Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Riverdale Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2011

TERRIBLE!!!! If you do have an option, don't allow your child to attend this school. I went to this school kindergarten thru fifth grade it was an excellent school....I'm 28 now! I'm living in the area for little while and my daughter, a first grader has to attend here until we move. I tried to ignore the warning about the CLAYTON COUNTY school reputaion. But since my daughter have been here, I have very disapointed. I bought my daughter school supplies, I go to the school to find out that all the school supplies I bought are getting disbusrt amongst the entire class because only 8 kids brought in school supplies out of about 20 kids! Her teacher is TERRIBLE. She acts like she is overwhelemed all the time. When I walk my daughter ti her class in the morning, the techers are texting in the hallways. I went eat lunch with her and teachers were yelling at the kids like they were animal.The teachers seem so unprofessional, not all of them. I am looking into enrollong my daughter at the Scholars Academy any day now. I gave the school a chance..no more chances. I can't wait until we get out of this county! Parents please get involved wtih your childs education, no matter what grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

This school is not preparing the children for the 21st century. The only thing going positive is the Boys and Girls club. The administration is a joke and the teachers are being not being led well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2009

Wow, this school has a Boys and Girls club, This must be a school on the path to sucess with this organization, what other youth group has encouraged our kids to be sucessful like Evander Holifield, Denzell Washington and singer Usher and countless others, this school must have to vision to suceed. GOOD JOB WAY TO RIVERDALE! Looks like this school sets the standards an others follow
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2009

Riverdale Elementary is an excellent school. The adminstrative staff is focused on student achievement and parental involvement. Academic goals are set each year for parents, teachers and students. The school PTA is growing and Riverdale strives to keep parents involved in the daily operations of the school. They have curriculum , CRCT, and family fun nights. This school really cares about children. The community has embraced Riverdale and this is the only school in the county that provides a boys and girls club. When you walk through the halls of Riverdale you can feel the love for learning. I higly recommend this school.. Just come and see the great things they are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

The school looks like it hasn't been updated in years. My child's teacher is not the best teacher, but I'm assuming they needed someone to fill the position, so they hired her. My child has actually regressed since starting Riverdale Elementary. I had an issue with the teacher that the Assistant Principal was suposed to address and still haven't heard back from him. I pray this is the only year my child has to attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

I truly love this school and the help they provide. They really make it a priority to help the children. Not just in the school, but also outside of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2006

This pass school year has been terrible for my kids and I. One of my daughter is an A-B student and when she received all F's and I asked the teacher's no one could explain. The teacher's never even contacted me to say that there was a ptoblem. When I asked for help they said she wasn't qualified. They also gave her all U's for conduct and when I questioned that, again they couldn't explain. One teacher told me that she had too many students and that she didn't have time to call parents b/c their child wasn't doing well. After contacting the Superintendent, my daughter grades with back to A's and B's and the U's for conduct was an error. The U's turned into E's. If you are a parent that don't have time to interact with your child's education then Riverdale Elementary is not for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

I have a son that currently attends this school and he not only loves it but so do I. The teachers that he has had were and are excellent he has progessed so much since he started attending there. The staff seems so genuine.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

98 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

98 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

98 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

118 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

118 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

118 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
40%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

91 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
55%

2009

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 67% 37%
Hispanic 23% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
White 1% 44%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kelly Veal
Fax number
  • (770) 994-4018

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6630 Camp St
Riverdale, GA 30274
Phone: (770) 994-4015

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT