Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northwood Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 7, 2009

Everything we've experienced at this school has been positive. The teachers are fantastic, the children are disciplined, and our daughter has thrived as a result!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

principal lacks leadership
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2008

The administration is terrible. The new principal Michael has brought this school down. I have never met someone that will go out of her way to keep from speaking to a parent. She treats her teachers terrible and has lost so many of our best teachers in one year. 19 new teachers this year alone. That speaks volumes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

My two sons have had an amazing experience at Northwood. My eldest wasn't a strong student, but Northwood emersed him in exciting projects helping him to learn. He scored high on the CRCT and it was all due to his excellent education. My youngest has CF and the nursing staff, teachers and administrators have been his advocate. They make him feel like the greatest kid in the school. I attended several schools in my youth as an Army brat and I can tell you there are very few schools that measure up to Northwood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2008

My son is in the 1st Grade at Northwood and I am so happy with my decision to purchase a home in the Northwood district, just so that he could attend this school. I have been extremely satisfied with everything so far. Hats off to Norhwood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

Northwood Elementary has been a great public school experience for the last 3 years. The teachers are great educators with a true passion for educating ALL of their students. Northwood strives for excellence and continues to impress me and my family with a strong PTA, fundraisers for educational tools, such as, interactive classroom ACTIV boards, SAR (above State requirements) and AR reading programs, TAG and a streamlined approach for introducing higher math, language arts and social studies curriculum. Not to mention excellent Art and Music departments. In addition, Northwood continues to focus on academics through PTA events that allow children to have great time which allows for less distractions during instructional class time. Keep up the great job Northwood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2008

I am a Northwood Parent. I am sorry to say, of my 18 years of having a child in public school, this one is by far the most incompetently administered, and uncaring of student needs. The teachers are relatively untrained and to all appearances unsupervised. Overall a bad scene.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

Though there are quite a few great teachers at Northwood, leadership is lacking. My children have not been challenged at Northwood and there is very little interest in anything but the 'No Child Left Behind' and preparing for the CRCT. I have moved 1 child out of Northwood and will be moving the other one just as soon as possible. GA as a whole has a long way to go in figuring out how to equip a child for learning and the future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

I am an eighth grader who went to Northwood in the first and second grades. From what I remember, the halls and classrooms were clean and beautifully painted with murals. I have nothing but fond memories for the school, especially the amazing art teacher who was there when I attended Northwood.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2007

From our first relationship with Northwood we found that great emphasis was placed on the parents being involved with their child and their child's classes. I believe this is a very important key to any school's success. My son graduated after attending K - 5th grades. I appreciate how the teachers kept him challenenged during his years at Northwood. He was a TAG student from 2nd grade on and thanks to his TAG and 'regular' teachers continues to excel in Middle School. My daughter is currently in 4th grade and Northwood and has really begun to blossum in her academic studies as well. She has always been gifted in art and music, but now is beginning to demonstrate her academic skills as well. Great job Northwood!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

I just have to disagree with all the glowing reports! The facilities are very nice, and hopefully things are better under the leadership of the new principal, but I hated that school when my children went there. There was a stop sign in the front foyer to keep parents from accompanying their child to their class! I was a room parent every year I had kids there, and I still found it the most parent-unfriendly school I have ever been associated with. I will say, though, that the teachers were mostly excellent. My daughter was in the TAG program, which was a good thing for her. I found the tight rules for the few parties allowed to be stifling, and there were precious few field trips. Those things may have been Ann Kingrea policies, and maybe they have changed for the better now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

Great School, great teachers, beautiful and calm learning enviroment. Structured and hard working educators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

This school is such a great school! The students are involved in band, chorus and other activities. Parents are also very welcome to help in the classroom and around the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 5, 2006

Wow! A private school education at a public school. Elementary school can't get better than Northwood. I've had a child attend there for K-5th and now have a 3rd grader enjoying the benefits of a well-run school. The principal, Dr. Ann Kingrea, has a tremendous reputation that is well-earned. I think she knows every child and most parents by name and shines with a permanent positive attitude. She ONLY hires the best qualified AND most caring teachers! The curriculum is well structured and includes the teaching of good values. An amazing amount of effort is put into publicly & frequently rewarding good behavior (she calls them 'Good Choices') Just watch a class in the library, walking in the halls, or in a classroom ... These kids are happy, well-behaved, & learning. Kids are frequently evaluated in each subject/skill and individual needs are identified/addressed. Academic excellence is promoted and achieved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2005

Overall Northwood is a great school with many dedicated and hard working teachers. There are a lot of positive learning activities and the school provides a safe and clean learning environment. The TAG program has been a bonus for my children, however I do have concerns that the lack of focus on science and social studies causes these students to struggle a bit when they get to middle school. And the Diversified instruction is fine if your child is in the average range but if you have a gifted child, he or she will be terribly bored and unchallenged by the course work. Several years ago, Northwood grouped their children into different Language Arts groups based on ability and children in the higher groups could move faster according to their ability. They changed that & lumped them altogether with the low/middle level children which doesn't challenge the bright kids at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2005

I have a 4th grader and a 2nd grader at Northwood, a wonderfully diverse school where students are well prepared for the real world. Gradewide policies make all students live up to the same expectations. The school has been using SRA as an addition to the reading curriculum starting in Kindergarten providing every student with small group leveled direct instruction. My children has such strong phonics skills as the school reading scores show. The fifth graders produce Explorervision, a closed circuit TV show every morning. There is an afterschool jumprope club starting in 4th grade. I have found the teachers to be real partners in my childrens education ensuring my children reach their full potential. We e-mail frequently. The PTA is very active providing many activities. The principal actually called me at home before my first child started and we talked for over an hour.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2004

Northwood is a wonderful school, with great teaches and staff, that take interests in their students learning. My daughter has learned a lot since starting at Northwood in her fourth grade year. She always have great things to say about her teaches. Northwood keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

108 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

109 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

108 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

129 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

130 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

129 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

108 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 44%
Hispanic 20% 12%
Black 12% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10200 Wooten Rd
Roswell, GA 30076
Phone: (770) 552-6390

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Brimarsh Academy
Roswell, GA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT