Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

River Eves Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 823 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2008

I have a first-grader at River Eves and we could not be happier! I also have a teenage step daughter who has attended private school all her life and I am really so impressed with what River Eves has to offer. The new principal is outstanding and a great leader. He is very involved in the PTA and looking to stay on the leading-edge of education and making this great environment for our kids. Kindergarten was a dream and we had the very best teachers! We are excited about 1st grade. Thumbs up, all the way around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

Overall, I think River Eves is an excellent school. My kids have received a wonderful education so far and would rather be no where else. My kids have always loved their teachers and had a good relationship with them. I'm glad my kids are at a school that has a great open door policy; there's always something going on where I can get involved and be a part of my kids' life while they're at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

We love River Eves. It has really worked well for both of my children. My 3rd grader has been moved to an accelerated reading class and loves the challenge. My first grader is excited about the money he is earning as part of his consumer and producer unit. Both my children have Activ Boards in their classes and I understand the school is getting three more this year. They are wonderful teaching tools. We are happy with the way administration operates and love the open door policy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

My daughter started Kidnergarten a few weeks ago and we are so very pleased with River Eves. The Principal, the Front Desk, the teachers are all wonderful. We LOVE this school and most importantly our daughter LOVES this school. The 1st two weeks you are asked to not visit so the kids can get used to the new routines. Which we thought was understandable. Sometimes when parents are there it can make it harder on the kids. After the two weeks was up they had an Orientation night where we got to meet with the teachers, learn more about them, how the kids were doing so far and what the plans were for the year. We are very impressed with the curriculum. There has been tons of encouragement to be involved with the school. Very good PTA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

Our experience with RE has been mixed. With the new principle we had high hopes...to be disappointed. The administration discourages parents for being in involved. Does not want to communicate with parents, it appears to be a pain- unless they want money. Teachers are rarely observed, which is an important factor in maintaining a supportive, consistant, and knowledgable environment. Teachers are often confused about the curriculum and have trouble discussing how parents can support the children at home. They spend all of the time teaching to the CRCT, in fact after the test I could have pulled my children out for the rest of the year and missed nothing. New principle is making swepting changes, without communicating them in a timely and appropriate fashion. The front office staff can be extremely rude. Save your money for private or move to another district!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

My son has been in this school for three years now and he has had an excellent experience. RE is a very supportive and encourging place for learning. The new principal has been fantastic so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

I am very pleased with River Eves. The front office staff could use a little work, but most of the teachers are wonderful! My only complaint is the carpool line - it's just so slow in the mornings and afternoons. The people they have out there just stand around and chat, it's crazy. My child is very happy, he is smart too, and they have recogonized that, so I'm thrilled. Our new principal seems to be very nice, we'll see how things go in the years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2007

We are almost half way through our oldest child's Kindergarten year and love River Eves. Her teachers are excellent, the new principal is open to ideas from parents and teachers, and she has made many new friends. It is a great learning environment. I am looking forward to the rest of the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

We've had at least one child at River Eves for the past 8 years, and couldn't be happier. Our new principal is very accessible to parents, the teachers are first-rate, and the PTA goes above and beyond to help produce a superior learning environment. We're thrilled with the education that our kids are receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

My family relocated here during the summer. After research we chose River Eves because of location and its mission of community and parental involvement. I have a daughter in Kindergarten and will forever have a high expectation for teacher quality. We could not be happier with our experience here. She is happy, enriched and busy. I could not possibly fit in all the opportunities to particpate, volunteer and be involved in her classroom and the school at large. I look forward to having a new principal who appears to be here because of what River Eves is already about. The campus is lovely, no portable classrooms and ample outdoor space.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

I had high hopes for RE when my child entered a few years ago, but my expectations were disappointed. Children are regarded as a nuisance and the environment is anything but welcoming and warm. On the first day of school the principal was snapping at parents. Dealings with the principal and asst. principal gave me the feeling that neither even likes children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

We just started this year, and we love Rivers Eve, it's a wonderful school! My kids are very happy, and the teachers they have are great. We will definitely stay through 5th grade!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

We moved to this area because I thought Rivers Eve was suppose to be a good school. It's only been a few weeks, and we're not too happy. The staff just doesn't seem to care, and the Principal is retiring and no one knows who the new Principal is going to be. Kids need a lot of love and I don't feel they offer it here. I doubt I will keep my kids there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

Horribly disappointed! Upon transferring my child to RE from out of state, they recommended my child attend an extended day program in Math and Reading, despite her grades from the previous school she attended. The idea of parent involvement at RE is limited to bake sales, clothing drives, and cleaning up after sock hops; PTA meetings held in the early mornings, when working parents are, well, working. Parents are not allowed to observe classes - ever. If your child is creative or used to nurturing evirons, please send them elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2006

My child has attended River Eves for 3 years. We were intially happy with the lower grades, but recently we have found teachers are teaching for the CRCT, and there is little creativity. My child is bored in most classes and the administration are not supportive of individualized education. This school focuses too much on discipline rather than encouraging children to explore. Unfortunately, I feel this school has taken away some of my child's love for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2006

Unless your child fits 'in the box' this school is not for you!These are children- they need respect, nuturing, behavioral modification,not disipline. Council, and understanding- not remarks to make them feel worse! The teachers could do well- if not for the jaded administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2005

This school is very poor at helping parents with children with learning disabilities feel welcome, the teachers are not helpful neither are the counselors, I wish they had a program that addresses 'the issues' the students instead of just pushing them in the corner to be forgotten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2004

This school is racially divided. The teaching staff is not diverse. The PTA holds it's monthly meetings at 9:30 in the morning to exclude & discourage working parents from attending. The focus is not on helping minority kids excel but rather keep them behind. The office staff is not friendly, helpful nor kind to visitors. Overall the school is very poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2004

Both my sons attended River Eves for a total of 8 years. We were happy with the teachers we had, the school is well run and safe. Parental involvement is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

This is my daughter's first year and I am very impressed with the quality of the school. The teachers are very involved with the students and there are several activities so that parents can get involved. The quality of work they do is impressive. I am very happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2010.

127 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2010.

127 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2010.

127 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2010.

139 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2010.

139 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 91% in 2010.

139 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 92% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 83% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 83% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 94% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 93% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Georgia administered the Criterion-Referenced Competency Tests (CRCT) in reading, social studies, science, English language arts and math in grades 3 through 8. The CRCT is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2012.

108 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Georgia administered the Middle Grades Writing Assessment (MGWA) to students in grades 5 and 8. The MGWA is a standards-based assessment, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Georgia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Georgia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 44%
Black 28% 37%
Hispanic 20% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Neil Pinnock
Fax number
  • (770) 552-4557

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Gymnastics
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Music
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9000 Eves Rd
Roswell, GA 30076
Phone: (770) 552-4550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Nur Academy
Atlanta, GA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT