and compassionate teachers at this school that you will not find in any other. They are not only teachers, but they actually care about their students as if they were their own children. There are several different classes and academic programs that are suitable for students of all ranges, from intermediate classes to AP classes. There are also plenty of extracurricular activities that will further help the development of students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 1, 2004

I am a 1995 graduate of RHS and currently a teacher in Illinois. I am proud to be a graduate of Riverdale. Having teachers and administration like Ed Scott, Holly Carver, Jane Bain, Linda Harris, Sharon Shaw, and Kevin McReynolds thoroughly prepared me for success in college and as an educator. While I know that not all teachers are perfect, I believe that instead of criticizing the teachers, parents should enforce discipline and manners in the home before they lay blame at the teacher's door.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 4, 2004

I am a student @ Riverdale & soon to become a junior this school year. I really love this school. Though almost all of my teachers were good, just like any other school Riverdale still needs to improve. Unfortunately some teachers today just don't care about the students, they just get paid!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 27, 2004

I am not impressed with this school. My daughter was there one year and the police have been up to the school too many times for discipline issues. The teachers lack dedication to inspire and encourage students to learn. Many take that 'Oh well' attitude. I think it's just the generation of teachers that are out now. Half the teachers in that school are younger than me (20s, 30s) and I feel only look at it as a job. If I could afford private school I would send my child to private school. The whole Clayton County school system needs much improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2004

I attend this school. As an upcoming junior for the school year 2004-2005 Riverdale has been a wounderful instution to propel me to next level. Parents always complain, and they don't even attend the school. Our principal, adminstration,teachers, and all other staff members are great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 18, 2004

We recently moved here,and im not happy with this school.They have a big disipline problem.There is hardly any diversity,but test scores are good.The teachers take a long time to grade papers and hand them back to students.The counsler my daughter has seem to be confussed all the time.She does extemly well,because she does her work.Most kids seem not to care about doing their work.This school dist is on probation with sacs and they may loose their acredidation.I am transfering my child over the summer.I would not reccomend this school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2003

This is not a good school to send your child to. The principals lack good judement and discipline. The teachers are lacking in skills. The students are predominantly ignorant to the fact that this is a school environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

239 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

236 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

240 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

240 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
76%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

384 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
66%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
77%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

407 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
38%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

367 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

231 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
58%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
40%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

342 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
25%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

298 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
56%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 79% 37%
Hispanic 10% 12%
Asian 6% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
White 2% 44%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Terry Young
Fax number
  • (770) 473-2913

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

160 Roberts Dr
Riverdale, GA 30274
Phone: (770) 473-2905

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Solid Rock Academy
Riverdale, GA



Jonesboro High School
Jonesboro, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT