Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crawford County High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2012

Crawford County High School is a great place. The teachers are really well. It is more of a problem with the students. They expect the best, but put forth no effort. They claim the teachers can't teach, but talk during class and never study or pay attention. I have excellent grades because I work hard and listen to the teachers. They know what they are talking about, and thy give us the tools we need to succeed. The technology department isn't the best because of the lack of support and funds. The TSA (Technology Student Association) Chapter here is doing great things, and has even made it to the National conference this year. The staff and faculty are welcoming and nice. All in all, this is a fine school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2012

People use CCHS activities and programs as an excuse to say it's an excellent school. I attended Crawford County High School all four years and the teachers only hand out violations/or enforce the rules due to their mood or race. People show favoritism and I only had three good instructors out of all four years. It is a very racist and harsh place for a student to be and a lot of discrimination. I would not recommend that anyone enroll their child into this school. CCHS can get you ready for Tech school,but it does not prepare you for college at all. The counselors care nothing about your child or his/her issues. Also,if you are a senior and getting ready for college, I advise you do not seek help from the counselors. I have lost many scholarships thinking that I was getting help when I wasn't. This school will never succeed unless there is a new principal,new board members,and some new teachers.


Posted April 19, 2010

School is lacking in many areas, teacher - student interaction is negative, rules are enforced on whim and not equally. Cell phones not allowed on students yet office staff instruct parents to text child instead of handling the procedure correctly. Messages not given to head authorities, not returned. Dress code violations are handed out on whim and adult moods, Accountability of student whereabouts is 0. Any emergency to arise will be difficult to manage as student whereabouts not monitored, example remaining in lunchroom, for next lunch periods. Drop out rate is unacceptable, to change this maybe environment should be more student friendly. Is there student council? Is student input welcomed- not that I've seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

I currently attend crawford county as a freshman i am not whatsoever impressed by the academics or teachers and definitely not impressed or satisfied with the rules or people who enforce them after going to a private school for two years i have realized that the the environment here is not healthy for growing learning children. I have learned absolutely nothing this year or any of the years i have attended crawford county schools. And i am looking forward to getting out. There is a high amount of drug use and bad behavior. The teachers pick favorites. And i realize this happens at most school or really any where. But when it comes to discipline they need to get them all or get none and i feel like crawford cares more about discipline then they do about what us kids learn. I have more to say but im out of room.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2008

I was a student at Crawford County and graduated back in 2004. I came across the site browsing around at work, and thought I would give a few comments. There were few good, qualified teachers, and from what I hear, there are still few. The better teachers are not paid what they deserve or are ran off because their teaching style is considered 'too tough'. I can recall a few teachers who really pushed their teachers were made too adjust their teaching style. The school does not prepare the student too well, being an honor graduate, I will still not prepared for my first year of college and my GPA suffered. The school does do a good job for preparing you for a Tech School education, but not a college education. The atmosphere was fun, and enjoyable. But for education after Elementary School, definitley consider a private school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2007

I think that CCHS is a great little country high school. The faculty is warm and caring and the kids have great hearts. This school does not have super high test scores or a lot of extra electives. It provides a basic college bound or votech bound education. Many of the families are low income and the schools get as much help from state funding as possible. However the education is there for the children if they and their parents are motivated about getting it. The school promotes the policy that education is a privilege and will not tolerate discipline issues. I like the old fashioned approach this county takes toward its kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2007

I think CCHS is fine school. My grandchildren both graduated from this school and went to universities. They felt they were well prepared for college. The school has no racial problems like big city schools and the teachers treat the kids like their own. Roberta is a close knit community and they often involve the kids in activities like Relay for Life and charity projects. I am proud to be associated with this smalltown school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2006

CCHS is a horrible school to attend. A question that I have is why are they focused mainly on the dress code and not our education. My child is never going to any Crawford County school. Overall I give this school an F-.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 11, 2006

I graduated from this school, and it was horrible. Some blame the parents, some blame the teachers and administration, and some blame the students. Truth be told, all three parties are at fault. The administration creates/enforces arbitrary rules, and often, they believe being in charge makes them right. The students simply don't care about their education, and parents condone/defend their children no matter the circumstance. Many of the teachers, however, don't have the patience to deal with young people. Instead of convincing them of what is right and wrong, they yell and fume expecting the students to bend to their will. Although many of the teachers do their best, they are often sabotaged by the administration--Ironically, the administration treats its teachers the same way most teachers treat their students--poorly. They focus on one-uping one another rather than education. Quality=0.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 5, 2006

The dress code is a sore topic with me and parents like me because there is no consistency in enforcing it. I see boys walking around with thier jeans literally around thier knees, but another kid had the back of his shirttail untucked and got a day of iss for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2005

Some seem to like the new dress code that has been set upon students at CCHS. That is the people who this proposal has been presented to. However, please understand that these people are not inside the school during working hours to see how this is being inforced. I find it very ignorant to try to bring a new dress code to a school that could not even inforce the one that was used as standard dress prior to the new set standard. Please understand this is only the opinion of one person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2004

I think the school is making great improvements in the last two years. The principal and assistant principals are working hard to help kids get a good education. I like the new dress code. Alot of parents I have spoken to like it. Kids want to dress any way they can these days. The school administration has applied a simple and easy dress code that everybody can live with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2004

This School worries about too much about the dress code and not as much on the kids education. I am a former student of Crawford County High and I know personally about this. I can understand a dress code and all of that but when you go worring more about that anything else, How are the kids going to learn? I am not the only one who feels this way but of course this is my opinion. They got rid of a good principal because he was only doing his job two years ago. The whole school system to me needs to be improved, most of the teachers are fine but not the whole system it self.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

107 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

105 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

108 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

108 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
53%

2009

 
 
73%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
73%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
73%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
45%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
55%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
31%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
53%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 44%
Black 29% 37%
Hispanic 1% 12%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michael Campbell
Fax number
  • (478) 836-4853

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 E Agency St
Roberta, GA 31078
Phone: (478) 836-3126

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hopewell Academy
Lizella, GA


Georgia Center
Reynolds, GA


Peach County High School
Fort Valley, GA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT