Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Cottage School

Private | 6-12 | 128 students

 
 

Living in Roswell

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $279,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

162 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 19, 2010

My nephew was lucky to have attended this innovative and academically challenging high school. With small classes, he received instruction in the manner in which he best learns, and with the business skills integrated throughout the school day, he was prepared for real life. He graduated eligible for the HOPE scholarship and continues his education today.


Posted October 18, 2010

Opportunities for kids who normally do not get one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

Because the caring staff loves the students and their job is really a vocation!


Posted October 17, 2010

I am an alum of TCS. This school gave me more than a college prep academic education--it taught me the business skills necessary to be successful in college and work life.


Posted May 20, 2010

My son has attended The Cottage School since his freshman year. After several years in public schools as an exemplary student, he began to have social/learning issues and it became obvious that public schools were not the answer. Cottage became a safe haven where my son was accepted and loved. The school offers opportunities (sports, clubs, awesome field trips, solid academics) that he couldn t have participated in elsewhere. My son needed the low teacher-student ratio and the one-on-one help. The Cottage system works; students learn workplace skills, accountability and self-advocation. Cottage teachers prepare students for college AND the workplace. My son is about to graduate and we re confident that the foundation here got will help him forge his path. Cottage isn t for everyone, but for many students it s a lifeline that saves them from drowning in schools where they re NOT accepted. I m grateful Cottage was there when we needed it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

My son is in his 2nd year at TCS and doing great. He attended public and private schools before TCS. The other private school was a very highly recommeded school and advertises educating LD kids. At re-enrollment time, we were surprised to be told our child would not be comming back. Later, we found out that the school, while advertising LD education, is really commited to college enrollment. That's not a bad thing in itself, but I felt like my son was cut off since he could potentially skew their numbers. We found our options are more open at TCS and he is respected as an individual - and more than just post graduation college placement numbers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

This school is mismanaged from the top down! Might be a solution for some but one of our primary goals was to be kept informed on our child's progress and areas in which they need to work harder. Total failure in that regard. They are very defensive when you question their organizational skills. We went back to the public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

The Cottage School is an excellent solution for many kids. There are 3 types of students there: kids with diagnosed disabilities (physical, mental, emotional), kids that need a smaller classroom environment, and kids that have failed in other environments. The school has an innovative structure that teaches practical life skills like personal responsibility, meeting job requirements, balancing a checkbook; and is organized similar to a work environment. A very high percentage of students that graduate from TCS go on to college, and successfully graduate from college after having been told they could not even finish high school. The environment also has a lot of freedoms, but it is most challenging for students that have failed in other schools due to their never being held accountable for obeying rules (by their parents or school. TCS does that, and provides an environment where they can, if they choose, succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

As an observer from Cambridge College this school is a great good compared to public schools. The students at the Cottage School give you a whole lot of respect. And the Cottage School is a friendly atmosphere!


Posted March 28, 2008

My daughter attends Cottage School. We were desperate because she was failing in the public high school she was attending. She is ADHD. We thought Cottage School was going to be our salvation. Well, it's not. The home room teacher is to call the parents every week and give you a report on how your child is doing. Well, we would talk to the homeroom teacher one day and he would state there were no problems and find out the next day our child had been missing many assignments. They do not allow the kids to use the refrigeratior anymore because their lunches were being stolen. The staff took their lunch period away to lecture them because of all the pink slips. They are not qualified to teach children with behavior problems. There are teachers there that have cussed at the students. Why pay for this???!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

We had nothing but good experiences with the teachers and staff at the Cottage School. I wonder why a parent would keep sending their child to a school that they do not consider 'safe'? We found the curriculum challenging, yet accommodating to students' varied needs. My child flourished and developed leadership and self-esteem skills and to self-advocate. This is a fabulous school, especially when parents, teachers, and student work together as a team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2008

We sent our son here from public school and the cottage school administration staff promised us that he would be academically challenged. This has not been the case. Our son has regressed so significantly since he has attended the cottage school. We have asked for help and to increase his academia but the school tells you one thing but does whatever they want. We have had numerous mishaps while i son has been at this school and i am truly concerned every time I drop him off for his safety. If you want your child to get a good education look elsewhere! this school is for the severely learning delayed! you know there is something wrong when your 6th grader tells you that they are bored at school and would like to be challenged more on tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2007

If your child has problems, they are sure to meet other kids with many problems also. Not a good environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

Unfortunately, I've had the pleasure of sending my student to TCS and after only one year, I pulled my child out. First, let me outline the basic problems: 1) There is no challenge in academics. 2) Students can avoid doing any schoolwork by complaining about his or her illnesses. 3) The environment is unsanitary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2007

We were also led to believe TCS would challenge our child in academics and still keep our child in a safe, drug free environment. We became uneasy about the organizational skills of the administration staff when we were sent a copy of an enrollment contract of another family. It had been signed and had the social security number of the student, name and address of the parents and amounts the family owed for that child for that year. The principal of the high school was not straight forward with us when we asked for answers about situations with our child. We had to go to the director of the school to get the truth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2006

My child needed a safe environ., w/o bullying, but high academics. We were lead to believe TCS could challenge him in academics and still keep him in a safe, basically drug free environ. Well he felt secure, but he was not challenged in academics at all. Even after approaching the principal with our concern regarding the easy academics, they assured us that he would be challenged on a 'honors' type of teaching. This never happened, and we now realize this school is for the learning challenged child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2005

Like other schools, The cottage school has good and bad things about it. After reading some of the other reviews on here I was in shock. As a memeber of the student body I would have to say that some of the things said were blown way out of proportion. Yes, the school has problems like some of the administation and some teachers about one teacher out of all of them. Only two things bad is a pretty good school when they have some much more going for them. The Principal is great just like his wife who helps develop the school! Almost every teacher is willing to help you with anything. It is a great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2005

i was actually a student at the cottage school, and i found the teachers were very unorganized. When i first started i was told teachers were to call home once a week, my homeroom teacher called adn thats it! The sports are well, lets leave it at that. The academics are way to easy for a student that just doesnt try in a normal school. If you want you high schoolers hand to be held, then this school has plenty of counslers ready with open hands. the faculty can be a real problem to deal with if you need to get sometihng done in an alloted period of time. And the levels thing is a joke, and a waste of my time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2005

I have been attending The Cottage School sense 2000 (6th grade). This school has been exceptionally great for me due to it's low student to teacher ratio and the great teachers that it hires. Middle School: The Middle School is a great place to learn for students with Learning Disabilities. The Principal is absolutely awesome at her job and is involved in the day-to-day activities in the school. High School: High School has been the best for me so far!!! I have loved the high school! All the teachers are willing to help me out at any cost to get me through the school year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 13, 2005

My child graduated from the Cottage School with a Hope Scholarship and an academic scholarship to a Georgia college. He was well-prepared for post-secondary pursuits, not only academically, but in the areas of work skills and self-advocacy as well. The Cottage School curriculum does not expect each child to learn in the same way. Instruction is varied and tailored to the way in which a student learns. The small size of the school allows teachers and students to become a true community, and teachers take an active interest in each student. My child was given the opportunity to become a leader, to develop self-confidence, to participate in Varsity-level sports, and to discover his unique talents. He will tell anyone who asks that attending the Cottage School was the best decision he ever made. We are grateful to the dedicated teachers and staff who gave him this opportunity.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 44%
Black 12% 37%
Hispanic 12% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school public schools
private schools
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Italian
Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Jacque Digieso, Ph.D., Executive Director
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • CEC
Fax number
  • (770) 641-9026

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • The parent association (pac) and athletic booster club provide volunteer support to the academic and extracurricular programs at the cottage school. parents assist in community service activities with students, organize fundraising projects benefiting the school's tuition assistance and building funds, participate in "lunch and learn" and "breakfast for dads" educational gatherings.
More from this school
  • Since 1985, The Cottage School has provided a challenging college prep academic curriculum tailored to the needs of individual students. Small classes, varied instructional methods, enhanced technology, and a workplace atmosphere not only prepare students for post-secondary education, but also provide the real-life skills needed to be successful in the workplace.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
public schools
private schools

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
two and four year colleges
technical colleges
College preparation / awareness offered
Summer college prep programs
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 Grimes Bridge Road
Roswell, GA 30075
Website: Click here
Phone: (770) 641-8688

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Swift School
Roswell, GA



Atlanta Country Day School
Sandy Springs, GA


Eaton Academy
Roswell, GA


Eaton Academy
Roswell, GA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT