Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Riverdale Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 781 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 11, 2014

I have three students to attend Riverdale, and have been very pleased. The principal doesn't play the radio. The school is a reflection of the community, so don't complain if you are not going tom step up and raise your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2014

This school is bad especially on Team 7A Hall, Dr. Daniel is a good teacher she teaches ELA and she controls that hall. Mr. Grant is horrible he lets the students do whatever they want and he teaches Math. Mrs. Foreman is terrible all she does tell them to "be quiet" but they just keep yelling and screaming the class, she teaches Science. Mrs. Moultrie is okay but she really doesnt do much she teaches Social Studies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

This is school is bad!! Do not send your child here, why? Because the teachers dont teach you nothing, all you do is write. And if you pretty then you need to watch your back because them girl will try to jump on you. This one boy (this year Isreal Price) was beaten and bullied in the restroom and nothing was really done about it at school.. So no do not send your child here for school..


Posted June 8, 2013

The ration is a lie! Its 28 to 32 and I know specifically at one time this past school year a GA History class had 40 students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2011

I am proud to say I am a Spartan parent. My daughter will be starting the 8th grade, and my son will start 6th grade. I too heard the negative publiciy about the school, but my wife and I decided to equip our daughter the best we could, and made a commitment to be as involved as we were at the elementary school. GETTING INVOLVED IS THE KEY. Everyone there, from the principal all the way down, knows we'll give full support when called upon, and will ask questions when something doesn't sound or look right. Again, I am PROUD to be a SPARTAN PARENT!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2010

Sorry, I agree with the 4/1/2008 post - this is not a good school. Communication and organization is very bad. My review will be very long if I explain my story - so I'll be brief. 1st, the correspondences sent to me, from this school, appears to be written by someone in high school. 2nd, after taking time off from work, to visit this school, my daughter's teachers did not communicate to me about her grades. I m very happy she don t go to that school any longer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2010

it a good school my child went to that school and I went there. good place for a child to learn
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

Riverdale Middle School is the best school I being to because they have after school program like Morehouse and other programs to My parents are so proud because i learn alot of stuff in this school and i love the teacher because they care about all the student that go to this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2008

Riverdale Middle is one of the best schools in the district. There are a lot of caring teachers and staff members at the school especially on the seventh grade. This year hopefully will be the year that they make AYP for 3 years in a row. The school has wonderful programming going on with their Math night, Sass/Gents program, Morehouse as well as many other programs for young people. I would recommend this school highly. You also can't rate the school low because it does not have a nurse. Many schools in Clayton County do not have a nurse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

This is one of the worst schools in the community. The teachers don't care, they are more worried about titles. It is simply not a place for educational purpose. Parents need to fight to get their children a better quality of education. NOW.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2007

riverdale middle school is a phenomenal school. They are so supporting and will bend over backwards for you. This is a school that I will always remember. Thank you Dr Mccoy you and your staff.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2006

This is the worst school I have ever seen in my entire life! The teachers allow the students to run a-muck. There is no discipline here at all!I would not recommend this school to my worse enemy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2004

I forgot to metion in my previous review that i have never in my entire life seen so many schools with no nurses in the school.We moved from up north and this is un herd of and rediculious.If your child has a stomach ache,headache,dizzy,whezzing,fever,or any little thing that a nurse could take care of if they had one.Instead of immediately caliing the parents when they could lie down for a while or take a tylenol with parents permission.Guess its to bad cause they just have your child call home or work to pick them up.To bad for working parents that have to take off just because the fail at what our should be entitled to.I do not recommend this school to anyone.My childs grades has droped extremly sense we moved to GA like 3 letter grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

We need more parents participation, along with corporate sponsors. I would like the school to form a baseball team. Let's use this baseball field.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2003

I would like to see more parents get involved in there child education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
55%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

256 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
37%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

248 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 85% 37%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Asian 5% 3%
White 2% 44%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Adrian Courtland
Fax number
  • (770) 994-4467

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 Roberts Dr
Riverdale, GA 30274
Phone: (770) 994-4045

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Solid Rock Academy
Riverdale, GA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT