Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Church Street Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 899 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2013

Church Street Elementary is great because the staff is kind and polite with assisting me when i have questions pretaining to my child that attends. The staff remembers my childs face and name along with knowing me. This makes me feel that personal connection with the school. I am always greeted with a smile and someone ready to assist me, rather in the morning or a hard day of work in the afternoon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Wonderful staff, excellent leadership, and challenging curriculum! They have vision and are really reaching for the stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

My son started here late in last semester and he is doing better here than any other school he has attended.We like this school and the learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2010

my son loves this school and i do too
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2009

Church Street is an excellent school. From the principal down to the janitorial staff, excellence is their number one priority. My granddaughter just completed 1st grade and will be entering 2nd grade. She excelled under the guidance of her teacher and will be blessed to have her same teacher for 2nd grade. We thank and appreciate Dr. Smith for her continued efforts to assure a quality education for the students at Church Street.


Posted July 24, 2009

I have had great teachers and since my son started - now going to 4th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2008

My daughter is in kindergarten and it seems that her teacher is great. She is learning so much. The only negative thing I've experienced is the way that administration speaks to the kids as well as the parents. They yell at the kids and are condescending in their speech to the parents. A course about respect needs to be taught to the front office staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

Good school no problems at all so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

I am pleased with the leadership as well as the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2007

My daughter just graduated from Church Street this year. I am proud to say that this is one of the best schools in Clayton County. The teachers and staff are so loving towards the kids and they truly have their best interest at heart. My son is now in the 2nd grade and I am proud to say that he attends Church Street. Hats off to the Principal and her staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2007

Church Street use to be a Great School, when my daughter started there in Pre-K. We had great leadrership, now the leadership is sorry! All they are worried about is who is going to get their lunch. The building use to be so clean, the walls sparkled. Now it is so dull that even the walls are crying. Need less to say, this will be our last year at Church Street.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2007

We recently moved here from NC. And i personally was very worried about how my children would adjust. My son came to this school not being able to read and now he can read. His teacher is very involved as well as the rest of the staff. My daughter came home with her first report card with straight A's they love it and I think its a wonderful scool that is worried about the children not just the image of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2007

It started a little ruff this school year.I mean transferring from a school to Church Street, then Third grade had a problem with stability in staff. My daughter had four different teachers within 5 months of school. This caused a big gap in communication and progress. Now preparing for the CRCT testing is crunched, there really wasn't a curriculum to follow. I am hoping that the preparation for next year is being prepared now. The students deserve it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2007

This is a great school that cares about their students and the faculty is wonderful. My child came from private pre-K and was one grade level ahead when she got there and now is in Kindergarten reading on a 2nd grade level. They were able to build on what she had already gained. No child is left behind at Church Street if they can help it!Six years of making AYP proves it and it is one of Clayton County's finest schools. I am proud parent of a kindercat!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2006

Very bad leadership. This school does not care about the students only the image of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2006

I am so happy that my daughter attends Church Street, the quality of the academic programs is excellent and the teachers take their responsibility of providing quality education very seriously. Principal leadership, safety and discipline is very admirable - and most importantly there is feel of a family who cares about not just the children's education but their overall wellbeing. I just wish that going forward we can see more parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2005

Church Street is a school with dedicated teachers and a positive learning environment. Academic performance of students is outstanding.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 29, 2004

I am very proud of the dedicated teachers and staff of this school. I was concerned that my daughter would not continue to excel in her grades as she was in a private school before attending CSE. The teachers recognized her strengths and offered her opportunites where she could continue being challenged. There is a great team of 5th grade teachers. They are truly dedicated, strict, and caring. It was always nice to hear my daughter share how they are in charge of the classroom and not the students. We are moving on to middle school and hope that the staff are as dedicated as CSE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2004

This school is an excellent example of a positive environment for students to learn. My son attended this school from 1994-1998 and now my daughter attends since 1999. They have alway been assigned to excellent teacher. The school has a lot of programs and after school activities that involve both parents and students. The Administors are very friendly and professional. I always am greeted with a smile from the janitors, secretaries, cafteria worker and other employees at the school. I would highly recommend this school because of the positive atomsphere that it has.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

139 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

141 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

141 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

144 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

145 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

144 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
66%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
49%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
42%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

138 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
48%

2009

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 82% 37%
Hispanic 9% 12%
Asian 6% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
White 1% 44%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Debra Bostick Smith
Fax number
  • (770) 994-4469

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7013 Church St
Riverdale, GA 30274
Phone: (770) 994-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Solid Rock Academy
Riverdale, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT