Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rome High School

Public | 9-12 | 1507 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2011

Strong emphasis on academics, many AP offerings for juniors and seniors. The arts program is also strong with chorus, band, and theater involving a large percentage of the student body. Numerous awards for individual students and groups also won the past 2 years. SAT scores are equal to top Atlanta area schools. Sports surprisingly not emphasized. US News listed Rome as a top high school in America.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2010

This school has three categories in which students are placed- "Tech", "College Prep" and "College Prep Advanced". Basically, students placed in Tech are set to fail because the school doesn't spend resources on them. They're High School Diploma isn't accepted at most local colleges and they are denied the opportunity to take the SAT. The only reason RHS does this is to prevent the "dumb" kids from "lowering" their SAT Score Average. All students know that being in Tech means that you are less than those in CP and CPA. It is sad that a school would do this to children and not give them a chance to develop and succeed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2009

i us to go to this school i miss it they really have good teachers amanda young


Posted September 18, 2008

An awesome school academically and extra curricular activities are also excellent. The students have a great comraderie. Not often do you see the varsity football players show their support for the competition cheerleading squad at several competitions, even out of town ones! Very impressive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2008

I fantastic school where it seems many have a voice. The method of leadership at the school allows for students, teachers and parents to have a statement in areas of concern. The students get along with each other perfectly and is an examply to use by many. Rules are firm and enforced and one can feel the good feelings of the school by entering and observing a class change. It was the one thing the principal demanded we saw when we entered the school and it was the ticket to get us to enter Rome High with our children. We have been pleased ever since that decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2006

Myself with my family has just been migrated to USA from India on July 30th 2006. I have taken admission of one of my son (9th Std) at Rome High School. The school was started from 4th of August. I am still surprised that how this has happend in a matter of three-four days. I am very much thankful to the administrative staff of the school for helping alian like me in admission procedures. I am also very much satisfied with the progress of my Son, both in education and extra currecular activities, for which I am thankful to the H'ble Principal and Teachers of the School. Presently I am in Inaia for about one month's time but my Son is enjoying attending school with his new freinds under guidence of learned teachers. I salute all the staff members of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2004

Excellent new Principal this year, and very high quality teachers. Still, the school is too big. Kids are like cattle being shuffled through and a large majority appear to hate it enough to consider dropping out. 'Cod Reds' are expected to happen more often, where police dogs are brought in to detect drugs. Not a great environment for education, but then it seems to be typical of public schools these days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2004

Has a wide variety of extra curricular activities and many clubs. Most students participate in at least one extra curricular activity or are part of some kind of club. Also has a great number of elective classes as well as a few fairly decent foreign language programs. Howvever, there are so many elective classes, that it is often times hard to decide which ones to choose! The extra curicular activities are highly supported by the attendance of the students, the host highly supported sports being basketball, football, an volleyball. The band program at Rome High school has won various awards and trophies, and is highly covetted amungst the local schools bands. A large number of students participate in Rome High's band, (also called 'The Sound of the Seven Hills') There is also a jazz band program, which preforms at various functions, and not just school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 30, 2004

Since the 2 city schools we're combined (West & East Rome) in 1992, I've had a family member in this system. While it has been difficult for some in this small town to adjust to a school of this size, I would say 95% of the students and parents are very pleased. I've worked with parents who transfered to our city from the North & Midwest and their experience with Rome High was very positive. Like most schools, it is not perfect. My relatives that graduated from Rome High and gone on to college are well prepared for college academics. My wife and I look forward to the day our 2 sons( eighth & fifth grades) graduate from Rome High School, a Georgia School of Excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2004

Best school academically by a long shot in northwest Georgia. Superb extra-curriculars with absolutely no discipline problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

332 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2011.

321 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 93% in 2011.

332 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%

2009

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 80% in 2011.

331 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % at or above passing

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) in English language arts, math, science and social studies to students in grade 11. The GHSGT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass all parts of the GHSGT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Georgia High School Writing Test (GHSWT) to students in grade 11. The GHSWT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. Students must pass the GHSWT in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

9th Grade Literature

The state average for 9th Grade Literature was 86% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 30% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
American Literature

The state average for American Literature was 91% in 2013.

315 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 75% in 2013.

370 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
66%
Coordinate Algebra

The state average for Coordinate Algebra was 37% in 2013.

375 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%
Economics

The state average for Economics was 79% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
69%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 29% in 2013.

10 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
61%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 59% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
57%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 83% in 2013.

294 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

314 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered End-of-Course Tests (EOCT) in 9th grade math levels 1 and 2, biology, United States history, physical science, American literature and economics. The EOCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 37% 44%
Black 30% 37%
Hispanic 23% 12%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Tygar Evans
Fax number
  • (706) 236-5078

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 Veterans Memorial Hwy NE
Rome, GA 30161
Phone: (706) 235-9653

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT