Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Darlington School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Rome

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $95,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $675.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, August 14, 2014

I have been a student at Darlington for the past six years and feel the need to share the story of my disastrous experience. I can truthfully say that the education I received was NOT worth the money or the disrespect I was subjected to daily. The administration does not care for the students wellbeing but rather their own reputation. On the first day of my junior year, four years into my Darlington career, the dean of students asked me if it was my first day. I would not have been offended if I had not been introduced to him multiple times in the previous years. This is only a small example of what I was put through in my years here. The teacher quality was poor as they would continuously hire new teachers with no experience directly out of college. The campus is beautiful on the outside but the inside of the buildings need repairs desperately. I hope this review helps make the best decisions for your child.


Posted February 7, 2014

I have been a Darlington parent in lower grades for 4 years. While no place is perfect, I do feel this is the best place for my children. Darlington has been able to engage my individual children and help each of them grow. The facilities, safety, technology, overall opportunities and professionalism of teachers are unmatched in this town. There are areas that could use improvement, I am confident that the new leadership is poised to make great strides.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2013

Beautiful facilities but lower grades not treated as fairly when it comes to perks. Way over priced and not competitive with other area private schools with no good Explanation on why. The education is not that above the other private schools. Financial Aid is a joke. No discount for multiple children. Communication lacks but is improving. My child loves the school but he has known no other school. They are working hard on the Learning center which I commend. They are finally realize even Darlington kids need academic help for various reasons like learning disabilities. If they would lower tuition, provide multi child discount, and realize they have to compete with other private schools in area then I think Darlingtons low enrollment in lower grades would increase dramatically!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2013

Beautiful campus. Impressive sports facilities, no performance facility, despite impressive orchestra and drama department. Excellent teachers in lower school, less professional in middle school. Upper school: Outstanding Env. Science teacher, theatre teacher. English heads are pompous and break rather than build student spirit. Learning Center is joke.Parents paying for tutoring (on top of $17/$40k tuition is common and necessary, particularly in physics and math. Spanish teacher is known to leer at female students. Has been reported numorous times but is treated as tenured. Known also for bullying males. AD and coaches are held on a pedistal but are poor classroom instructors. Academies tend to insulate players. Dorm/day students are given chance to bond, particularly through winter Rumpus festivity, but day students (and it appears day parents) often avoid international students. Excellent House system herdsall 9-12 graders into large family grouping with dorm parents ranging from excellent to temperamental. A group of dorm students is emerging with frat like induction and rogue conduct. It needs to be addressed. Admin is caring, devoted, but control led by certain alum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

I am the parent of two Darlington grads, 1994 and 1996. Both received outstanding educations and were well prepared for college.The academics are rigorous. Our older child was treated for a serious illness that resulted in absences that would have resulted in his losing a year in most public schools. Darlington worked with us to keep him with his original graduating year. He also was accepted to his first choice college. Due to his illness, he never had the opportunity to do much in sports and never was on a varsity team. However, the baseball coach made a long trip to see him and bring him a baseball autographed by the team members during one of his hospital stays. That is typical of the attitude of the faculty at Darlington.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

My daughter currently attends Darlington. Academics are the BEST in the area and the facilities are amazing. Expensive school but worth the money. The only reason I did not give it a full five stars is because Darlington can be very close minded when it comes to hiring "outside of the alumni". The school doesn't want to reach out to non-alumni who have a lot to offer with volunteering, ideas, or for hiring. When outsiders such as myself try to reach out to the upper management, we are ignored. Very hard to break into this school unless you are an alumni..wich is very sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2011

I attended Darlington as a boarding student and graduated in '99. Darlington has a great tradition of preparing students to be ready for the next step, college. Darlington was also a huge athletic school. The facilitys are second to none. It is only fair to say that Darlington is the best all around boarding, day, coed school in the country!


Posted March 30, 2011

The School here is filled with prejeduces. People are 2 faced and ecspecially the people that are in high office at this school. If you want you kids to be happy never send them here.


Posted March 1, 2011

I hope I will someday get over my rage at how horribly I was treated at this institution. I would not send a farm animal to this school, much less a child. They sabotaged my chances of getting into a good college (which I did despite of them), but I will always have a permanent scar from my experience there. Thinking back to it I just want to cry at how horrifically I was treated by the administration. They put on a very good show, and let you pay lots and lots of money, and then completely turn they're back on you or treat you horribly when parents leave. The whole thing makes me sick. If you have any respect for your child, don't send them here. I am still in therapy for how bad my experience was, and I am not the only one.


Posted December 16, 2010

Can't wait to graduate come May and get out of this place. Decent academics and all, but Its the deep South, we can't forget it. One token Black teacher, the rest are 'in their place' in the kitchen and grounds'. I'm embarrassed and uncomfortable, but we learn to 'keep our heads low', do the work and move on. The assumption if you are here and Black, you are on athletic scholarship, a few are on academic scholarship. A lot of rich spoiled kids from old slave money who still think like their grandfathers. Lot of rich Asian kids too. I could never get used to this town. If you're not careful, with the hair policy and dress policy, they'd knock the Black out of you. Still two systems for everything in this part of the world.


Posted April 25, 2010

Our child is so fortunate to be on the receiving end of amazingly devoted, attentive, talented and dedicated teachers and coaches and the entire staff. She has received a multitude of opportunities to learn and experience and prepare for her future both in and out of the classroom. We trust the professionalism of the staff and their willingness to go above and beyond all that is expected of them from the parents and students. We feel confident in the knowledge that she is safe, secure and most certainly, happy, in her home away from home at Darlington. The academic growth and maturity we have seen in her in just one year has been absolutely stunning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2009

As a proud parent of 2 middle school students, I know that Darlington is an exceptional school. Yes, it has beautiful buildings and a brilliant campus, but it's what happens inside those those places that make the school so wonderful. The teachers are capable and extremely caring. Our children are happy to get up and go to school every day. They are learning not only about the world in which we live, but also about themselves. They never knew they had artistic ability until their art teacher helped them find it. They are involved in sports that they didn't play before because the coach/teacher encouraged them to try out. They are learning that even though they are the center of my world, there is a whole other world out there - and they are excited about making it a better place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Darlington's Motto: Wisdom More Than Knowledge Service Beyond Self Honor Above Everything is embodied not only by the staff but by the students and parents. The entire Darlington Family (past and present) lives by these tenants. So, in addition to being an academically challenging environment, the students who attend leave with the knowledge that it is how they impact the world around them that holds the highest reward.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2009

I have had one child graduate has done so well in college! It was a wonderful 13 years! going to law school now-I have other kids at Darlington-It is the best school in Rome by far and the teachers are wonderful-There is no comparison here to the lower school (pre k-4th) It is a warm place and each school at Darlington prepares you for the school ahead-My son that graduated was definantly prepared for college-went in with ease-This is not a school for children with learning disabilities but they are working to get there so if your child has any learning needs-I would recommend and outside tutor. Overall Darlington is a warm wonderful place with alot of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

As an alumnus, I can tell you the experience was exceptional not only from a learning standpoint but a life preparation standpoint. I was well prepared for college and graduated in 3 years with honors. I have looked at the other comments and they left me scratching my head. Then I noticed they were comments from the parents. Regardless of wear you go or what you do, you get what you give and I would bet that the parents and their students put forth a sub-standard effort.


Posted November 12, 2008

I think Darlington's in transition, and I question what direction it is headed. Academically, is is impressive. Facilities are phenomenal. Teachers range from excellent to unfit. Sports and cheerleading are grossly overfocused upon. There's a move to prioritize community service and global philanthropy--a great thing! But the school I knew 5 years ago groomed considerate students who valued academic excellence and valued the top student equally with the jock, the jill, the artist and the free spirit. Now, it is dominated by jocks, jills, and cliques. If there were any comparable choices, I'd send my daughter elsewhere, I'm sad to say.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

The school has great facilities, but that is about all that can be said for this school. They say they have a learning center, but they do not actually work with the children that need the help. The teachers lack the ability to want to teach children that need extra help. They do not go out of their way to help. The price is not worth what you get. Way overpriced. we would never put our children back in Darlington where we could not trust teachers or administrators to be up front and honest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

Exceptional School, exceptional teachers and administration, sports are good but students are slow to get involved. Areas they lack in are Music, Science, public speaking and security of the students. Ask for donations but are not demanding of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

Highly professional yet warm and caring. Has the most qualified teachers in the business, my daughters 8th grade English Teacher has a Masters from Harvard! Boarders and Day students get along great, no separation of the two. The facilities are outstanding, the scholarships are in the high millions for only about 120 graduates each year, colleges compete for Darlingtons elite graduates with three digit scholarship money. When students graduate from Darlington their first year of college will be a vacation, especially for the boarders. Darlington's dedicated staff/administration/board of trustees has actually managed to get everything as right as humanly possible in a high school. The use of technology is cutting edge. They have outstanding music and art opportunities. They also have soccer, tennis, volleyball, crew and softball, and everything mention in the first review! Check out their web site, and you'll quickly see they are heads above the rest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2006

It is obvious that Darlington has the best educational program in Georgia. Plus, with their residential program, high school aged students from all over the world can attend Darlington and benefit from what it has to offer. It is not only all about academics, however. They offer the following sports and activities: football, basketball, baseball, lacrosse, cross country, track and field, swimming, marching band, steel drum band, and a school play that takes place three times a year. Parents can choose to be involved or as uninvolved as they wish. Parents are welcome to visit their children whenever they please, and often have much say in what goes on in their child's life at Darlington. In terms of boarding school, it is the best option out there.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 44%
Asian 7% 2%
Black 7% 40%
Hispanic 1% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • ABS
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1014 Cave Spring Rd
Rome, GA 30161
Website: Click here
Phone: (706) 236-0442

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT