Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crawford County Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 17, 2011

2010-2011 school year. #1 rank in 8th reading(234 last year)in state; #31 in 8th math(96 last year)in state. Both are the highest rated in mid ga resa district. A testament to Administrative visionary leadership.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 13, 2010

Crawford County Middle School is a wonderful school. We have hard-working teachers and excellent administrators. A lot of teachers go the extra mile for their students. We have some of the newest technology for the classroom. We want our students to succeed.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 27, 2009

Crawforfd County Middle School is the greatest! I enjoy the students and staff. It is my pleasure to work at CCMS!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 5, 2009

The Teachers care about the kids and do what it takes to get them to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

I do not like this school. The teachers are so mean. It seems to me like the teachers only are 'nice' to kids that are 'popular'. Also the teachers do not care about any body but them selves. If i could have my daughter home-schooled i would. The school needs teachers who are more deadicated to there job. Teachers that CARE about there students, NOT themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

I am very dissatisfied with the Crawford Co. Middle School. The teachers are more interested in themselves not their students, dress code is their top priority and finding violations and any small infraction they can on students. It is run more like a juvenial detention center instead of a public school. The children in our county need to be treated like citizens if they are to grow up to be contributing members of our community and the middle school does such a disservice to our children by this treatment. AYP would have a better chance of being met if the administration provided an atmosphere that included the students instead of alienating them, just stand in the office in the morning and listen to the way the personel treat and talk to your children. It is shameful and degrading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

Very poor communication with parents. Do not encourage community or parent involvement. They have not yet met AYP. Teacher quality is poor overall, but a few of the teachers are excellent. Only a few. Lucinda
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2006

My child attends this school. It is a very good one indeed. The teachers understand the children and this past year, they just recently made AYP. I am so proud of this school and happy that my child enjoys it also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2005

I am in the military and have moved around alot so my children have been in several school sytems all over the East coast and Alaska. We moved to Crawford County two years ago and I have to say that this is the worse public school system that I have ever seen. It's just pathetic the way they allow the teachers to treat the children. They rebuilt the elementary, middle school and high school a few years ago. I think they should have found new teachers to put in the new buildings and then maybe they would have a decent school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2005

After moving to Crawford County from another county, we were very pleased with the transfer. The staff at CCMS are very concerned with the education of our children. The dress code was simple enough to follow, and the students always looked in style. As a parent, I was very pleased with my childs first year at Crawford County Middle School (CCMS. Thank you Teachers and Staff
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 92% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 96% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 93% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 95% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 85% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 97% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 82% in 2012.

143 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 44%
Black 21% 37%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Hispanic 1% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Anthony English
Fax number
  • (478) 836-3795

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 Lowe Rd
Roberta, GA 31078
Phone: (478) 836-3181

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Georgia Center
Reynolds, GA




Hopewell Academy
Lizella, GA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT