Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Garden Lakes Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 6, 2013

Great school. Better than I could have ever dreamed of! So glad we chose Garden Lakes over private schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2011

the school is wonderful , my kids only been there for a week and i can see a diffrence already
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2007

Smaller sized school with caring and qualified leadership. A school that is giving my children small town values and yet more than enough preparation for demanding higher education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2006

My daughter has been at GLS for four years. She is an excellent student and has had wonderful teachers every year she has attended. The staff has been excellent. Small class sizes. I can't image getting better service elsewhere. Also, the lady who listed the school is falling in must have visited the school prior to the complete makeover in 2004 - when they totally remolded the school from the inside out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2005

My child only went to Garden Lakes for a short time, but we were very disappointed in the school. The teachers were rude and unconcerned. The school was falling in. The principal was as unconcerned as the teachers. The teacher yelled at my child on the very first day of school(my child is a very good student and is well behaved). We only put up with this for a few days and then we took her out and put her a much better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2005

Garden Lakes Elementary is a wonderful school. My oldest daughter attended Garden Lakes and now my two youngest daughters are at the school. I highly recommend the school. The whole staff is like family. And you will never have to worry about your children because everyone treats them as if it were their own children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2004

We came to gles last year. We love it! it's like being a part of a huge family. My children are learning in such a creative way that most of the time they don't even realize that it's 'school work'. This was definately the best decision that we have made for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2004

I recently was transfered from Rome, GA to Brunswick, Maine for the Navy. My daughter Ashley only spent 6 weeks there. When we enrolled her in school in Maine, she was so far ahead of her classmates, she was almost placed in first grade. This is a wonderful school and we would gladly re-enroll all of our children there when we move back. Thanks!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

97 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

97 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

97 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

88 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

88 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

88 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

98 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 44%
Hispanic 17% 12%
Black 14% 37%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mary Alcorn
Fax number
  • (706) 802-6773

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2903 Garden Lakes Blvd NW
Rome, GA 30165
Phone: (706) 236-1865

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT