Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Cottage School

Private | 6-12 | 150 students

 
 

Living in Roswell

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $279,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

162 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 29, 2010

It's been great for my 9th grader who has been in public school until now. He is now getting the attention he needs and I am seeing a huge difference in his attitude, self esteem, grades, etc. He also played a school sport for the first time. I didn't imagine it would be this great--money well spent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

I love the care and concern the staff shows for the students. I love the small classrooms and the positive interaction. I love the owners and their obvious love of children. I love that The Cottage School has saved so many lives of children who do not learn in a traditional school setting. I am so grateful my grandson has been able to thrive at The Cottage School.


Posted October 28, 2010

It is a structured school with small classes


Posted October 28, 2010

Our daughter loves this school & it has helped her in so many ways. Socially, academically, self esteem & through athletics being part of a team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

The Cottage School is simply Outstanding! Jacque and Joe Digieso are doing a wonderful job educating and inspiring young people with disabilities in their school. Their staff are highly educated, motivated, compassionate and tough! The entire faculty not only motivated their students, but hold them accountable for doing their part in getting an excellent education. The Cottage School have the state-of-the art computers, books and curriculum. Students can enjoy horse back riding to basketball on their breath taking campus. My nephew received and outstanding education and has been given a chance to succeed in life! Our family truly admire and love The Cottage School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

The Cottage School is a very special place for students who learn differently. The focus is on teaching the students not only academics but also interpersonal skills in a safe environment. The young people develop self-confidence under the guidance of the wonderful teachers and staff. My son is in his fourth year at The Cottage School. I have seen tremendous growth in him and attribute this to the exceptional values, standards and techniques which are exemplified by the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

Cottage addresses each child and their learning needs as if that particular child was the only student in the school. Every child has individual attention and every need is met. Absolutely outstanding help and encouragement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

I love the cottage school because my child use to be an aggressive student. The cottage school has improved his critical thinking skills as well as his self confidence. I believe the fundamental that are being presented at the cottage school allows students to understand their self worth as human beings that are not typically performing on the standard level at a regular high school and/or middle school. Just because there are some children who learn different do not mean they are any different than you and me who perhaps have a learning curve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

The Cottage School provides an ideal learning experience for that child who learns differently than those in the masses and greatly benefits from a structured, loving and uplifting environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

I love the Cottage School because the staff really loves the kids they serve and do their best to bring out the best in each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

It is the most amazing school experience we have ever had! We are so excited to be able to attend! The teachers actually care about each and every child and want them to do well and succeed in everything they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

TCS supports the goals of maturity, development and growth for every single student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

Wonderful environment. Teachers and staff are great at working with children and bringing out their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

My grandson went to this school. I saw him happy for the first time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

The people that work at this school are angels in human bodies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

When the Atl. public school system gave up on helping my daughter to succeed, I found open arms at the Cottage School. My daughter regained her confidence and blossomed while at the school. The teachers, staff and curriculum proved to be a winning combination.I am forever grateful to The Cottage School for helping my daughter succeed and become the young woman she is today!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

Because they do a great job with my nephew


Posted October 25, 2010

It was perfect for my son!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

Dedicated and skillful staff; stellar leadership; supportive parents; interested community; perceptive board


Posted October 25, 2010

This school has really helped my son! He went from failing to excelling! The school has the appropriate curriculum for children with special learning needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 44%
Black 12% 37%
Hispanic 12% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school public schools
private schools
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Italian
Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Jacque Digieso, Ph.D., Executive Director
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • CEC
Fax number
  • (770) 641-9026

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • The parent association (pac) and athletic booster club provide volunteer support to the academic and extracurricular programs at the cottage school. parents assist in community service activities with students, organize fundraising projects benefiting the school's tuition assistance and building funds, participate in "lunch and learn" and "breakfast for dads" educational gatherings.
More from this school
  • Since 1985, The Cottage School has provided a challenging college prep academic curriculum tailored to the needs of individual students. Small classes, varied instructional methods, enhanced technology, and a workplace atmosphere not only prepare students for post-secondary education, but also provide the real-life skills needed to be successful in the workplace.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
public schools
private schools

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
two and four year colleges
technical colleges
College preparation / awareness offered
Summer college prep programs
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 Grimes Bridge Road
Roswell, GA 30075
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 641-8688

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Swift School
Roswell, GA



Atlanta Country Day School
Sandy Springs, GA


Eaton Academy
Roswell, GA


Eaton Academy
Roswell, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT